We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

You couldn't expect more for the money. Whilst, as others have mentioned, the decor could do with a bit of an update (possibly in progress, our room had been recently decorated)it's just cosmetics and not really important.The hotel is very clean and housekeeping done daily. You cannot fault the staff. They are genuinely friendly people, and Jill the owner can't do enough to help you. The regular clientel do seem to be middle aged to elderly, and I think the dinner menu reflects this. The food itself was ok, I supposed costs need to be kept down, and I think the sausages were one of the things that suffered. Guests who had been before did say they used to be nicer.
Close to the coastal path, and a short walk into Shanklin. A good base for a visit to the island. We would go back again, but would get a different room. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Not number 10. Above the kitchen, so gets the noise and smell if the window is open. Also, the table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank po1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.

We do try so hard to make everyone's holiday perfect and I really wish you had told us about your table leg. The tables do get moved around a bit and the bolts can loosen but it would have been tightened immediately had we known and your glasses replenished.

I am so glad you liked the decor in room 10 as we worked really hard on refurbishing that room, in the winter, but I am sorry that you were disturbed by any kitchen noises. At the time of your visit we had been called away unavoidably and the temporary head chef we had for those few days mustn't have been as considerate as Julian is.

We were puzzled by the comment about the sausages, we upgraded to better sausages from the butcher 3 years ago and haven't changed them since. I do want to reassure anyone that is reading that our food is something that we certainly wouldn't cheapen because of the recession.
The meat is sourced locally and fresh from the butcher and the vegetables are fresh (except the peas as Julian hasn't time to shell them) It is mostly, plain home cooking though as this pleases the majority of our guests.

I do apologize once again for the problems and we do hope that we see you again.

best wishes
Jill Page
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 241 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our Party of 4 stayed 3 nights on DBB . We overlapped with Triumph Stag Owners Club Rally.!
For the price including the Ferry Fare it was very good value. Rooms were acceptable but compact. Two of our party got a free Upgrade to Honeymoon Suite which was nice(for them!). We had to change Rooms as there was light coming in from hallway, but it was all handled easily & no stress. The staff are all very accomodating & Friendly. Pot of Tea & Scones served on arrival.
Bar Prices reasonable. Dinners nice & plentiful(you choose your courses at Breakfast)
Shanklin is Good base for seeing the Island. We were particularly taken with The Garlic Farm. Would reccomend. Not perfect but excellent Value & very Friendly Family Business. The Lobby is filled with Thankyou Cards from Happy Guests, so there you go.

Room Tip: If you are particular about a Dark Room, then check if it has Small Window above door, as you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peewee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I loved our 3 night stay. We had a dinner and breakfast package and the food was wonderful. The staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered. It really is a family operation and they make you feel like family. Our room had a view of the water and we could hear the gulls. It is a quick walk to the beach. We were the first American guests but I am sure we won't be the last. This was a great value and there is lots to do on the Wonderful Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loriann57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian P, Owner at Eastmount Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We really enjoyed having our first American guests here and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. If you ever come over here again do come back we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We certainly made the right decision when booking this hotel for Christmas. All the staff were very friendly and what a lovely bubbly person Jill is from greeting us with Susie when we arrived (and insisting on carrying the cases) to saying goodbye when we left. We booked 2 rooms which were lovely my girls had a bright airy room with a sea view. Plenty of food and fussy eaters catered for. Little touches around the hotel made it feel Christmassy, Christmas music playing when we arrived and coffee, mince pies and chocolates on offer every day.
We meet some lovely people (Thanks Jackie and Jean for letting Geoff win the card game.)
We hope to visit again

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank geoff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent Christmas away from home for the first time and was not sure what to expect , Lovely warm welcome when we arrived from Jill who even personally greeted each child knowing their names (3 boys aged 16,10,1) , rooms were basic but clean with gifts for everyone , meals were nice & anything changed or needed no problem , father Christmas on the day with personal gifts for everyone young & old , we all enjoyed the challenge of the treasure hunt round the island(which we lost ) . 5 mins walk down to the beach steep but in the summer the lifts open ,All in a lovely break friendly staff & other guests even if ours were the only little kids there , will visit again xx

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Couldn't do enough to make our wedding day special. Jill is a real character we were proud for her to be our witness . We're going back for our 1st anniversary oh yes! Coudn't wish for better staff sophie and susie are stars especially . We love u all lisa and drew

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Thank you to Jill, Julian, Susie, Jamie and all the staff at Eastmount Hall for yet another great, relaxing and enjoyable stay. From the warm welcome on our arrival to the regret of leaving, our family group of 8 including our grand-daughters had another entertaining and well fed time (Thanks Susie for the carrot and cucumber) when we visited for the October half-term week. The never ending variation of singles, couples and family groups of new and returning visitors always ensures a friendly and varied mix of conversation and laughs amongst the guests at all times. This is encouraged by both Jill and Susie who, however busy, will always make the time to stop and have a chat and a laugh with you. For comfort , care and good standards we are always confident in returning to 'Jills' and we are looking forward to our visits already booked for 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexHolidaypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#14 of 51 in Shanklin
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastmount Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastmount Hall Hotel

Address: 10 Eastmount Road, Shanklin PO37 6DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $89 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eastmount Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Eastmount Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastmount Hall Shanklin
Eastmount Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing