We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, for a relaxing weekend.”
Review of St Georges House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Georges House
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, for a relaxing weekend.”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at the St. George's House Hotel in Shanklin for 3 nights from 1 July to 4 July. The hotel has a cozy feel and a personal touch from the owners. From the moment we walked in, we felt very comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel is conveniently located about 2 blocks easy walk from the beach and Shanklin Esplanade.

In the other direction is the Old Village of Shanklin, which has a number of small shops and good restaurants. Several of the restaurants have live music Thursday through Friday and fun atmosphere. We visited several towns on the east side of the IOW and were most impressed with Shanklin.

The full English breakfast was made to order each morning and was very good. I am still getting used to the English breakfasts (ie. the mushrooms, tomatoes, beans), and I have to say this was the best eggs, mushrooms, sausage, tomatoes I have had to-date. A special treat for me was brewed, filtered coffee!

The only drawback was the firmness of the beds which were to say the least firm.

Overall, we thought a nice hotel, with good breakfasts, conveniently located place to enjoy the IOW.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    35
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
59
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hopwas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

we were met and made very welcome
first impressions of room were very good
we asked for a bath if possible and one was made available
room was a nice size with 2 easy chairs
normal teamaking and bathroom bits and pieces provided
also free bottlesof mineral water that was changed every day
the bathroom was small but ok
in the bedroom there was quite a lot of dust on botom of units and also on trouser press it was obvious these hadnt been dusted for quite a time because it was quite thick
also cobwebbs on light and around ceiling a bit disapointing
the plus points were a suberb breakfast i had full english a couple of days and kippers one day excellent quality food and well cooked and presented
the owners were very friendly

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rammie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

St.George House Hotel - Shanklin

::The Good:

1) Breakfast was good. (Bacon, Sausages, fried eggs etc)

::The Not so Good::

1) I think this place is more suitable for whites. Me being an Indian, found the owner to be a bit abrupt in answering questions & rude.

2) Very dusty family room. The first night we were all sneezing and could not get a good sleep. The next day on talking to the owner he was quite rude and bluntly told me - "I am sorry I can't do anything about it. The room is cleaned everyday". There was obvisouly an issue here and instead of trying to help us he just bluntly told he could do nothing about it.

3) Although free internet is advertised we could not get any internet connection. The owner did give me the passcode to connect but on connecting it said clearly that I had connection to the router but the router had no or very limited internet access.

4) Even though a ground floor room (due to small kids) was booked, on reaching we got a first floor room. On asking why this was the case he said - "We are fully booked and absolutely no rooms left". The funny bit was outside the hotel the sign clearly said there were "Vacancies" till the day we left.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TTS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My wife, two teenage children and I stayed for three nights during the hottest April week this year. We were met by Mick, who made us feel welcome and gave us some excellent suggestions for restaurants and pubs within walking distance.

The room (we shared a family room) was fine - the kids are still at an age where bunk-beds are a novelty - and it was spacious and clean. The ensuite facilities were fine and the place was decorated to a good standard. It became a welcome retreat and we felt pleased that we had been lucky enough to find it online.

Criticisms? Only two minor ones really, the first of which is really not St George's fault... because it was such a hot week, we had to keep the windows open all night which meant we were kept 'amused' by the noise at kicking out time from the pub across the way. To be fair, there wasn't a great deal of noise and it didn't go on for long.

The other *minor* criticism was that breakfast started at 8.30am. Because I had meetings starting at 10am on the other side of the island, by the time we had ordered, been served, eaten and tidied up, it all felt a bit rushed. Which is a shame because the breakfasts were fantastic and something St. Georges are rightly proud of. But I stress, this is a *minor* issue and is only here for some balance to the review.

We tried several of Micks suggestions for food, which were spot on and which meant we could have a drink and walk home. We also had a look along the cliffs (the views were superb) which are about five minutes gentle walk away and which have a lift for the less abled.

I would thoroughly recommend St. Georges's. It is well located, easy to access (with off-road parking), clean and hospitable. We didn't get to meet Jan (?), but Mick was affable and welcoming. Thanks to both of you!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ego_Scritis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Well after using the St Georges as a great base for my Bestival visits I decided to give the island a try for a nice walking weekend. The welcome offered by Jan & Mick was as warm as ever and the hotel provided me with a superb base for my walking weekend. I had a great nights sleep in a very clean & comfortable room. The breakfast was as hearty as I remembered and certainly set me up for the day. The location really makes it though, seconds from the coastal path and only a few minutes walk from the railway station. Thanks again to Jan & Mick for all your tips and hospitality, I will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestOpinion170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Thanks to Mick for making my short stay very welcoming - this B&B is in a great location - really short walk to both town centre and the beach and a ten minute walk to the Old Village. St Georges House Hotel was very clean and service great, fantastic for the price. Freeview TV, wireless internet, lounge, full english or continental options, quiet and relaxing. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
205 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We only stayed one night here but it was good value. The location and the excellent bus service meant we were able to explore the Isle of Wight easily. The beach and some good places to eat are within walking distance. The hotel itself was quite and comfortable. The style was old fashion but it was very clean and spacious. The staff were lovely too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#32 of 52 in Shanklin
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
The Chestnuts Private Hotel
#25 of 52 in Shanklin
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges House

Property: St Georges House
Address: 2 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming original Victorian building, St. Georges is centrally situated for the town, beach, cliffs, picturesque Old Village and historic Chine. St.Georges is renowned for its freshly cooked traditional English Breakfast, served in the pleasant and sunny dining room. All rooms are En-Suite, and equipped with Colour TV & Freeview, hospitality trays and hairdryers. Centrally heated and double glazed for off-season comfort. Licensed Bar and Lounge. Free off-street parking. Free WiFi access. Car Ferry inclusive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your St Georges House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing