We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly a five star review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nearly a five star review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in room number 11. The room was huge, but strangely sparse (the only chair was a fold away wooden one) and there was'nt really anywhere to put your toiletries in the bathroom which had a very flimsy and cheap loo seat (not good for a vegetarian diet) Other than this (which are petty niggles anyway) our stay was lovely, very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful meal, real ale and a good night's sleep. Feel mean not giving them 5 stars, but feel it just needs a bit more attention.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie_potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    79
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
31
84
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fauldhouse, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

OUR first time there but wont be our last .ROOM 10 was huge,bay window couch ,you could see part of the sea from our view ,lovely soft white towels and welcome toiletries.HOTEL was clean warm and the staff were all very nice nothing was to much to ask, THE meals were grate,all round one of the best hotels we have stayed in WELL DONE TO ALL THE STAFF .

Room Tip: ROOM 10 at front of hotel grate if it got to hot you just open the large bay window and its a QUEEN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRYBOURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here along with other family members. We were in room 10, it was huge. Good size family room, nice bay window with a partial sea view. Plenty towels and toiletries provided. Nice friendly staff. Breakfast is table service and the food was very nice. We had lunch on the day we arrived too, everyone enjoyed their food. The bar area is comfy with large cushions. Room 25 is also a lovely bay windowed room. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 27Tracy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east lothian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

was hoping for a nice family meal, ended up with us all fed up waiting for our food as the kitchen was understaffed, took about 30 mins for the started to come, had no butter with the bread, soup was lovely though, waited a further 20 mins for our main, which was okish but looked like it had been reheated

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jambosarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Working in Dunbar so I was booked here by my company. On arrival and throughout my 3 night stay the staff were impeccable. Rooms were spacious and clean with all Tea and coffee making facilities. 2 bars 1 with Sky sports guys were reasonably priced and a friendly atmosphere. Food was ok. All in all was pleasant stay, pity they are booked up for next week otherwise I would be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ste w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I were given one of those internet deals from my daughter for a meal at this hotel. Not having been in Dunbar for years, we travelled through from Edinburgh for the day without any preconceived expectations.

What a pleasant surprise! The welcome at the front desk was terrific and the food was great! Typical pub menu with one or two unusual dishes, but even so, the presentation was first-class. Wine was competitively priced as well. A lovely experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len_Angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Thanks to Cliff and his staff for a friendly welcome. We enjoyed our meal very much, food and service excellent! We dine here often and would recommend this well run establishment.
Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
9.6 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
13.6 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
8.9 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mackintosh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mackintosh Hotel

Property: Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Address: Station Road, Dunbar EH42 1JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Mackintosh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Mackintosh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mackintosh Hotel Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing