We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super three night break”
Review of The Hazelwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hazelwood
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Thirsk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“super three night break”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hazelwood the last week in August and had a terrific stay. We were made most welcome and the room was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and we particularly liked the opportunity to choose a breakfast special on one of the mornings (smoked salmon and scambled eggs -yum!). Larger people might find the ensuite a bit snug but we found it prefectly adequate. The Hazelwood is well postitioned and a short distance away is the coast path along which we walked to Shanklin beach one evening and to Sandown another evening. It is obvious that Phil and Karl take great pride in providing quality and value and we would certainly recommend the Hazelwood to anyone wanting to visit the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Hazelwood for 2 nights and were thrilled from beginning to end. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived, shown to our room which was very comfortable. Small ensuite with a very pleasant shower; totally acceptable. The breakfast order for the next morning is taken on arrival - a great idea to save pointless waste in the kitchen.
The B&B is on a very quiet road where we had no problem parking. Shanklin railway station is just a short walk away.
I would recommend The Hazelwood and would stay there again in a shot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frazer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have just returned from spending three nights at The Hazlewood, from the moment we arrived Phil made us feel most welcome.
The room was large with a small en suite but meets the requirements and the shower worked very well.
The breakfast were very good and set us up for the day.

Would we return ? Yes we would easy to get to by car or by train with the station just a five minute walk away and the bus is at the end of the road.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 look out over the well kept garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 day stay at the Hazelwood and would highly recommend it. We were met with a warm and friendly greeting which continued throughout our stay, Breakfast was lovely as was the wonderfully bright and cheerful breakfast room.Our bedroom was bright and highly decorative with lots of little extra touches which added to the enjoyment of our stay like the bowl of sweets at the front door. we had clean towels every day and a continuous supply of tea/coffee/milk in our rooms. this really is an exceptional b&b and would go back again and again .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just returned from an excellent stay at Hazelwood.Lovely clean,bright,quiet spacious room with a most comfortable bed and en suite. Phil & Carl made us most welcome making us Ruby cupcakes on our anniversary which was a lovely surprise and they were delicious very thoughtful. The cooked breakfasts were superb and the little extras like homemade muffins, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs & waffles were an added delight. We would strongly recommend a visit to Hazelwood.Excellent value for money, well situated in Shanklin, safe parking in a quiet street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDavesEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for few days end of april. The welcome was lovely and you are made to feel at home. Our room was lovely with a good size shower room/
The room was nicely decorated and had nice little extra touches. It is in a great location, just five minute walk from the bus station and train station and a nice stroll away is the old village of shanklin which has many lovely pubs doing excellent food. I would most definatly recommend you stay here! excellent price to!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at Hazlewood the first week of the Easter Holidays and loved it. The rooms have magnificent high ceilings and are all uniquely decorated, clean and roomy. ( the en suite was a bit small but the shower offered lashings of hot water which made up for it). We had a very warm but un imposing welcome and enjoyed lovely breakfasts. We were even offered hot cross buns on Good Friday as an extra breakfast treat which was a lovely addition. Phil was a wonderful host. We travelled with my mother and she loved it too. We will be back as it was such fantastic value for money too and a great central point for exploring the island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#16 of 52 in Shanklin
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelwood

Property: The Hazelwood
Address: 14 Clarence Road, Shanklin PO37 7BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#21 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hazelwood is a 7 bedroom Victorian detached guest house offering bed and breakfast accommodation.It is no smoking throughout.It is situated in a quiet, attractive road with free on-street parking. It is just a short walking distance from the beach, town centre, old village and a couple of minutes walk from Shanklin railway station It provides an excellent base to explore the Isle Of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hazelwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hazelwood Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing