We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Annual Visitors”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our annual pilgrimage to the IOW in October is always high on our look forward to it list.. We have been for the last 4 years and the rest of my family have been going probably near to 10 years. We cannot speak high enough of Jill, Susie and the rest of the staff, always so welcoming and helpful (our daughter was 6 months old on our first visit) and they made our stay so much easier than we expected with a young child. People mention the decor, but for us it's clean and comfortable... We don't expect 5 star for the price we pay. We have always chosen half board and the choice, portion sizes and taste satisfies all of those on our party (9 of us)... So I'm just off to book for our year 5 stay...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for those lovely encouraging comments. I am so looking forward to seeing you again, especially little Tilly. It's lovely when little ones return every year and we can watch them growing up.

love
Jillx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    56
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
86
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were a family party of six and chose this hotel because it seemed to offer great value for money. We were not wrong. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice. We had the three rooms in the 'attic', the largest of which has a fantastic sea view. As some people have pointed out, the decor in some areas is a bit old fashioned, but this is not a significant concern. The breakfasts were lovely, with very fast service of cooked breakfasts even when the dining room was full. Wifi in the guests lounge was really appreciated, though our iPad couldn't log on to the wifi from the 'attic' bedrooms. The pool table and outside table tennis were very popular with our, and other guests', kids. Good sized car park (we've had issues with postage stamp-sized carparks at other Shanklin hotels in the past). Cream tea on arrival - lovely idea and very welcome. Only significant criticism from the kids was that the pool didn't appear to be heated while we were there, meaning they had 10 minute dips then had to go and have a hot shower to warm up! Good location for the seafront - only a few minute's walk down the cliff steps (fine if you are fit and healthy) but we found it slightly too far for the old Shanklin village to walk in of an evening and we ended up driving into the village each time we wanted to visit it. Overall a very nice, friendly hotel,offering outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zacmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Eastmount Hall Hotel......Staff so friendly.... Food lovely.......We were In room 9..... It was fine.....but heard the water pressure tank filling above the room from 6am.........Can't fault the staff......nothing a problem.......But......nothing happens in the lounge at night..... Maybe some background music would help....Bedding clean and comfortable......We had a lovely stay......3 night package ... Half board inc. Ferry from Southampton......Thankyou

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Once again The Page family, Susie and all the Eastmount staff came up trumps during our April/May holiday this year. The staff, rooms and meals were, as always, excellent and Julian came up trumps satisfying requests for favourite desserts! Yet again the ever changing groups of visitors was part of the pleasure of the Eastmount, with International and more local visitors all enjoying chatting in the Dining Room or Bar. Triumph Stag or Harley Davidson enthusiasts would have been particularly happy during the time of our stay with many fine examples of both housed in the car park. Another happy holiday and we are eagerly looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexHolidaypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much, I always look forward to your visits and the laughs we have. I'm looking forward to October already.

love
Jillx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

You couldn't expect more for the money. Whilst, as others have mentioned, the decor could do with a bit of an update (possibly in progress, our room had been recently decorated)it's just cosmetics and not really important.The hotel is very clean and housekeeping done daily. You cannot fault the staff. They are genuinely friendly people, and Jill the owner can't do enough to help you. The regular clientel do seem to be middle aged to elderly, and I think the dinner menu reflects this. The food itself was ok, I supposed costs need to be kept down, and I think the sausages were one of the things that suffered. Guests who had been before did say they used to be nicer.
Close to the coastal path, and a short walk into Shanklin. A good base for a visit to the island. We would go back again, but would get a different room. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Not number 10. Above the kitchen, so gets the noise and smell if the window is open. Also, the table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank po1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We do try so hard to make everyone's holiday perfect and I really wish you had told us about your table leg. The tables do get moved around a bit and the bolts can loosen but it would have been tightened immediately had we known and your glasses replenished.

I am so glad you liked the decor in room 10 as we worked really hard on refurbishing that room, in the winter, but I am sorry that you were disturbed by any kitchen noises. At the time of your visit we had been called away unavoidably and the temporary head chef we had for those few days mustn't have been as considerate as Julian is.

We were puzzled by the comment about the sausages, we upgraded to better sausages from the butcher 3 years ago and haven't changed them since. I do want to reassure anyone that is reading that our food is something that we certainly wouldn't cheapen because of the recession.
The meat is sourced locally and fresh from the butcher and the vegetables are fresh (except the peas as Julian hasn't time to shell them) It is mostly, plain home cooking though as this pleases the majority of our guests.

I do apologize once again for the problems and we do hope that we see you again.

best wishes
Jill Page
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our Party of 4 stayed 3 nights on DBB . We overlapped with Triumph Stag Owners Club Rally.!
For the price including the Ferry Fare it was very good value. Rooms were acceptable but compact. Two of our party got a free Upgrade to Honeymoon Suite which was nice(for them!). We had to change Rooms as there was light coming in from hallway, but it was all handled easily & no stress. The staff are all very accomodating & Friendly. Pot of Tea & Scones served on arrival.
Bar Prices reasonable. Dinners nice & plentiful(you choose your courses at Breakfast)
Shanklin is Good base for seeing the Island. We were particularly taken with The Garlic Farm. Would reccomend. Not perfect but excellent Value & very Friendly Family Business. The Lobby is filled with Thankyou Cards from Happy Guests, so there you go.

Room Tip: If you are particular about a Dark Room, then check if it has Small Window above door, as you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peewee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I loved our 3 night stay. We had a dinner and breakfast package and the food was wonderful. The staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered. It really is a family operation and they make you feel like family. Our room had a view of the water and we could hear the gulls. It is a quick walk to the beach. We were the first American guests but I am sure we won't be the last. This was a great value and there is lots to do on the Wonderful Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loriann57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We really enjoyed having our first American guests here and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. If you ever come over here again do come back we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastmount Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastmount Hall Hotel

Property: Eastmount Hall Hotel
Address: 10 Eastmount Road, Shanklin PO37 6DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eastmount Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eastmount Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastmount Hall Shanklin
Eastmount Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing