We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned hospitality”
Review of St Georges House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Georges House
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Located midway between Shanklin Village and Shanklin Beach, easy walk to both. The decor is quite old fashioned but that is part of its charm. Room was adequate as was the bathroom. The tv provided was quite small, the free internet was sporadic. A typical large English breakfast was available, Mick, the owner was quite concerned when we chose to eat a fairly light breakfast. What we had was excellent. The bus station, from which buses are available to all parts of the island, is within walking distance and the railway station a short taxi ride away. Plenty of places to eat in the village. Mick was most helpful when my wife became sick, organising breakfast for her in bed and providing details regarding doctors. Thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 144 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and were 'told off' by the owner for having a shower each morning - apparently our shower leaked into the already overheated dining room. Also, we returned after day trips out to find our room door open and when we complained, the owner did not seem to care we could have had our car keys/sat nav/dvd player etc stolen ...and continued to leave our room open on subsequent days.
The room itself was very dated and there was plenty of dust (not to mention a multitude of cushions), there is not enough parking, but on the plus side there was plenty to eat for breakfast, even if you don't always get what you ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed for two nights recently. Mick made us welcome and he was very pleasant, tea and coffee making facilities were very good. Breakfast was good but the dining room was cluttered,small and very hot, no windows were open. The dining room was also in need of a good clean and re-decorating. Our room was very cluttered with too much furniture, the wardrobe wouldn't open unless we moved a chair. The room was also in need of a good clean, the tv, centre light and wall lights were thick with dust ,not just a couple of days worth, but months worth. The curtains, which were resting on a bed, were heavy material and full of dust and the voille drape over them were full of cobwebs. And cobwebs were hanging from the heavy old fashioned wallpaper. The power shower was very good, but carpets on bathroom and toilet floors are unacceptable. We were both horrified to see the amount of black mould on the ceiling above the shower, an effort had been made to mask the smell of the mould, but in fact had made it worse. The decor throughout the entire hotel is very dated, silk flowers and plastic plants collecting yet more dust confirmed to us we will not be staying here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank pam190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed four nights, two grandparents with our 9yr old granddaughter, found Jan and Mick most welcoming and pleasant. Rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfasts are superb, plenty of choice and served to order. parking was easy at the hotel and we found it a very friendly atmosphere. Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bert0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

this is a good value for money hotel on The Isle of Wight, room was good and breakfast was excellent, we had the family room although there were just the two of us and it was lovely and roomy, bathroom was a little compact but adequate

Room Tip: we had the family room although there were just the two of us and it was large and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend recently.
Jan & Mick (the owners) made us most welcome. Whole hotel very clean. Bedrooms appointed with everything one might need. Good breakfast, freshly cooked and served promptly. Very happy to recommend.

Room Tip: Very little difference-perhaps ask which is best and available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We (2 adults + 2 children) recently stayed in a family room for 2 nights B&B. Cost was 228 GBP booked through Hotels.com. Mick was very welcoming. Our room was a good size and had great window space (well lit with sunny aspect). The ensuite was small but functional. The decor was perhaps a bit dated but this is typical of IOW hotels. The room and ensuite were tidy and clean. Bottled water was provided each day, beds were made, and towels changed each day. The Full English breakfast and grilled kippers were excellent, far better than I've had in most (more expensive) hotels around London. Parking at the hotel was easy. Hotel is situated within short walking distance from the shops which was very convenient. Overall we enoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Egghead1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#14 of 51 in Shanklin
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mentone Hotel
Villa Mentone Hotel
#27 of 51 in Shanklin
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#21 of 51 in Shanklin
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges House

Address: 2 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $84 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming original Victorian building, St. Georges is centrally situated for the town, beach, cliffs, picturesque Old Village and historic Chine. St.Georges is renowned for its freshly cooked traditional English Breakfast, served in the pleasant and sunny dining room. All rooms are En-Suite, and equipped with Colour TV & Freeview, hospitality trays and hairdryers. Centrally heated and double glazed for off-season comfort. Licensed Bar and Lounge. Free off-street parking. Free WiFi access. Car Ferry inclusive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your St Georges House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing