We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL B&B OWNERS SHOULD FOLLOW THE ROSEMARY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosemary Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“ALL B&B OWNERS SHOULD FOLLOW THE ROSEMARY”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and i and our son spent an out of season 3 nights at the most welcoming Rosemay I O W . All B&B owners should follow the attention to detail , cleanlnest ,welcoming ,local info, refresments ect ect. If you want a well earned lay in then this again is a real must ,no noise and blackout blinds that actually blackout the light for a superb sleep on good quality clean bed /bedding. Views from every window too. Its alittle bizarre mentioning it but the breafast cuttlery was the most spotless i have ever seen!! . The list of specifications and extras are to numerouse to mention . YOU MUST STAY HERE !! we shall endeavour to do so . GH&A

Room Tip: take advantage of the local bus sevce too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
117
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

we returned knowing we were sure of a warm welcome as Alan and Marilyn are great host's and truly natural, it's like visiting family. tea and cake on arrival, (lemon drizzle of course ). your day starts with a wide choice at breakfast, enough to see you through most of the day. excellent bedroom and shower room, fresh milk in a mini fridge for tea or coffee in your room. we will return again because Rosemary is a truly wonderful place to stay with all it's facilities and more importantly you are made to feel welcome by Alan and Marilyn . Frank and Julie.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frank o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Altogether excellent for me: not too far from where I wanted to go, reasonably well priced, excellent reviews. But the proof of the pudding was in the excellent: decor, service, breakfast, facilities and attention to detail - without any over-attentiveness - all outstanding.

From the start I got a prompt and honest response by phone and E-mail ('Well the Wi-Fi in the bedroom we have available may not be the fastest but should be OK' - it was actually more than good enough to do my E-mails and web surfing).

I had been looking for a place to stay in Shanklin again - this time at short notice, out of season and in half term, and many of my previous favourites were closed for winter, or full; but for the two mid-week nights I wanted, Rosemary could squeeeze me in.

Upon cross-examination Marilyn said that in a previous role she had worked on Show Homes and that really shows in the wonderful decor - Rosemary is reasonably spacious but feels most spacious and airy, with top quality detail and fittings - but not chintzy - a strong combination of old-fashioned detail (elegant 6-panel doors) but in a modern style and finish. B&B for the discerning (no riff-raff, no dogs, no children). Little extra touches and an attention to detail that was astonishing, along with the highest standards of cleanliness. Many people I know could probably not remember what they had for breakfast today, but in Rosemary I asked for the same breakfast as I'd had the previous day - and got it exactly, with no fuss and without having to go into any detail. Cooked breakfast was individually prepared with good fresh local ingredients, 'fresh fruit' means fresh fruit, and if you want to go off-piste and ask for a hot chocolate the only issue is whether you want a mug or a cup. (If they are missing some of their wonderful serviette rings when you visit it would be because I've been back and stolen them).

My only disappointment was that I seem to have missed the famous Lemon Drizzle Cake - much praised in other reviews: but I think this was my fault as I was away early and back late each day.

Because Alan and Marilyn work as a team and have such a small B&B you get individual attention from the proprietors themselves. Bedroom 1 was a treat of natural wood and cream with an almost New England or Continental feel of spaciousness; with an en-suite bathroom in a soft sea-side sort of theme. The house is peaceful and quiet (even the toilet seat hinge was damped!), whilst also homely but crisp.

And so I'm not entirely sure why one review only gave Rosemary B&B merely a 'very good' - even though that review itself reads well. However if you want a location right next to the beach, and enjoy screaming children, barking dogs, a disco next door, sand in everything, cheap plastic fittings, stale cigarette smoke, and a meagre breakfast from freezer and tins; then really: I'm sorry, but Rosemary is absolutely not the place for you.

Sometimes I read these reviews and suspect that they are a put-up job by friends and family - all the reviews of Rosemary read 100% honest and independent.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Alan and Marilyn are great hosts, and it was a delight to stay in their beautiful house in Shanklin. Breakfast was delicious, the house and rooms gorgeous, and the hosts as welcoming as possible. Can't really ask for more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andremsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Alan & Marilyn are superb hosts providing excellent clean and comfortable and quiet accommodation with a very friendly and welcoming attitude. Their home is one that you can truly relax in while enjoying your holiday with each day started with an excellent breakfast...including a lovely cuppa tea!
Although we have stayed at other Hotels in the Shanklin area over the last ten years we really feel this time we have 'found gold' at Rosemary and will most certainly be booking up for next year with that great feeling of being able to know we are guaranteed a 'home from home' experience.
Many thanks again Alan & Marilyn

Jon & Suzanne

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

One week in September we (from Germany) enjoyed the hospitality of Marylin and Alan very much. Based on Marylin's intuition for cosiness and charming style the design and decoration of the rooms and the house is excellent and the best we have ever seen in a B&B. Perfect breakfast just to our special wishes, every day a fresh cleaned up bed and bath and tasty cookies in our rooms, mouth-watering cakes home-made by Alan and a real badger watching in the garden at night. We had a lot of fun and felt more like friends than as guests. Thank you so much! Gaby and Beatrix

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaBe367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Rosemary B & B for a three night stay at the beginning of September and would certainly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting the Isle of Wight. The accommodation is first class, and attention to detail excellent. Marilyn and Alan are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Thanks once again for making our stay so enjoyable.

Jackie and Tony

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
1.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#8 of 52 in Shanklin
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Rylstone Manor Hotel
#16 of 52 in Shanklin
182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemary Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rosemary Bed & Breakfast
Address: 87 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosemary Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosemary is a small family run B&B which prides itself on its friendly and attention personal service. Rosemary is in a beautiful location in Shanklin with views over open countryside and yet not far from the Old village with its local pubs and numerous restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rosemary Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemary Bed & Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing