We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Found an offer with Travelzoo . We had a two night stay which included the ferry, breakfast and dinner on the first night. We did upgrade our room to ensure we got a sea view. This was magnificent. Everything was very good. Excellent staff. The only thing that was rubbish was the weather! However we had a lovely relaxing time.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 338Yvonneyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for writing us a review.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the sea view so much! It is such a privilege - especially if you do not live by the sea.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    227
    69
    28
    8
See reviews for
136
346
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We needed a late season break to have time to ourselves before Christmas and found a great offer on TravelZoo to stay at this hotel for 2 nights in November.

The staff were very friendly, especially Levi, and were very helpful.

We were in a sea-view room that had a double and a single bed.
The room was very clean and tidy, and looked like it had recently been renovated.
The beds and linen were clean, although the bed was slightly too hard for my liking (wife was happy though)
There was a flat-screen TV with Freeview channels only.
There was no fridge.
The bathroom had a shower/bath combo. Again, it was very clean.

The deal we had gave us a breakfast on both days and an evening meal for 1 day.
Breakfast was cereal, yoghurt, DIY toast, Juice and Coffee. The cooked menu was a full english, 3 egg choices (scrambled, poached, fried) and croissants. Simple but well done.

The evening meal was a choice of 3 meals from a menu and we had the Lamb rump which was very tasty and quickly served.
If you wanted to just have an evening meal out, it is only a 5 minute walk to Shanklin town centre where there are a number of pubs and restaurants. We would recommend The Crab for good honest food and drink.

Overall, we had a very peaceful break, thanks to great staff and a hotel in a great location away from the road but near enough to the town to enjoy what the Isle has to offer.

Room Tip: No tips. The sea-view was very nice but it wasn't a deal maker or breaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_&_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

This time of year is great to come to the Island for the calm before the storm! We have indeed recently renovated that room along with all of our other bedrooms including all new beds and furnishings.

I am pleased you found the hotel to a high standard of cleanliness and that you enjoyed your meals. I will certainly pass your thanks on to the staff and I am really pleased you had a peaceful break away!

We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a great weekend at Luccombe Manor. From the time I phoned to book the deal to the time we booked out & were told that we were welcome to leave our car there until new guests started to arrive at about noon, we were treated very friendly & our needs dealt with very efficiently. We were greeted on arrival by a friendly receptionist who showed us to our rooms rather than a lot of hotels that give you vague directions to your room, the room was big & comfortable with a nice big bathroom with bath & seperate shower, the only thing I did find strange was that there was not frosted glass in the bathroom, but it was ok it just meant that you had to close the blinds. We had evening meal both nights & again we had great service & the food was lovely with enough choice. The breakfasts were also good with again plenty of choice I had the smoked haddock & poached egg & that was very tasty with proper poached eggs done in a saucepan not an egg poacher, my husband had the full english & said that was good too.
They have a nice lounge & also a room with a pool table & a dartboard although I have to say , the dartboard has seen better days.
I would definately stay at this hotel again & would reccomend it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for such a great review.

I am so pleased the staff assisted you with everything you needed and that you enjoyed your meals here. With so much to do, you need a good breakfast to set you up for the day ahead.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope you return to us again in the future!

Best wishes,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a few days away at the Luccombe Manor hotel and we were very impressed with everything, our room, bathroom with plenty of hot water and a bath, the view from the eating area was superb, and the breakfasts and dinners were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was very warm and we would book to stay there again and fully recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinBSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are always continuing to make improvements to our service and so I am very pleased this has paid off for you. Being able to enjoy the beautiful views throughout meal times proves to be a treat for many of our guests - and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the chef.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed on a wowcher deal which offered very good value for money indeed. The welcome and service were excellent. Food was good. The location is lovely overlooking the sea and we were given an upgrade to a sea view room. The pool at the sister hotel next door was lovely and warm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abw55acw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am pleased you feel your break was good value for money and that enjoyed so many aspects of what we have to offer. The staff work very hard to provide the best possible service here at Luccombe Manor Coutry House Hotel.
We hope you visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed at the Luccombe Manor several times for long weekend breaks and always enjoy our stay. The staff are freindly and always happy to accommodate you and the breakfast and evening meal if you choose to have one is excellent. We will always go back and always ask for the same room as it is quiet and peaceful and we just love the IOW. The start of our holiday is on the ferry coming across and having tea and toast!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the car park always seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for such a great review. We are so pleased you have such an enjoyable stay here at Luccombe Manor time and time again. It it such a quiet area that it is the ideal place to come for a peaceful few days!

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Best Wishes,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited this hotel late October, very impressed with the staff they couldn't do enough for us, the breakfast was excellent as was dinner. Some lovely views from the garden and nice walks in the area, close enough to Shanklin town centre to walk to. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chadcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Manager at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Levi Kelly
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Address: 11 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing