We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for our first trip to the Isle of Wight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend away in the Isle of Wight and the Luccombe Manor Hotel was an absolute gem of a hotel and we will definitely be returning....quite likely over the Aug bank holiday weekend!! Evereything about the hotel was just right. Located on the cliff tops just above Shanklin beach with steps down to the beach from the hotel garden, and minutes from the Shanklin Chine and the village shops. The gardens were beautifully maintained and the hotel was very clean and well kept throughout. The staff were fantastic. They couldn't have been more helpful considering we were travelling with our two young sons, two years and five years, We booked a family sea view room (room 12), and the views in the morning when you pulled back the curtains were amazing. All in all a wonderful trip!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 604 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hotel (albeit maybe a tad tired looking for some) has a wonderful location on top of cliff and it is well worth going down the steps to the beach and walking along the esplanade to Sandown. Very flat and easy walking.
A fantastic two night break including ferry. Room and en suite were spotlessly clean and beautifully peaceful - this was in April. Sister hotel next door has a very good indoor pool. I
Think the heating in that area could be turned down a bit though. Only had breakfast there but it was very good and the staff extremely hospitable. A hop skip and jump into Shanklin itself where there are pubs/restaurants. Would most certainly go again!!

Room Tip: Room 8 was quiet and airy
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillim44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went with another couple, using a Wowcher deal we had booked two months earlier. Each party had opted to pay an extra £40 for a sea view room, and it was worth every penny!

We had rooms 2 and 3, which must be pretty much the best and biggest rooms in the hotel (so no case of " only the room under the stairs for the cheapskates on a deal..."). They each had fantastic sea views, overlooking the pool and the garden. The furniture is a bit simple, and I would've preferred a king size bed rather than a double and another single, but at the end of they day, that didn't get in the way of a 5-star review.

The day of our arrival was the first day this year that the pool was open, and although it was freezing cold, we were in our cozzies/trunks within an hour of arriving at the hotel. We could have used next door's indoor facilities (and two of us did the next day), but who cares about a few drops of rain when sitting in a hot tub overlooking Sandown Bay?

And that sums up Luccombe Manor's forte - location, location, location... Old manor house (although a large part of the rooms are in less impressive looking extensions, but then I didn't see the interior of those), impressive grand hall, plenty of facilities, on top of a cliff, with stunning sea views, only a 5-minute walk from the centre of picturesque Shanklin.

You can relax in the downstairs lounge, where you can help yourself to complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. While the bar didn't open before 6, there was always someone at reception you was happy to pour you a drink before that. There's even a pools table and a darts board in a separate room. We don't tend to go for exotic cocktail options, so we didn't push the bar to its limits, but it came as a pleasant surprise that the drinks came at pub prices.

Breakfast had plenty of options, and they even had your paper of choice waiting for you (which you order when checking in, they only charge you the actual price of the paper).

The service was excellent and very friendly.

Will we be back? Oh, yes!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petruschka1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in April 2013, taking advantage of a car ferry/hotel deal. We found Luccombe Manor to be a clean, well presented hotel in a beautiful location and staffed by really lovely people. Breakfast was very nice and served in a room looking out over the gardens and the Channel beyond. Our bedroom was a very good size, well furnished and decorated and the bathroom likewise with an excellent shower. The hotel is just a short walk from Shanklin with easy access to the chine, the beach and esplanade and the town.
If going to Shanklin again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avbradley1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just got back from a two night break using a voucher (Living Social I think) which included the ferry crossing and it was very good value. The room was fine and breakfast was good with plenty of choice. They weren't serving evening meals but kindly printed out a list of dog friendly pubs. The staff are very helpful as the first thing I asked for was extra hot chocolate sachets and they were provided straight away. It has a nice large lounge and we were very surprised that, although the parking area was full, we were the only ones to use it. We felt sorry for the girl that opened the bar and had no customers. We used the lounge tea and coffee facilities, with fresh hot water brought for us, along with digestives for dunking and a tin of dog treats for the dogs.

Breakfast is served in the front of the hotel with views of the garden, outdoor pool and sea.

The guest rooms are all up stairs but the staff will help with luggage so that should be no problem.

Wifi is available throughout the hotel but the lounge area hub / modem needed a reset the first evening but no luck the second night. In the room though the signal was fine.

Just over the road is a small park and there is access to the beach and esplanade via steps. There is another larger park a few hundred yards away. There is also Luccombe Chine which is private and chargeable. Shanklin town is a short walk away.

When we left we were given another voucher so we will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We had room 4 and as it is a very quiet location had no problems with it at all.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topofall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Last week we enjoyed a short two-night break at Luccombe Manor Hotel arranged through Living Social and were delighted with the hotel and its proximity to Shanklin. The room was small but comfortable, clean and tidy, and we loved the double shower. Breakfast was well-cooked and enjoyable although the evening meal could only be described as average, small portions and nothing special. Nevertheless, the service we received was excellent, the staff were very friendly and we couldn't fault their desire to help. We would have no hesitation in staying there again and have already recommended it to family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took a short break through a promotion of Travelzoo. The hotel has great staff who cannot do enough to please. The restaurant where we ate our breakfasts and evening dinner has a beautiful view over the sea and there are so many tables beside the window that lots of diners are able to enjoy this. The waiters are attentive and very helpful. The food is very nicely presented and cooked with a wide variety on offer - as a vegetarian, I appreciated the fact that there were a few options on offer and these were more 'adventurous' than the usual vegetable lasagne which is offered at most places.
The hotel was once someone's home and it is plushly carpeted in red with ornate ceilings and large windows. The hotel is quiet as it is situated at the end of a quiet street and is only a few minutes walk from the sea, Chine and village. We would certainly go again.
We thought it a good system whereby if you wish to leave a tip, it is suggested to put it in an envelope so that itl can be shared out equally and handed in together with their questionnaire. The only small criticisms I had was that the dog bowl for water outside the front of the hotel was not filled with water but with mud and leaves and that the outside cigarette bin was not easily visible and therefore there were cigarette butts on the ground. A shame to falter on minor points.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor (21) and had a partial sea view. It was a very quiet and comfortabl...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helliot151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
849 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,255 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $110 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing