We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly”

The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Haddington B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here with a mate whilst visiting local attractions ( motor and air museum).
Not the type of place I would stay for a romantic weekend with my high maintenance wife but for somewhere to just put your head down it was ideal.
My double room was large, clean and well appointed with bath and shower, lots of chairs, tea coffee and TV.. It had everything that you would expect from a more expensive and exclusive hotel.
The owners and staff were very friendly, ( Not many hotel staff in the North of England even bother to speak to you.)
Breakfast good and filling.
On the downside drinks in the bar were very expensive hence it was empty. At £3.80 a pint we decided to go next door to "The plough" where prices were more reasonable.
Entrance to the rooms was via a seperate door and both the outside door and room locks seemed a bit flimsy. We took our valuables with us.
No parking facilities but plenty of car parks nearby.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on front suffer from traffic noise. Also local town clock sounds at 10pm and 7 am with over 10...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 56 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice modern rooms, lovely place , top breakfast, lovely home made food in the evening, people are incredibly freindly. Top Indian, never tried the chinese bu that was meant to be good. the place is full of history well worth a visit, bridge supposedly,oldest bridge in europe or nearly oldest. The church has still got pock marks from musket and cannon shot, when the english held the town and they were surrounded by scots and french. I wont tell you what happened and spoil it for you. Try the Tyneside pub (pity about the name), the ale there is fabulous try their guest stuff. Will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a very pleasant Sunday lunch. Generous portions. I had a pot of mussells and my partner had a very tasty black pudding scotch egg.
Great Carvery main courses. Some very nice wines.
We did not stay in the hotel we just had the lunch.
We will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cirenec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Very comfy bed in a large clean room, (tiny teacups though!), breakfast top notch (Smoked Haddock, my favourite!) Bar serves some good real ale. Altogether a grand stopover spot in East Lothian. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at the Victoria Inn on 17 September. The room was well furnished and the en suite bathroom spacious and well supplied.

The breakfast was first class. I was impressed at how the hotel ensure that you know that they are using local produce.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. I was waiting to be picked up and they insisted I have a coffee and home made shortbread. Nice gesture and much appreciated.

The Inn is situated in the centre of Haddington and very convenient if you are using public transport to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinemac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Couldn't get anywhere else so not expecting the best of experiences. However our double room was fine (clean and well appointed). The staff were friendly and the restaurant good value (the light bites were tasty and plenty big enough). The layout (rooms round the corner with seperate door was a little unusual and the stairs may not suit everyone and being a Saturday night there was some noise from outside. Anyway, good value and we have already booked a return visit!

Room Tip: ask for a lower room if the stairs worry you.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We use this place whenever we have a meet up with school friends, so we know it well. It is very conveniently right in the middle of town. Only draw back is the long flight of stairs to get to the rooms, but, that is no bother if you are able. Also, the door to the rooms is away from the Inn, being round the corner, hence freer for coming and going. Eating in The Avenue restaurant is recommended. The food is wonderful! We find the Victoria Inn really convenient, and know we will use it again. The owners and staff are friendly, and it just has a lovely way about it for guests.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2.. away from other rooms...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jazzibing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
0.2 mi away
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Maitlandfield House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haddington
246 reviews
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,296 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Golf Tavern
The Golf Tavern
#4 of 8 in Haddington
19 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn

Address: 9 Court Street, Haddington EH41 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haddington
Price Range: $74 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avenue Restaurant At The Victoria Inn Haddington, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing