We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller than a tent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tiny room - our bed was pushed against the wall at one side (so I couldn't have a glass of water next to me at night) and there was only about a foot of space between the other side of the bed and the wall! The bathroom was ridiculously small - you couldn't get dried in there after your shower and the towels were left placed on top of the cistern which I find really distasteful.
Food at breakfast was nice but the orange juice had been watered down.
This hotel is very tired looking. I've stayed in far nicer hotels for a fraction of the price.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 123Lotusflower123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that you were not totally happy with your stay with us. We do have various standards and sizes of bedroom and the price reflects the room size and style. We do hope that in the future you bring your concerns to the attention of staff so they have the opportunity to rectify the problem before you depart. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 247 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Make sure that you get a room in the old main hotel, should you decide to use this hotel. We had friends in this part and it was ok, we were in the 'new' and very poor quality, toilet could have been cleaner and in need of an upgrade, very very small room, should have been a single or a broom cupboard and this is not an exageration and not a double, yet the price the same.

Not good value for money there is better in the area, they need to spend money on this hotel as someone who uses Hotels regularly I would describe it as a 'workers' hotel if it was cheaper, not a good enough standard for the monies charged.Would not recommend going to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry you very disappointed with your stay. We have several different standards of bedroom at the hotel. I am also a little disappointed that you did not raise your concerns while you were with us and we would have had the chance to remedy your concerns. Thank you once again for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have today returned from a 2 night stay at the Maitlandfield House hotel. We had read many reviews re this venue prior to our visit and were a little wary. However, we stayed in the 'Garden Room' on the ground floor. This is a superior room and is large and comfortable with an en-suite with bath and Mira Shower over bath. Water hot 24/7 and pressure excellent. Two adjoining single beds which were clean and comfortable. We were charged £99 for the 2 day bed and breakfast. With this is mind, the fact that the room was a little tired, skirting very dusty with some cobwebs, on the ceiling and particularly around the window, cannot be complained about. These are such small things which could be remedied with a good 'spring clean' of about 30 minute maximum. The staff that we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a standard 'English' buffet style. However our request, on our second day, for porridge and boiled eggs instead, was delivered without hesitation. We would most certainly stay in this hotel, particularly in the 'Garden Room'. Haddington itself. is a very attractive little town and the locals could not have been more friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71Nickmar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted that you had such a great stay. I am also glad you enjoyed the garden room, my pictures did not do it justice! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed only the one night as we managed to get a reasonable deal on a room. As per previous reviews the bedrooms are 'tired' and badly in need of a lick of paint. Ours was not particularly clean - having not been dusted particularly well and with the odd cobweb. A little effort and the rooms would have been just fine and the rating higher. The walls do seem to be a bit thin though and noises from adjacent bathrooms tend to travel. The staff were fine. The lounge areas were comfortable. The food was also good. Not much wrong with the place but I'm glad we got a deal on the price as the usual rate seems a bit steep for the standard of rooms on offer.

Room Tip: make sure you don't pay full rate for the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all reviews and comments seriously and on board. Thank you for your comments and we will act on them. I do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Maitlandfield whilst visiting Edinburgh and East Lothian for a short break.

The hotel is in the village/small town of Haddington, which offers 4 or 5 nice pubs, a small selection of local shops and some interesting architecture amongst the buildings.

We used the hotel as a base to explore Edinburgh (about 15 miles away) and the East Lothian coastline. It is certainly convenient for those purposes. We drove into Newcraighall (about 10 mins west down the A1) and left the car at the park and ride (50p for all day) and caught the 10 mins train (£3.60 return each) into Edinburgh. Definitely to be recommended as parking is not easy (and expensive) in the city.

The hotel itself was a mixed affair. The communal areas downstairs - the bar, lounge with its large open fire, restaurant and small reception are welcoming and comfortable. The bedrooms are small, somewhat tired and dated and in need of an upgrade (we stayed in a Classic double room). Having said that, they are clean, presentable and comfortable for a short stay, although the shower in our room was boiling hot one second and like an ice storm the next!

We had a noisy neighbour who decided at 11pm one evening to run a bath and proceed to chat with her partner who was presumably in the bedroom. They may as well have been in our bedroom, as we could hear every word spoken and every splash made! It actually woke us up it was that noisy. Its not the hotels fault so no complaint was made but beware the thin walls!

The evening meal was acceptable, if from a rather small menu and the breakfasts were nice - the usual affair of fruit juice, tea/coffee, fruit, cereal and a hot buffet option.

The best feature of the hotel are the staff. Everyone of them could not do enough for you. Friendly, courteous, hospitable, helpful, polite. They are a credit to the owners.

Outside, there is plenty of parking in the hotel grounds and the outdoor seating looked very inviting on a warmer day!

Room Tip: Some rooms (ours was number 15) overlook the pitched roof conservatory and blocks out all views at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the review you posted. We are delighted to receive all reviews especially ones which praise our excellent staff and service. We take all comments seriously and look into how to improve both the hotel and our service. I am delighted you had a nice break and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

On a business trip to Scotland, I happened to end my appointments for the day in the East Lothian region, rather late at night. I had no hotel pre-booked, so had to look for something at hand within a fairly tight budget. Nothing to be had near the seaside, so I turned for Haddington and happened onto the Maitlandfield House Hotel.
Even though I arrived very late and they had a function going - a regular Dinner Dance, with many people staying overnight - they were still able to squeeze me into a small room with ensuite. Cosy, everything functional, a well-stocked and lovingly prepared tea-tray. As I was travelling with little luggage, the size of the room did not really matter.
Despite the lateness of the evening, reception staff managed to get me a nice dinner and a seat at the Dinner Dance - truly a memorable evening.
The night, however, was cold. The room only had single glazing and an old-fashioned sash window that would not fully close, and it snowed during the night (end of March!!). The duvet was warm and cosy though, and I managed to survive until breakfast.
Breakfast was a dream. Every possible wish catered for, superbly cooked and served, in a nicely old-world lounge with a wonderful fireplace.
And my next surprise came at check-out: When I informed reception staff about the open window in my room, they refunded the full room rate and would not even take a penny for the breakfast, saying they would rather have me here again than have me pay now and never come a second time.
I admire that sort of customer service, and will certainly come again.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room in the main building... the rooms over the restaurant tend to be smallish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barliman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you very much to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate anyone taking the time to comment. Thank you both for your kind and constructive comments. We take all suggestions seriously. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel whilst on a short business break in East Lothian and found this hotel to be just great. The rooms are perfectly adequate with en suite, tv, tea / coffee making facitities. Free Wi Fi is available in the lounge. The restaurant is very well appointed and serves superb food for both breafast and evening meals. Like any old country hotel there are minor niggles, such as squeeky floor boards etc but this should not detract from your stay. I cannot finish this review without mentioning the staff, who are extremely friendly and attentive without being over powering, and it is them who make the hotel such a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that we are getting it right. Our wonderful team are often mentioned and this makes all our hard work really worth while. I do hope that we see you again in the future be it business again or perhaps pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,320 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
362 reviews
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
10.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
308 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range: $116 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing