We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunbar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Dunbar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went for meal on sunday after family event but have eaten threre several times .Each time the service is first class and the food excellent .The portions served are huge and struggle to finish the staff are very good and you do not wait long for your meal .The price for meals are excellent and not overcharged all in all a great place to eat and have a drink with nothing to much bother for the staff

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 130 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night, the room was very nice, modern & clean. The bed was extremely comfy and the view from the room was fantastic. The breakfast was tasty, the staff very friendly and overall we had a good stay. I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank NJF07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

me and the wife stayed here on our overnight journey to the highlands.
staff freindly,but wasnt showed to our rooms,just given the key and off you go.

room clean and spacious..nice...view of the sea was great too.

breakfast was excellent.

overall a good hotel,staff were freindly and the food great.
would i stop again...yes.

Room Tip: choose the sea views,on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bumblefalconer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

great hotel, had a nice stay, smashing room, comfy bed, a must for oap's, the hotel people so helpful and pleasant, stayed here before, and will be back again, were in room number 1, perfect for us with great sea- view.
good selection of food available, lots of choices in the bar or restaurant all local products, added attraction was the music festival, which gave it a real party atmosphere, and not forgetting Tom and the girls on hand for tips or info.

Room Tip: room number 1, large, sunny, sea-view spot-on, wi-fi connects easily. great bed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim41_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As two adults we stayed overnight on August 31/8/2013 - 1/9/2013 on arrival we were met by I believe was the owner of the hotel he was very pleasant as he showed us our room that was very nice room number 21 with a view that you could just see the shoreline the room was booked for two adults the room had a double bed but also a single bed their was plenty of room to move the toilet and. Shower was spotlessly clean as was the room the food in the restaurant was just beautiful we had as a main course rib eye steak that melted in the mouth complements to the chef the breakfast was also very nice the only thing I would upgrade a bit would be the bar but overall we had a very nice time at this hotel. Thanks to the owners and staff

Stevie and joanne

East kilbride

Glasgow

Room Tip: Room 21 at the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevielucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked into the cheapest hotel in town for single occupancy so I was expecting something less. Was super surprised when I walked into Room 5 - it was clean and cosy (fluffy bed!), bathroom was newly renovated with rain shower head (perfect for after a whole day of surfing), and best of all, sea view (I mean, a real sea view, not one that require you to squint your eyes or stand in the right angle in order to see the sea). A really easy going atmosphere, thanks to Thomas and also the girls who were working over their holidays there. Breakfast was hearty and food in the bar/restaurant was excellent. I ended up staying an extra night and would love to come back to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjxuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with lovely friendly staff. Stayed here for one night and found the place very clean with a nice room.

Breakfast was lovely and the bar although a little small was inviting and not too dear.

I would recommend to anyone.

Only issue I have is there was only one iron for the whole place so had to go to work with a creased shirt, as the iron was in another guests room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bars106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunbar hotels
0 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Marten Lodge
Pine Marten Lodge
#3 of 6 in Dunbar
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
3.4 mi away
Thurston Manor
Thurston Manor
#4 of 6 in Dunbar
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belhaven Bay Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant

Address: Queen's Road, Dunbar EH42 1LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dunbar
Price Range: $55 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dunbar, the Hillside sits in a picturesque location just two minutes walk from the centre of this popular East Lothian coastal town. Looking out to the Firth of Forth, the hotel offers fantastic sea views from fully en-suite accommodation. The hotel also features a bar and restaurant so whether it has been a hard days work or a busy day shopping and taking in the sights of East Lothian why not spend some time relaxing, enjoying a single malt (or two) and some delicious, locally sourced, freshly prepared food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Bar And Restaurant Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing