We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still very good”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed here and the staff are still very friendly and helpful. Last time we stayed the food was excellent, this time although very good, not quite as good as before, nevertheless very good value. Our bed could have done with a new mattress but was acceptable. We will definately stay here again

Room Tip: We have used three rooms so far and all are acceptable. The hotel is not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gangad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
48
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
norfolk england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had never been to the island and so used this hotel as a base, while it is not a 5* place to stay it is very nice, the room we had was a bit 80's but everything in it was new, the shower was a bit small but your not in there long. you can make yourself a cuppa and watch telly if you want to, we had three nights in Sept and did most of the island in that time.
The food was good and staff very nice (if a little underdressed ) however i did ask if it was poss for us to have a dark room as i am a light sleeper and we were given one with Three big bay windows ! with cream curtins. who needs sleep anyway..........................

Room Tip: 10 and 11 are over the telly room so not much noise after 11ish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I paid £80 thru Booking.com for one night b & b. Check in procedure was non existent. Couldn't find the room keys and just "oh last guest has gone off with them " nice for me and my daughter knowing they are so security conscious, Room was at the back on ground floor at the end of corridor, reminded of a on old hospital wing! Overlooking a car park with broken mirrors and old beds etc dumped there. Room was small, dark and chilly. Bathroom was very old and dirty, only had a shower, we did not use it.. Couldn't even have a cuppa as the kettle was so dirty on the outside and the inside was full of lime scale. Couldn't eat breakfast as the poached eggs tasted so very strongly of vinegar. Complained on checkout about the kettle etc, only to be asked if i wanted them to take my £80 payment from the card I had supplied at the time of booking ! ! Could have stayed in Travel lodge for less money and at least would have clean, useable facilities. Would definitely give this place a wide berth !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleecarter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Coming to the Isle Of Wight for our anniversary, we were looking for somewhere nice but not too pricey for a single nights stay.
After finding a very last minute deal online we decided to go for Somerton Lodge, and we were absolutely thrilled!
The standard of customer service was impeccable. They had it down to a T; friendly, helpful and approachable, yet not too invasive and gave you your own space.
The decor in all of the common rooms was stunning for the price we payed, and our room was absolutely perfect. Everything was spotless, and we even had our own little lounge area with large flatscreen TV.

The beds were comfortable, the ensuite was sparkling, and the breakfast in the morning even boasted a vegetarian option for me... which definitely was a winner.

The only downside was that the morning was a tad noisey. The people next door could be heard in their bathroom having a shower and such, which we didn't find a problem as were up and about early to explore the island, but others may not like so much.

All in all, we will definitely be staying again and would recommend to anyone.
Thank you Somerton Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room rather than a back facing room which may look over the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Booked because of the look of this hotel and some of the other reviews. Do ask where you will be staying as the rooms at the rear are reminiscent of a cell looking on to the car park. The owners couldn't have been nicer and breakfast was good. It boasted a dining room but no meals were being served other than breakfast - not what I would have expected when I booked. It was for a Ruby Wedding anniversary and this just sent me off the Island as fast as I could go after one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed at the somerton lodge hotel through work. I have never felt more welcome at a hotel before. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast in the morning is lovely. I had a full English it was just right. The rooms are clean. The lounge bar area is very pleasant to enjoy a drink. Also have free Internet and freeview boxes in the room. Overal this hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomGrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the island as it was near where we were working.
If you want a hotel that is quiet first thing in the morning or.even at evening time.
If you want a hotel that is basic and you want to hear everyone else use the loo at all hours.
And the shower then it is what it says on the tin.
The breakfeast is average as far as cooked breakfeast goes.
The staff are very friendly and helpfull.
The hotel could do with a full refurb and soundproofing walls.
We would not stay again .
But it's not the worst place we have stayed at.
All in all a basic hotel with basic food and basic accommodation.

Room Tip: Mabey one on ground floor it might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaz381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton Lodge Hotel

Property: Somerton Lodge Hotel
Address: 43 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Somerton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerton Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing