We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Like Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkway Hotel

Parkway Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkway Hotel
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
southampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just Like Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

On arrival at The Parkway we were greeted by Malcolm one of the owners he was very pleasant we had booked a double room for three nights which included breakfast. As the hotel was quiet we got a family room at no extra cost! The room was spotlessly clean as was the ensuite, there was also free WiFi all you have to do is ask for the code. Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9am and there is a good choice, the service was always faultless. On check in you get given your own key for the front door so you can come and go as you please.
Should you ever need advice on places to visit or routes around the island Debbie and Malcolm are always more than happy to help you. This hotel really was welcoming right from the start and as soon as we walked in we could smell fabric softener it didn't feel like a hotel it felt like home because it was cosy and you didn't feel like strangers on arrival but instant friends instead. The only down side this hotel had was sometimes parking was a little difficult depending on how other residents had left there cars but if done properly you can easily fit 3 to 4 cars in. Also the bar was not open which is understandable as it was quiet but when we looked at it, it didn't seem to ever be open as it was a storage area and cones off with chairs. On the plus side there was a pool table with a fridge next to it filled with cans of one brand of lager and they have an honesty box where if you take one you leave the money on the side for it. Would definitely return without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katye1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed with Debbie and Malcolm over the Bank Holiday weekend, the accommodation was pleasant and the hospitality from the owners was superb! All amenities were nearby and the breakfast was delicious!
We would return when next on the Isle Of Wight.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 198EWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was our second stay at Parkway and the welcome from Debbie and Malcolm was as warm as ever and the rooms spacious and comfortable. Even though he and Debbie were in the middle of cleaning the rooms Malcolm was kind enough to pick myself and my children up from the train station as I was on crutches.
The hotel offers a family suite with bunk beds in a separate room which gives them some space and also saves you having to sneak around if they have already gone to bed.
The location is ideal for both the Town and the beach which are both about 5 minutes walk (or hobble!) away and it is also conveniently positioned for the Cliff Lift should you need it.
All in all it was another lovely stay and I'm sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Go for the Family Suite if you have Children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hampshirehog53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the last few years. The owners Debbie and Malcolm are always welcoming and accommodating to our needs. The Hotel is in a great location for both the beach and village.
The rooms are clean, spacious and decorated to a high standard. The bar and lounge is comfortable and the balcony is a added bonus.
I would highly recommend hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christov_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#14 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#28 of 54 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#15 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#25 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Hotel

Property: Parkway Hotel
Address: 6 Park Road, Shanklin PO37 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Number of rooms: 189
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing