We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as ever”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Third stay at the Eastmount and the standard is as good,if not better than our previous stay.
All of the staff work so hard to make your stay wonderful.The food is was beautifull you got what you asked for.
WE WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    56
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
87
97
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

yet again we had a brilliant time at the eastmount hall hotel on the first week in july for our first wedding the wonderful staff again catered for our every need special thanks to Susie and of course jill Julian and Jamie for excellent service and friendliness combined would recommend to any one love lisa and drew x

Room Tip: honeymoon suite was beautiful with great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am writing this review for my parents who visited in June 2013. On arrival they were given a lovely cream tea. The staff and owners of this hotel were first class and couldn't do enough to help you. There was a heated swimming pool which was very nice. The food was excellent, 4 courses each night, and was able to help yourself to coffee. The only downside of this stay was the room, it was not very big and my parents felt like they needed more room, not enough space to move around, it was also dated and needed some refurbishment. It poured of rain a few nights and the guttering was hanging off right outside the window and the rain was pouring down right next to the window, they also had a bucket downstairs because the roof was leaking. They would have liked some entertainment but there was done, even though they did have a dance floor, but that is personal choice.

would they stay there again, No not because they didn't enjoy the stay, but the rooms were too small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w_benson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am sad to hear that your lovely parents won't be visiting us again but I am pleased they enjoyed their stay. Some of our rooms are a little on the small side but then so are our prices. I have often thought of knocking them together but the downside would be that I would have to put the price up so much to cover the expense that I might loose my many regular guests who now feel so much like family to us.

Yes, the leak in the roof was a bit of a shock but it was fixed the same day, apparently the evidence pointed to the window cleaner putting his ladder through, if I had known about the guttering outside your parents bedroom window then I would have had that fixed at the same time.

The Hall was built in the 1800's so when we moved in we did redecorate to reflect that age and style, I suppose I'm just an old fashioned girl at heart who prefers Laura Ashely and Stag to IKEA.

Although we do have a stage and a dance floor we only put on entertainment at Christmas and for Weddings. The reason I stopped it was because more people complained about the entertainment than enjoyed it, however, we do have a most excellent solution. The lovely Shanklin Hotel which is just over the road puts on entertainment 5 nights a week and are really pleased to let our guests go and watch it free of charge. So anyone who likes a lively night can just pop across the road and anyone who likes to sit in the peace and gaze out to sea with a drink can stay over here.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and hopefully one day your parents might change their minds and book with us once again.

Best wishes
Jill Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at The Eastmount Hall Hotel for four days in june. The Hotel needs some tlc. But Jill, Susie and staff were fantastic..nothing was too much trouble, allways happy and smilling. Some of the rooms are compact. We stayed in the honeymoon suite (well worth the extra). Cream tea on arrival with warm scones (home made) was a lovelly touch. Meals cooked by julian were tasty, espically the grilled kipper for breakfast.We would definatly go back some times it was like scenes from Faulty Towers (we had a good laugh). Hotel was very clean and good value.

Room Tip: Honey moon suite with jacussi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our annual pilgrimage to the IOW in October is always high on our look forward to it list.. We have been for the last 4 years and the rest of my family have been going probably near to 10 years. We cannot speak high enough of Jill, Susie and the rest of the staff, always so welcoming and helpful (our daughter was 6 months old on our first visit) and they made our stay so much easier than we expected with a young child. People mention the decor, but for us it's clean and comfortable... We don't expect 5 star for the price we pay. We have always chosen half board and the choice, portion sizes and taste satisfies all of those on our party (9 of us)... So I'm just off to book for our year 5 stay...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for those lovely encouraging comments. I am so looking forward to seeing you again, especially little Tilly. It's lovely when little ones return every year and we can watch them growing up.

love
Jillx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were a family party of six and chose this hotel because it seemed to offer great value for money. We were not wrong. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice. We had the three rooms in the 'attic', the largest of which has a fantastic sea view. As some people have pointed out, the decor in some areas is a bit old fashioned, but this is not a significant concern. The breakfasts were lovely, with very fast service of cooked breakfasts even when the dining room was full. Wifi in the guests lounge was really appreciated, though our iPad couldn't log on to the wifi from the 'attic' bedrooms. The pool table and outside table tennis were very popular with our, and other guests', kids. Good sized car park (we've had issues with postage stamp-sized carparks at other Shanklin hotels in the past). Cream tea on arrival - lovely idea and very welcome. Only significant criticism from the kids was that the pool didn't appear to be heated while we were there, meaning they had 10 minute dips then had to go and have a hot shower to warm up! Good location for the seafront - only a few minute's walk down the cliff steps (fine if you are fit and healthy) but we found it slightly too far for the old Shanklin village to walk in of an evening and we ended up driving into the village each time we wanted to visit it. Overall a very nice, friendly hotel,offering outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zacmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Eastmount Hall Hotel......Staff so friendly.... Food lovely.......We were In room 9..... It was fine.....but heard the water pressure tank filling above the room from 6am.........Can't fault the staff......nothing a problem.......But......nothing happens in the lounge at night..... Maybe some background music would help....Bedding clean and comfortable......We had a lovely stay......3 night package ... Half board inc. Ferry from Southampton......Thankyou

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastmount Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastmount Hall Hotel

Property: Eastmount Hall Hotel
Address: 10 Eastmount Road, Shanklin PO37 6DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eastmount Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eastmount Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastmount Hall Shanklin
Eastmount Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing