We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“afternoon tea” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I went with a friend for afternoon tea it was a Birthday gift but the tea was not that good , roughly made not asked if we were ok , or wanted more tea coffee or milk which we did , NO CAKE just some bought in dry scones no butter and JAM IN A JAR!! all very dissapointing . clean tableclothes but food very naff and dry .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonameat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    223
    68
    28
    8
See reviews for
134
341
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This break was on a deal with dinner included. The location is perfect. Sea views and a walk to the beach down some steps within five minutes. Lovely welcome on arrival. We were not happy with the room as we had asked for a twin but no problem because within 5 minutes we were offered another room. Room 4. This also had a sea view. Very clean and updated furnishings. Bathroom small and it would be nice to have had a shelf to put shower bag on. I also would have like a full length mirror. Lighting quite dim but seems to be the fashion nowadays! Breakfast is part buffet. Cooked breakfast arrives really hot - full English is good. They seemed a little stretched on our 2nd morning and we had to ask twice for tea. Dinner menu is a little bland. Mainly pasta the 1st night and mainly potatoes the 2nd night. Chicken with pasta was creamy. Fish with tomato pasta was a bit bland. Lamb stew was lovely. Good portion of cheese for dessert. Do not let the non positive comments put you off. There is parking, tho it could be tight for space, staff lovely, very clean, with complimentary tea/coffee in the lounge. We would certainly return when we stay on the isle of wight again.

Room Tip: Room 4 smallish bathroom but very pleasant with double bed and a single
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Starting with the positives, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the lady on Reception when we checked in. The hotel location is wonderful, a short walk into Shanklin town, and with great sea views - I’m sure we would have used and enjoyed the outdoor pool and hot tub had it not been blowing a gale and throwing it down with rain throughout our entire stay! The room was well equipped with drawers/wardrobe space, and seemed to have been quite recently decorated. The bathroom was large and well laid out, with a separate shower cubicle. Breakfasts were freshly cooked, and enjoyable, though the haddock and poached egg on day 2 was very wet, the egg had not been drained properly before serving.

On a Wowcher deal, I think we were put in the cheapskates’ wing of the hotel. The room was very small, had old, metal-framed windows which were very cold, and the one in the bathroom did not close properly as there was no handle attached to the catch - we had to leave the door to the bathroom open in order for it to be warm enough in there, as it was a large space with only a towel rail for heat source. The bedroom itself never got very warm, despite leaving the radiator on full, and the quilt was thin. The walls were like paper, and we could clearly hear the people in the room next door talking and using their bathroom. We have since found that it might have been possible to upgrade, but this was not offered to us when we checked in. Wifi never worked in the room, despite mentioning it twice to Reception staff, we had to bring the laptop into the lounge in order to get any internet access.

The receptionist said that she couldn’t let us know if we could have a light lunch ‘until the chef arrives at 1.30’, despite the room info saying light snacks were available from 10.00 am to 6.00 pm – it was 2.00 before our sandwiches were delivered.

Dinner on night 1 was no more than adequate – ‘crab beignets’ were 5 marble-sized fishcakes, with a faint taste of crab, totally overpowered by the large chunky salsa supplied with it; ‘plaice and prawn roulade with tarragon butter’ was a very small piece of place, rolled with the dark skin still attached so not very attractive, with no more than three tiny prawns inside and a faint smear of tarragon butter; the duchesse potatoes were dry and crumbly, and the vegetables, sadly, contained the ubiquitous mange touts and baby sweetcorn with a few rounds of carrot, most uninspired. On the second night, a Friday, it was much better – a different chef?

Overall, it was just about OK for what we paid for it, but I would have been intensely disappointed if we had paid any more than the Wowcher deal price. I don’t think we will be coming back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 22-26!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and i have just come back from Luccombe Manor country House Hotel, we spent two nights there, we had a lovely stay, the food was superb,the waiter/waitress were so friendly and couldn't do enough to please us, Levi the mangeress was lovely, the only thing that was a little let down was the size of our room, it was very small, but immaculate, so beautifully clean, it never spolit our stay,but wish i had asked to be upgraded,we know the next time to ask for a sea view room, we will go back,such a beautiful hotel, can't wait for the warmer months when we can use the pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room, will cost just a tiny bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We purchased a deal for two nights which included the cost of the ferry crossing, Everything went to plan. It is a lovely old building in a fabulous position and the interior looked as though it had recently been refurbished with new carpets and bright paintwork. For the dates we wanted to go, we had to pay a supplement each per night, per person, as the only rooms left were with sea views. It was a nice big room and we weren't disappointed with the views. There are lovely walks along by the sea to Sandown and the village of Shanklin itself is very nice. The hotel staff are very friendly and relaxed and the breakfast was good, freshly cooked, with fresh fruits each morning. We didn't try the spa facilities.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Given that this was a special offer, we did not have high expectations at all but I must say that we all enjoyed our time at this hotel. The room was spotless, not the greatest decor but the staff at this hotel really make it. Nothing was too much trouble for the manager who seemed to be on call the entire duration of our stay. Facilities for small children were really good, indoor pool, large gardens, trampoline, swings and the beach at the end of the garden(albeit down many very steep steps) There was also a handy indoor play area which, although small, was great to pass a half hour when it was raining. In all, we were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel in a beautiful part of the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meadow1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Managed to get a Wowcher deal here for a 2 night stay. Upgraded to a sea view room (room 15) and glad we did as the view was magnificent. All in all a great place with very welcoming and attentive staff who went out of their way to help us. My only concerns were that the Wi-fi access from room 15 was pretty non existant and when connected it dropped out on a regular basis. The car parking was a lottery and clearly not enough spaces when the hotel is fully booked. Despite these very minor points we would certainly pay a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing