We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rocks
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Folly(North Berwick)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Nether Abbey Hotel(North Berwick)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Open Arms Hotel(Dirleton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
222
60
24
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
60
24
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusselsbread and butteraccordion playersizzling piggreat food and servicesea basslocal producemain courseate herejacuzzi bathfirst class servicelambthe cliffhaggissticky toffee puddingpleasant stayeast lothian
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 323 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding just one night, great location, very clean and staff great nothing is too much trouble. Very comfortable bed and great shower. Right on the sea front with fantstice views. Only thing I would change would be a later breakfast at the weekends, 9.,30 is too early for us on a Saturda/Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley_tickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had dinner with freinds at the Rocks during a weekend vist from Bristol. The menu was so good, we want to go back and try some more! The starter of pork belly with scallops was to die for, as were the mussels and the main of sizzling pig was even better. All the staff were really friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until we left, even arranging for a song to be played for us. Defintily recommended, just wish it was closer to home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsm1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on a visit to the Bass Rock - the trip was cancelled at the last minute, but it didn't ruin the break; dinner at the Rocks just about made up for it. Stayed in room 4, which had a balcony and very fancy sunken bath. The staff were very friendly and offered to make us up a packed breakfast when we thought we'd have leave at 6:30 for the trip to the Bass. As a hotel it was excellent value and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant made it superb - local fish and seafood were great. The restaurant was obviously very popular with people from the area, so make sure you book - the staff were kind enough to hold onto a window table for us. Breakfast was just as good - porridge came with a small Drambuie, the kind of start to the day that really signals you're on holiday.

Room Tip: Room 4 has balcony with sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, the hotel is small and really I would describe it more of a Bed and Breakfast/Guest House. The room that we stayed in was sold to us as a double but really I feel that the size of the room should have been presented as a single occupancy, yes, there was a double bed in there (though the smallest double bed I have ever seen - only slightly wider than a single) we had to walk sidewise to get around the bed. The kettle was broken and did not click-off when boiled, I feel that this was a hazard. During our three night stay our rooms were only serviced once. The food and menu looked great and I would say that this is the main selling point of the hotel with accommodation being an afterthought, we had breakfast which was lovely, however, we could not afford the prices of the evening menu - higher than many of the London based restaurants that I have eaten in, so we made our way down the road to "The Volunteers" pub, where the food was all home cooked, delicious and half the price!

Room Tip: Room 4 or 6 have beautiful sea views and are of a larger size, I would not stay in room 2 again.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Spent 1 night with my wife at the Rocks.
Very nice room with a great view overlooking the north sea.
Good service and a nice clean room.
Would recommended this small hotel to others.

Tomas and Catharina from Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomakarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews