We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay but excellent value food.”
Review of The Steamer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Steamer Inn
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't stay but excellent value food.”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My partner and I have stayed in Shanklin for the last two years and on both occasions have had most of our evening meals at The Steamer Inn. We have not tried their B&B so my comments are purely about the evening meals. The menu has a large choice and all the meals we tried were extremely large, well presented and delicious. Even when busy, the service was very good with minimal waiting time. The staff were friendly and polite and we will definitely be eating there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellamescamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    77
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
61
86
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Didn't stay here was staying somewhere else but I have to say the food was superb. Plate was stacked high with food, great value for money crab salad £12.25. Could be different when busy but where isn't really.

Gave the rooms a 3 star because we didn't sleep here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Oh dear!, it seems the steamer is trading on it's fabulous location but at the expense of basic hotel requirements such as value for money and quality of rooms.
I attempted to book a room last week only to be told that all they had left was a balcony room priced
at £90. Maybe I was being a little naive thinking that for that rate I would be guaranteed something a little bit better than a standard b&b/guesthouse. Wrong!. Tiny room, tiny tv on wall with no remote, balcony with 2 dirty green plastic chairs, pink bathroom suite with mouldy sealant around fittings. All in all, extremely poor value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace8366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cirencester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

we stayed in a balcony room. full if spartan bathroom, comfy bed.welcoming host and staff.breakfast enormous. pub food generous servings typical pub grub.location on the seafront lovely beach very quiet at night. if you are visiting the isle of wight,try to catch the wild oats. accoustic duo singer has impressive voice and the guitarist is very good.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Great position on tthe waterfront, Bitburger on tap and that's where the positive points end.

Do not eat here. House pate was a pink, lumpy cat food encrusted in gelatinous peppercorns, foul. The surf 'n' turf burger consisted of two thin wedges of reconstituted meat which tasted like pet food (a bit of a theme here) topped with cold frozen prawns swathed in sour yoghurt. The litmus test for how poor this offering really was, was that the hungover husband only managed two bites of the sore looking burger before pushing the plate away. This is a man who will normally eat anything, especially when on the hunt for greasy sustinance.

Terrible, hopefully the owners read this and look to improve things.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank I_chew_you_chew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We had lunch here recently and did not have a very enjoyable experience. Firstly on a positive note the location is good, right on the seafront and lovely views across the sea. Staff and service were also good but unfortunately the quality of the food was very poor and I would not recommend this pub for eating. I had lasagne and it was completely swimming in oil and basically inedible. My husband and child's food was also dreadful. We were asked if everything was ok with our meals so I commented on the lasagne being inedible and was offered a replacement which I declined and was promtly refunded.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Looking tired and shabby these days. Came here for an evening meal basically to see if it had improved from 5 years ago. It wasn't packed with people and we were hungry so food was ordered once the staff had finished mucking about and noticed they had customers.
The table was sticky, but the food came quickly enough. I had a ploughmans, cheddar and brie. The salad was dried out and the cucumber slices were bent and dry. The two slices of cheese were minimal considering what they charge. Partner had the chilli and bacon burger, he said it was ok but left a lot on his plate. I won't be going back to this one again sorry.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wightnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#18 of 52 in Shanklin
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Steamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamer Inn

Property: The Steamer Inn
Address: 18 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Steamer Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing