We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent late break!”
Review of Rowborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent late break!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013, it was a very pleasurable stay. The food was to a very high standard and was prepared on request. The owners were very welcoming and friendly, we will look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    16
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
84
86
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome as we arrived and our dog was given a special greeting by Caroline. Michelle and Brian also greeted us. Our room was very clean and comfortable although a little small with the dog bed in as well. We enjoyed our breakfasts and dog facilities were available outside.
We had an enjoyable weekend and would recommend the hotel as being a great venue especially for dog owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnZ816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Michelle, Caroline and Brian are excellent hosts. From the check-in to check-out. 3 adults in a family room was excellent. Lots of room, comfortable beds and very clean. Full English breakfast was excellent. We stayed for two nights and I recommend staying for two or longer in order to see the island.

Room Tip: Stay for at least two nights in order to explore the island without being rushed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yarrumab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We were met in the conservatory by Brian who greeted us with a warm welcome and shown to our room. We had a room with 3 beds as we had booked a family room. Very comfortable room with enough space and lots of storage for your belongings.
When booking we were only going to stay one night but Michelle had suggested we stay 2 nights as it would be impossible to do the Ilse justice with just one night and two days. Glad we took her advice as the Isle has so much to offer.
Breakfast in the morning served by Caroline one of the owners and prepared by Michelle was very good. More than enough food to get you through to lunch. The B&B was located closely to the local shops and local pubs which we visited in the evening. All within walking distance.
Great place to stay, very clean throughout, highly recommend this place. I am typically not a B&B person as I tend to be out later in the evenings. You get your own keys and come and go as you please. More of a hotel than a B&B which I really liked but with a very personal touch.
Love what you three have created, hopefully be back someday!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KenCPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Rented a family room (for 3 adults) and it was perfect. Enough room without tripping over each other. Full English Breakfast was excellent! Lovely house, clean, friendly owners and overall great B&B for a weekend on the Island.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank permvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a great time at the Rowborough. Michelle, Caroline and Brian were all welcoming, friendly and constantly checking that everything was OK. The food was good traditional fare and more than met our needs and the hotel was handy for buses and the train service so we didn't need to use our car much at all. Everywhere was clean and tidy. We would certainly go there again. Many thanks to you all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnthorndyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a week at the Rowborough Hotel and found it to be a most satisfying place for a stay on the Isle of Wight.
My wife and myself were looking for a ‘base’ for a week’s stay from which to explore the island for part of our holiday this year. We narrowed down our choices to three venues but found the Rowborough to be most accommodating when contacting the respective vendors. We had an additional guest arriving for the Bank Holiday weekend and he too could be accommodated in a single room for the weekend.
On arrival we parked the car and were met by both Michelle and Caroline who welcomed us in and showed us to our room. The room was clean and had plenty of storage and had a television fitted with a ‘free sat’ receiver and tea and coffee making facilities. Best of all, the hotel offers free wifi as well which for both of us is a welcome selling point. The room was equipped with an en suite shower and toilet.
The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well on the first night though it did get a bit stuffy with the window closed (it was August) and we left this open for the remainder of our visit. The hotel is situated on the main road through Shanklin (Arthurs Hill), and our room overlooked this, however we did not find this disturbed our sleep to any great degree even with the window ajar.
Another advantage of the hotels location is its proximity to Shanklin railway station, (a comfortable 10 minute walk) this had been a consideration because we had planned a trip to Portsmouth for one of our days and used the train / ferry for this. You can also walk to the old village in Shanklin from here though that is a little bit further.
In the morning we had a breakfast in the hotel before a day out in the island, Meals are served in the modest dining room where you can meet your fellow guests. The breakfast here was amazing, a choice of fruit or cereal and fruit juice followed by a very good English breakfast followed by toast which kept us going until mid afternoon. There are other options as well, for those who may want something not so filling and you can tailor your breakfast within the range offered. I believe that the hotel also does evening meals on request, but we did not take any of these.
We found that there was no particular pattern to the guest profile during our stay and these varied from couples, families with young children and even extended families, and everyone we spoke with seemed happy with their accommodation. One major point of the hotel is the large sun lounge to the front of the building which is a very relaxing place to sit at any time during the day or evening and watch the world go by. This room also contains a number of tourist leaflets if you are stuck for ideas about where to go and what to see.
All in all, I was thoroughly delighted with this hotel, both my wife and myself were made to feel very welcome here and I would definitely stay here again when I next visit the island which hopefully will not be too long.

Room Tip: Rooms near to the front and side of the Hotel will get some traffic noise during the early morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
3.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowborough Hotel

Property: Rowborough Hotel
Address: 32 Arthurs Hill, Shanklin PO37 6EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caroline, Michelle & Brian look forward to welcoming you to their hotel. The Rowborough built in 1873, is an imposing Victorian house set in beautiful gardens on the corner of Arthurs Hill and Wilton Park Road in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight. All 9 guest bedrooms are en-suite and offer modern facilities and comfort. The conservatory, guest lounge, bar and dining room are well maintained, tastefully furnished and this has attributed to its AA 4 star Silver award rating. The hotel is well located to the Island's main attractions as well as local bus and train links to the mainland.Family run and reasonably priced, The Rowborough offers first class service and hospitality in a 'home from home' environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rowborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowborough Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing