We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Break”
Review of Hambledon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just like to thank Bill and Jackie for a perfect break. I stayed here with my Husband Daughter Son in Law and my two Grandchildren for a three night mid week break. We were made very welcome by Bill when we arrived and a tray of tea was just the what we needed.we were then shown to our rooms which were Bright Warm nicely furnished and spotlessly clean, We chose to have bed breakfast and evening meal what a good choice,Jackies cooking is just fab especially the steak pie.
Also the breakfasts are excellent. My Son in Law is usually quite a fussy eater but cleared his plate every meal. Also the waitresses and cleaning staff were lovely.Bills bar is also great for a drink in the evening and before evening meal. I would not hesitate to recommend the Hambledon to anyone we will defiantly return in the future.Thank you once again Bill and Jackie

Room Tip: W e had three rooms and all were lovely rooms at the rear do have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 299 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went for a four night break with the girlfriend. The hotel was very nice clean and was welcomed when entering by bill. He showed us to our room which was comfy and warm. Breakfast was very nice and loved how they catered for me as I'm quite fussy. All in all a very nice time in a very nice hotel would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clibbsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are a small walking party and have just returned from another great holiday at The Hambledon. Excellent food, spotlessly clean and Jackie and Bill are great hosts.
Look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Lost count of the times we have stayed here over the last 5 years. Every stay is as enjoyable as the last. You couldn't ask for more from a hotel. I would recommend anyone visiting Shanklin to stay here. Thanks to Bill & Jackie for another wonderful stay. See you soon.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank marieCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just spent 3 nights half board at The Hambledon. Could not fault it from the moment Bill met us with a very welcome cup of tea... Our room was comfortable, the hotel is very clean and the food is very good. Bill and Jackie are excellent hosts and we hope to return next time we visit the I.O.W.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben and Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a four night stay Half Board. Could not fault it, very clean, friendly and helpful owners and pleasant staff. Had a sociable lounge and bar area for the evenings before and after dinner. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back another year. Also very reasonable tariff which also takes in the ferry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just spent a week at The Hambledon, 4th year running so we are novices compared to some. Can't fault it, the walking was excellent, especially the organised walks where we join another group and were led by Maggie, Jill and Bill - looking forward to next year in fact. Bill and Jackie were brilliant as always, food excellent - how I put on 3 lb with all that walking I don't know! Thoroughly recommend the hotel if you haven't been before.

Room Tip: All rooms good and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suenandoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Address: 11 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $45 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing