We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Site needs tlc but accommodation great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was a weekend for my disabled parents and my brother. We didn't use the entertainment as just wanted a clean comfortable base. The caravan was gold plus, and i requested close to parking. The caravan was fab, clean and really very comfortable. The single beds were super uncomfortable but the sofas made great beds. The flooding provided difficulty with driving around the site and walking to the caravan. The stones made bit deep holes which I worry caused damage to the car driving through, and the site is in desperate need of tlc and updating. But again, receptionist was very helpful and the caravan was fab. Definite recommend gold plus. Also had free ferry which was a very nice surprise.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank lindsey_bridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for sharing your views on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were happy with your accommodation and its location, we always do our best to adhere to any special requests made prior to your arrival. I apologise that you found the beds to be uncomfortable but do wish you had reported it to reception as we would have offered to change the mattress for you.
I am sorry you experienced difficulty getting around the park, as you say the Island along with many other counties has experienced severe flooding which is out of our control, we are now hoping for a long hot Summer!
Many of our breaks come with a free return ferry crossing so it is always worth checking our website for deals for any future holidays. Thank you once again and I do hope you choose to holiday with Park Resorts in the near future.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 926 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

we did this through the sun offer, very cheap. we upgraded to a luxury + caravan, which turned out to be a "silver +". Check in was hopeless as the caravans weren't ready waited one and a half hours. The bed was very uncomfortable with springs dig in at every poosible opportunity, we ended up buying a double sleeping bag to put under our sheet for comfort. However that said the park was quiet and that was exactly what we wanted. We only used the park as a base and therefore cannot comment on the facilities of the park. Overall very good value for what we paid. If we use again will take something to sleep on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmurray95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor,
I sincerely apologise that your accommodation was not up to standard, I do wish you had reported your issues to reception as we would have sent an accommodation supervisor straight round to rectify the cleanliness issues, we could have also changed the mattress for you had we known you found it uncomfortable.
It is in our terms and conditions that travel cots and high chairs are available to hire for £10 per short break and £15 per week, plus a £10 deposit. The deposit will be returned once the item has been returned to reception in the condition it was hired.
I am pleased you were happy with the location of the park and that you enjoyed many great days out on the Isle of Wight.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were a group of 23 (10 kids and 13 adults) in total who had gone away for the Shanklin football tournament.....a kids tournament. We had 5 caravans in all at Silver level. They were what you would expect really and did what they said on the tin! Caravans were clean and tidy when we arrived and all the beds were made up (bonus!)

There was an outdoor and indoor pool which was great, however the outdoor pool was closed (even though it was hot enough for us to get subburned). And the hours for the indoor pool were next to useless for us (10-4.45 p.m.) We were out at the football tournament until around 3.30 p.m., and dived back on the Saturday hoping the kids could get in the pool but at 3.45 they were told no......as they operate a wrist band system and only let a small group in at a time and also they had decided they were going to close it around 4.20 p.m., as they were putting some chemical in it. Really disappointed children as we had to leave for the football tournament (most people on the site were for the football tournament!) and by the time we got back they were closing or wouldn't let them in. 4 days we were there and none of ours managed to get in the pool. It would have been useful if management had been more flexible around this or at least extended the opening hours til 6 as it was such lovely weather!

Other than that.....the staff were nice and friendly and it had the basics of what we needed so all good really. I think as a group we would have preferred to stay on the other site, Lower Hyde one, (we got to visit that one briefly for the football presentations).

Others on the site were not so well behaved or considerate as our group though and many of the children from other parties were reaping havoc around the campsite to the early hours of the morning.

Good idea though for the cost and it makes a difference when there are so many of you travelling.

Room Tip: Go for level of caravan that meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am glad that you were satisfied with your accommodation and found your caravan to be clean and tidy. I am also glad you had such nice weather whilst you were here but it was unseasonal and our outdoor swimming pool does not open until 23rd May which is clearly stated in our brochure and on the website.
I have spoken to our sports and leisure manager regarding your comments on the indoor pool. The whole of Landguard was taken over with the sports tour and the pool was busy at all times so many children were able to use it, the band system is in place due to health and safety reasons and the lifeguards have to adhere to this. The pool does close at 4.45pm to allow the team to get ready for the advertised activities that take place, swimming up time is announced at 4.20pm. The manager has stated that had she been made aware in advance that different opening times would have been more convenient for the sports tour then she would have done her best to accommodate, perhaps this is something you could discuss with the event organiser for any future group bookings?
I am pleased that you found all our staff to be pleasant and friendly and I thank you once again for this review.

Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were really looking forward to this little break but weren't expecting much. So we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and it far exceeded our expectations. All the staff we spoke to were cheerful and helpful. Everywhere was clean. Our accommodation was fantastic with 3 bedrooms and 2 toilets. Large lounge/dining/kitchen area, with everything in it you could want. The pool was smallish but clean and well supervised. The staff worked really hard making sure everyone was safe and not doing anything stupid. It is well situated close to the beach which you could walk to. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were located in the woodland area, which was lovely to wake up to birdsong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for this brilliant review of Landguard.
I am so pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you were very happy with your accommodation. We pride ourselves on being a friendly park so I am pleased you found all our staff to be pleasant and helpful. Our lifeguards really do work hard and I shall pass your kind comments onto our sports and leisure manager.
Thank you once again and I do hope we see you again in the not too distant future.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This holiday was cheap in every respect. The accommodation was perfectly adequate for the price (170 for 4 nights) but I would have been gutted to pay any more even in the peak summer season. We had a gold plus caravan with 3 bedrooms. It was okay, fairly clean, but more basic than I anticipated. The double bed was tiny and lumpy, the kitchen needed a good scrub, and the whole thing felt like it had been given a quick once over between guests rather than a thorough clean. The lino in the lounge had clearly been chosen because it is quicker to give that a sweep/mop rather than vacuuming carpets - understandable from the cleaners point if view, but not particularly comfortable or homely. Also, as a previous review states, the walls are so bare and utilitarian.

When I was hiring a travel cot I was asked for an additional £10 returnable deposit (on top of the hire charge we'd already paid). When I queried it the lady said "we gave to do it this way cos people nick them." Charming! Although might explain the lack of pictures etc! Worth noting too that they don't provide bedding for the cot, and even though we pre- booked it months in advance it wasn't in the caravan on arrival.

The park is described by Park Resorts as quieter than nearby Lower Hyde, and that is why we chose it. However, every evening we were 'treated' to loud caterwauling from the clubhouse, followed later by the clientele rolling back to their caravans. We chose not to use the park facilities, but the noise coming from the entertainment took that choice away!!

Location wise it was exactly what we wanted for our holiday, and we were well located for loads of great family days out.

We will definitely be returning to Isle of Wight, but definitely NOT to Park Resorts.

Room Tip: Upgrade as high as you can afford!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northbedsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Arrived on the 14th April a little early so had to wait for the caravan but staff were polite and friendly. The caravan was at the edge of the site but as it's small this was fine, views of woodland and saw rabbits etc..which my children loved! The caravan was very clean and new with gas central heating, fab! The entertainment was great for the little ones and we were really impressed by the the team, we popped up to Lower Hyde one evening too which is a lot larger. Played bingo as the prize money was thousands but never won!
My children loved the little park, although this could be updated as the swing was a bit wobbly. They also loved the Pipsqueak activities in the morning and the Sparky stuff. The pool was ok, a little cold with small changing rooms but free lockers.
The value for money for the gifts was excellent...drinks about average and food was ok but recommend the Merrie Gardens more for good as this was excellent value and great service.
For a small park this was great, close to Morrisons and of course the Isle of Wight is fab with loads to do. A great base!

Room Tip: Upgrade to silver
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday here with us at Landguard and that your children enjoyed all the entertainment provided for them. Landguard is ideally situated to explore the Island and I am pleased your children saw so much wildlife whilst they were here.
I do hope you consider using Landguard for any future holidays and can only hope you do better on the bingo next time.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a great break at Landguard. The caravan was spotless and very well equipped with a good sized double bedroom which had lots of storage space. All of the staff were very friendly and helpfull but a special mention for the pool staff who were very safety conscious and hard working. The whole park was very clean and well maintained and unlike some other reviewers we never had any problems with parking. I would recommend Landguard for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for this fantastic review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and were very happy with your accommodation. I shall pass your comments regarding the lifeguards onto our sports and leisure manager, who will be delighted with such positive feedback. I hope to see you again and am thrilled you would recommend Landguard for a family holiday.
Landguard Holiday Park
01983 863 100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 51 in Shanklin
883 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
10.9 mi away
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
0.8 mi away
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range: $17 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landguard Holiday Park has a lovely friendly atmosphere, set in sheltered woodland, just a short walk from the traditional seaside town of Shanklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing