We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Steamer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Steamer Inn
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've stayed here once and dined here many times. Comfortable bright room, overlooking the sea. Delicious breakfast to start the day. When dining here in the evening we've never been disappointed with the food, service or scenery!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danwiluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    76
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
60
84
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanklin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Up until our visit to the steamer inn, we were really disappointed with our holiday in shanklin. We were a little disappointed with most of the so called "attractions" here, however it all changed when we went to the steamer inn. We were greeted by friendly staff in a lovely environment, looking over the sea. The food was excellent, and although they were very busy, the service was first class. We will definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

we were a party of 6.we did not book a table.but were soone seated in the family area we had two childeren with us. the staff were exelent.the food as well. verry large portions.at a good price.well done to every one.ps we stayed late for another drink because of the view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Good size portions, staff friendly, live music fantastic! We both ordered the gammon which was mahoosive! Definitely will return when next in isle of wight! Great location, right on the sea font and good for people watching.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My parents, my brother and I came here as it came highly recommended and we are so glad we did, the food was fantastic, my brother and parents had the cheesy streaker burger and I had the butterfly garlic chicken, the chicken was cooked perfectly, my family also didnt have a bad word to say about the food. The portion size was large and it was at a great price well worth every penny we paid and we will definately be dining here again before we leave.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kayleighgough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is excellent. The food is delicious. It offers a range of traditional pub food and also a special menu which consists of more fancy food whic is also delicious. The view while your eating is beautiful and it is just such a lovely place to eat.

I would especially like to say how brilliant the staff are. All friendly and polite and very helpful. In particular a young woman who was so helpful to us willing to go the extra mile for us when we encountered a situation that almost made us miss our ferry and would of meant us leaving our food untouched.

Overall I enjoyed eating and drinking here every night. I shall miss such great food and friendly service. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CJandJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic meals and great ambience. We went with our dog and they can't do enough for you, free biscuits and water for your dog and they are allowed inside as well as on patio. Wild highly recommend to all dog owners

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#19 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Shanklin Beach Hotel
#34 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamer Inn

Property: The Steamer Inn
Address: 18 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Steamer Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing