We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Traditional B&B”
Review of The Birkdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Birkdale
Ranked #9 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in mid-September. Good location near the old village. Parking good. Room was spacious and very clean. Nice bathroom with spa bath and separate shower. Breakfast was nice although the timeslot was a bit limiting (no chance of a lie in). It's only the lack of those special touches like wine and chocolate or home made goodies that you get in some B&Bs that stop me giving it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 237 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I have just got back from a wonderful first trip to the Isle of Wight. Our stay at The Birkdale made our visit even better.
This is an excellent guest house in a great location. Jackie and Bill were the perfect hosts.
Our room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 1 and unlike a previous reviewer who made an adverse comment about the bed, we had no issues with it what so ever.
The breakfast was delicious and kept us going for the day.
We would highly recommend this guest house and look forward to returning at some future date.

M&W

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the Whirlpool Bath Room and so glad that we did as the bathroom was massive (not just by UK standards). It is perfectly situated near the Chine, the beach and old Shanklin village. The breakfast was great and Jackie a helpful host.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HolidayJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a return visit for my mum and me and we will be back again ! Jackie and Bill made us so welcome ,we feel at ease and comfortable from the minute we arrive . Our room spotlessly clean ,beds comfortable. The breakfasts wonderful ! Love the fruit salad and the cooked breakfast beautifully cooked . The location very good too right in the old village . We didn't bring the car but with frequent buses just round the corner it was easy to visit all parts of the island.
Look forward to returning next year .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean_lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Jackie and Bill were very welcoming and couldnt do enough throughout our stay. Being 6 months pregnant I asked for a couple of extra pillows which were produced quickly and with no trouble. A pot of tea or coffee offered on arrival was a lovely touch for weary travellers. The room was very clean and tidy and the additions of en suite, tea and coffee making facilities and other nice touches like cotton wool, hairdryer and shower gel all made for a welcoming home from home style. Although we generally prefer a bit of a lay in when on holiday, breakfast was served for half an hour 0830-0900. It was however served with a cheery air and the choice was fantastic. Even to the point where decaf tea and green tea would be served if asked for. All in all a great quiet location just off the main Old Shanklin Town shopping street. A fair walk to the beach but worth it. Thank you for a great stay and we look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which was located on the ground floor if you dont want too many stairs to tackle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitnavychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 4 with the spa bath. The room was very big and well layed out. You get a tv with free sat and a DVD player as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was.Good the shower cubicle is seperate from the spa bath both are a good size. The spa bath was nice and relaxing. Breakfast in the morning was superb don't think I've had one that good in a b and b before. Selection of fruits yoghurts cereal toast and full English. Spoilt for choice! The location is right in the middle of shanklin old village and everything in shanklin is walking distance. The hosts Jackie and bill were really nice and welcoming and did a good job looking after us. Would deffo stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurphy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the moment we stepped through the door, Bill and Jackie were the perfect hosts. A pot of tea on arrival to the tidying of our room every morning, Bill's fabulous breakfasts and Jackie's cheeriness in the morning, all went to making our stay at the Birkdale a big part of our relaxing holiday. The room was huge, the 4 poster bed comfy, the shower amazing...and all spotlessly clean. Breakfast was between 8.30 and 9 which was about right and Bill would cook anything you wanted. Cereals, Juices, toast and fresh fruit were on a buffet style table to have as much as you like. It was no trouble for them to put some of our snack food in their fridge for us. All in all, stay at the Birkdale......you won't be disappointed (and will want to go back).

Room Tip: Room 5 has a four poster bed.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#24 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 51 in Shanklin
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Somerton Lodge Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birkdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birkdale

Address: 5 Grange Road | Shanklin Old Village, Shanklin PO37 6NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: $87 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Birkdale 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Birkdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birkdale Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing