We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless”
Review of Rowborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spotless”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This little hotel is the spotless one I ever have been, owners are really, really kind. For breakfast everybody has plenty choices of cereals, full English breakfast, toast, orange juice, butter, jam, marmalade and coffee and tea. The only thing leaves a bit down is dinner because it is a lot of frozen food and it is at 6.30 p.m.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elvira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    16
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
84
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013, it was a very pleasurable stay. The food was to a very high standard and was prepared on request. The owners were very welcoming and friendly, we will look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome as we arrived and our dog was given a special greeting by Caroline. Michelle and Brian also greeted us. Our room was very clean and comfortable although a little small with the dog bed in as well. We enjoyed our breakfasts and dog facilities were available outside.
We had an enjoyable weekend and would recommend the hotel as being a great venue especially for dog owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnZ816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Michelle, Caroline and Brian are excellent hosts. From the check-in to check-out. 3 adults in a family room was excellent. Lots of room, comfortable beds and very clean. Full English breakfast was excellent. We stayed for two nights and I recommend staying for two or longer in order to see the island.

Room Tip: Stay for at least two nights in order to explore the island without being rushed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yarrumab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We were met in the conservatory by Brian who greeted us with a warm welcome and shown to our room. We had a room with 3 beds as we had booked a family room. Very comfortable room with enough space and lots of storage for your belongings.
When booking we were only going to stay one night but Michelle had suggested we stay 2 nights as it would be impossible to do the Ilse justice with just one night and two days. Glad we took her advice as the Isle has so much to offer.
Breakfast in the morning served by Caroline one of the owners and prepared by Michelle was very good. More than enough food to get you through to lunch. The B&B was located closely to the local shops and local pubs which we visited in the evening. All within walking distance.
Great place to stay, very clean throughout, highly recommend this place. I am typically not a B&B person as I tend to be out later in the evenings. You get your own keys and come and go as you please. More of a hotel than a B&B which I really liked but with a very personal touch.
Love what you three have created, hopefully be back someday!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KenCPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Rented a family room (for 3 adults) and it was perfect. Enough room without tripping over each other. Full English Breakfast was excellent! Lovely house, clean, friendly owners and overall great B&B for a weekend on the Island.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank permvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a great time at the Rowborough. Michelle, Caroline and Brian were all welcoming, friendly and constantly checking that everything was OK. The food was good traditional fare and more than met our needs and the hotel was handy for buses and the train service so we didn't need to use our car much at all. Everywhere was clean and tidy. We would certainly go there again. Many thanks to you all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnthorndyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
3.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowborough Hotel

Property: Rowborough Hotel
Address: 32 Arthurs Hill, Shanklin PO37 6EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caroline, Michelle & Brian look forward to welcoming you to their hotel. The Rowborough built in 1873, is an imposing Victorian house set in beautiful gardens on the corner of Arthurs Hill and Wilton Park Road in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight. All 9 guest bedrooms are en-suite and offer modern facilities and comfort. The conservatory, guest lounge, bar and dining room are well maintained, tastefully furnished and this has attributed to its AA 4 star Silver award rating. The hotel is well located to the Island's main attractions as well as local bus and train links to the mainland.Family run and reasonably priced, The Rowborough offers first class service and hospitality in a 'home from home' environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Rowborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowborough Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing