We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, perfect for my mini break”
Review of St Georges House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Georges House
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Thanks to Mick for making my short stay very welcoming - this B&B is in a great location - really short walk to both town centre and the beach and a ten minute walk to the Old Village. St Georges House Hotel was very clean and service great, fantastic for the price. Freeview TV, wireless internet, lounge, full english or continental options, quiet and relaxing. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

We only stayed one night here but it was good value. The location and the excellent bus service meant we were able to explore the Isle of Wight easily. The beach and some good places to eat are within walking distance. The hotel itself was quite and comfortable. The style was old fashion but it was very clean and spacious. The staff were lovely too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay here and wouldn't hesitate to book it again. The room was spotlessly clean, and with a few nice touches. It is handily situated near the shops, station, buses and the esplanade, where there are some good pubs - try the Waterfront Inn for some interesting real ales. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Altogether a superb place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff_tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Near to old village. Had two rooms which were both clean and homely. lovely breakfast. mick very helpful re ferry tickets. had lovely stay

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Very warm welcome when we arrived, had a tour of the hotel and amenities. Lots of pamphlets of local attractions, plus information on public transport, and local guides to what's on in Shanklin.
Breakfast was wonderful, it was ensured you were set for the day, in our case a day of walking!
The room was beautifully decorated, very spacious and with a good sized en-suite.
A 2 minute walk from cliff top views of the Channel, Shanklin beach, and Sandown. Shanklin Chine was a 5 minute walk as was the old Village, with the thatched houses and shops.
Would definitely stay here on another trip to the Isle of Wight!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenday_keli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Jan & Mick are a lovely couple who were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was big enough to move around without bumping into furniture, which included armchairs to relax in. There was teas, different kinds of coffee and hot chocolate in the room and plenty of it. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was roomy. Everything was clean (im quite fussy, so i was pleased). We've staying in lots of hotels and the breakfast here was the largest we've ever had. We didnt have to lunch cos we were so full. We could certainly stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacko49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We made a late decision to take my elderly father to visit the Isle of Wight overnight and got some hotel names from the Tourist Board. Jan was most friendly and helpful on the phone, so we decided to stay at this hotel. It has clean & comfortable accommodation - the double room was spacious and light, but the single room was quite small and pokey with a tiny shower. Jan & Mike were very hospitable hosts and together presented a wonderful cooked breakfast. There is a communal lounge area with TV and board games, which was a comfortable place to sit and chat after a fantastic dinner at Pendletons - great food and service - top notch. There are 3 on-site parking spots in front of the hotel and it is within easy walking distance of the town and restaurants. You could also drive to the top end of town where there is a carpark, but it got very busy in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherry_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges House

Address: 2 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $91 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming original Victorian building, St. Georges is centrally situated for the town, beach, cliffs, picturesque Old Village and historic Chine. St.Georges is renowned for its freshly cooked traditional English Breakfast, served in the pleasant and sunny dining room. All rooms are En-Suite, and equipped with Colour TV & Freeview, hospitality trays and hairdryers. Centrally heated and double glazed for off-season comfort. Licensed Bar and Lounge. Free off-street parking. Free WiFi access. Car Ferry inclusive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your St Georges House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing