We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location but avoid room 9”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently.We had a deal from travelzoo for 2 nights bed and breakfast,with dinner on the first night,in addition we paid extra for 2 further nights.
The hotel is in a lovely location, quiet but close to Shanklin old village,and with pleasant gardens opposite the hotel.
The staff were welcoming and friendly,breakfast was excellent with a plentiful choice of food,and the conservatory where it was served had a sea view,and all the public areas of the hotel were well maintained.
The disappointment was Room 9
This room was down a short flight of stairs and was over the kitchen so we had the smell of cooking, it was very noisy,and there was a chimney directly outside one of the windows which
was probably for the boiler as we had a continual noise when it was on.
The other window looked on to a yard that was full of old furniture,a bath and discarded crockery,
these things looked like they had been there some time,as there were rotting piles of leaves.
I also see that someone had complained about this in a previous review.
We did complain to the management about the noise but they shrugged it off,saying they didn't know what it was.
Considering we paid full price for 2 extra nights I think we should have been given a better room
as some people who had the 2 night offer had sea views and better rooms.
I think the hotel owner should spend a couple of nights in this room,and clear up the rubbish left in the yard.It really lets this pleasant hotel down.

Room Tip: Don't accept Room 9 noisy with cooking smells and a poor outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 296barbarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

I am very pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel including our fantastic position and the meals.

The room in question is one of our recently refurbished rooms with a brand new bathroom suite and plenty of space. This room is considered the same standard as any other room in our hotel. We do not allocate rooms based on the package guests are on. Any guest in a sea view room pays a supplement to have those and can be requested at the time of booking if you would have preferred one of these.

As we try and keep the hotel to the highest possible standard, we are continuously carrying out refurbishments. We completed our last room this winter and unfortunately at the time of your stay we were waiting for the skip that is necessary to remove this type of furniture. During the windy, wet winter months we cannot avoid the piles of leaves that gather and our gardener works very hard to try and clear these when possible.

Noise complaints, or any other nature of complaint is always important to us here at Luccombe Manor. If the noise was made by another guest, this is unavoidable but we would of course try and intervene if necessary. Our staff do not begin work until 7.30am and so before this time, perhaps the noise was unexplainable.

We really hope you return to Luccombe Manor in the future and I would recommend one of our sea facing rooms as you appreciate the beautiful views here.

Thank you again,
Kind Regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 610 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Lovely stay arranged through TravelZoo. Good offer which included the ferry accommodation breakfast and one dinner. Lovely room with sea views. All good and great attentive staff. Super walks and very close to Shanklin with lots of interesting pubs. We were really out of the tourist
season, so unable to advise how busy the island gets.

Room Tip: Book a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review.

Our special offers are always great value for money and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Luccombe Manor.

The Island does get fairly busy in the Summer months as we have such beautiful beaches to enjoy - but you came at the perfect time for a quiet couple of days!

We hope you return in the future.

Kind Regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Found an offer with Travelzoo . We had a two night stay which included the ferry, breakfast and dinner on the first night. We did upgrade our room to ensure we got a sea view. This was magnificent. Everything was very good. Excellent staff. The only thing that was rubbish was the weather! However we had a lovely relaxing time.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 338Yvonneyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for writing us a review.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the sea view so much! It is such a privilege - especially if you do not live by the sea.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We needed a late season break to have time to ourselves before Christmas and found a great offer on TravelZoo to stay at this hotel for 2 nights in November.

The staff were very friendly, especially Levi, and were very helpful.

We were in a sea-view room that had a double and a single bed.
The room was very clean and tidy, and looked like it had recently been renovated.
The beds and linen were clean, although the bed was slightly too hard for my liking (wife was happy though)
There was a flat-screen TV with Freeview channels only.
There was no fridge.
The bathroom had a shower/bath combo. Again, it was very clean.

The deal we had gave us a breakfast on both days and an evening meal for 1 day.
Breakfast was cereal, yoghurt, DIY toast, Juice and Coffee. The cooked menu was a full english, 3 egg choices (scrambled, poached, fried) and croissants. Simple but well done.

The evening meal was a choice of 3 meals from a menu and we had the Lamb rump which was very tasty and quickly served.
If you wanted to just have an evening meal out, it is only a 5 minute walk to Shanklin town centre where there are a number of pubs and restaurants. We would recommend The Crab for good honest food and drink.

Overall, we had a very peaceful break, thanks to great staff and a hotel in a great location away from the road but near enough to the town to enjoy what the Isle has to offer.

Room Tip: No tips. The sea-view was very nice but it wasn't a deal maker or breaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_&_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

This time of year is great to come to the Island for the calm before the storm! We have indeed recently renovated that room along with all of our other bedrooms including all new beds and furnishings.

I am pleased you found the hotel to a high standard of cleanliness and that you enjoyed your meals. I will certainly pass your thanks on to the staff and I am really pleased you had a peaceful break away!

We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a great weekend at Luccombe Manor. From the time I phoned to book the deal to the time we booked out & were told that we were welcome to leave our car there until new guests started to arrive at about noon, we were treated very friendly & our needs dealt with very efficiently. We were greeted on arrival by a friendly receptionist who showed us to our rooms rather than a lot of hotels that give you vague directions to your room, the room was big & comfortable with a nice big bathroom with bath & seperate shower, the only thing I did find strange was that there was not frosted glass in the bathroom, but it was ok it just meant that you had to close the blinds. We had evening meal both nights & again we had great service & the food was lovely with enough choice. The breakfasts were also good with again plenty of choice I had the smoked haddock & poached egg & that was very tasty with proper poached eggs done in a saucepan not an egg poacher, my husband had the full english & said that was good too.
They have a nice lounge & also a room with a pool table & a dartboard although I have to say , the dartboard has seen better days.
I would definately stay at this hotel again & would reccomend it

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for such a great review.

I am so pleased the staff assisted you with everything you needed and that you enjoyed your meals here. With so much to do, you need a good breakfast to set you up for the day ahead.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope you return to us again in the future!

Best wishes,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a few days away at the Luccombe Manor hotel and we were very impressed with everything, our room, bathroom with plenty of hot water and a bath, the view from the eating area was superb, and the breakfasts and dinners were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was very warm and we would book to stay there again and fully recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinBSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are always continuing to make improvements to our service and so I am very pleased this has paid off for you. Being able to enjoy the beautiful views throughout meal times proves to be a treat for many of our guests - and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the chef.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed on a wowcher deal which offered very good value for money indeed. The welcome and service were excellent. Food was good. The location is lovely overlooking the sea and we were given an upgrade to a sea view room. The pool at the sister hotel next door was lovely and warm.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abw55acw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am pleased you feel your break was good value for money and that enjoyed so many aspects of what we have to offer. The staff work very hard to provide the best possible service here at Luccombe Manor Coutry House Hotel.
We hope you visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
860 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $79 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing