We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy Restaurant”

Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunbar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Dunbar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Co'Path
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Busy Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stopped off for a meal at the Hillside one Saturday evening and found it to be very busy. Can't comment on the hotel accommodation but the restaurant and quality of food was of a good standard - best described as traditional Brit food. Would suggest booking at weekends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaggyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    39
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
32
35
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Think hamishami was off his head we have stopped in the hillside 2 years running and it,s been very good. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and I have to say the food is very good. Well cooked and tasty. The rooms are lovely and clean. The staff very friendly and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for about 5 weeks. Friendly staff and clean rooms. The breakfast was good as were the evening meals.
Will stay again if I'm ever back that way.

Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0w1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east lothian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is my 8th time at the hillside for a meal, Beautiful as ever, friendly and attentive staff who cater to your every need, meal was freshly cooked and delicious! will defo be back again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jambosarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Negatives:
Returned to the hotel to find all by bags had been removed from my room and transferred into another room by the hotel manager, and also left some of my stuff in the room (shampoo + soap ect..) which i was never returned to me.
Management did not introduce himself and was not very polite.

Positives:
Clean, warm, pleasant staff and well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Owners and staff very friendly, rooms clean,excellent shower and a good breakfast.Could do with further work on decoration, rooms are minimalist and the hotel does lack a loving touch .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les080253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The place is clean apart from the bar that really is a dump
The rooms are ok but bare and basic badly able to make a thimble of tea oh and the beds are terrible.
The food is good but takes forever to arrive the service seems to be set out wrong too
No car park
To be honest it's not a hotel it's more of a quick stop over this should be reflected in the Price we thought it was a bit pricey if they up the game they could ask for that kind of money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunbar
0.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
12.2 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
8.9 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant

Property: Hillside Hotel Bar and Restaurant
Address: Queen's Road, Dunbar EH421LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Dunbar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dunbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dunbar, the Hillside sits in a picturesque location just two minutes walk from the centre of this popular East Lothian coastal town. Looking out to the Firth of Forth, the hotel offers fantastic sea views from fully en-suite accommodation. The hotel also features a bar and restaurant so whether it has been a hard days work or a busy day shopping and taking in the sights of East Lothian why not spend some time relaxing, enjoying a single malt (or two) and some delicious, locally sourced, freshly prepared food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Bar And Restaurant Dunbar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing