We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent attentive staff, tired bedrooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maitlandfield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
676 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Excellent attentive staff, tired bedrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Maitlandfield whilst visiting Edinburgh and East Lothian for a short break.

The hotel is in the village/small town of Haddington, which offers 4 or 5 nice pubs, a small selection of local shops and some interesting architecture amongst the buildings.

We used the hotel as a base to explore Edinburgh (about 15 miles away) and the East Lothian coastline. It is certainly convenient for those purposes. We drove into Newcraighall (about 10 mins west down the A1) and left the car at the park and ride (50p for all day) and caught the 10 mins train (£3.60 return each) into Edinburgh. Definitely to be recommended as parking is not easy (and expensive) in the city.

The hotel itself was a mixed affair. The communal areas downstairs - the bar, lounge with its large open fire, restaurant and small reception are welcoming and comfortable. The bedrooms are small, somewhat tired and dated and in need of an upgrade (we stayed in a Classic double room). Having said that, they are clean, presentable and comfortable for a short stay, although the shower in our room was boiling hot one second and like an ice storm the next!

We had a noisy neighbour who decided at 11pm one evening to run a bath and proceed to chat with her partner who was presumably in the bedroom. They may as well have been in our bedroom, as we could hear every word spoken and every splash made! It actually woke us up it was that noisy. Its not the hotels fault so no complaint was made but beware the thin walls!

The evening meal was acceptable, if from a rather small menu and the breakfasts were nice - the usual affair of fruit juice, tea/coffee, fruit, cereal and a hot buffet option.

The best feature of the hotel are the staff. Everyone of them could not do enough for you. Friendly, courteous, hospitable, helpful, polite. They are a credit to the owners.

Outside, there is plenty of parking in the hotel grounds and the outdoor seating looked very inviting on a warmer day!

Room Tip: Some rooms (ours was number 15) overlook the pitched roof conservatory and blocks out all views at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the review you posted. We are delighted to receive all reviews especially ones which praise our excellent staff and service. We take all comments seriously and look into how to improve both the hotel and our service. I am delighted you had a nice break and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    43
    33
    19
See reviews for
37
86
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

On a business trip to Scotland, I happened to end my appointments for the day in the East Lothian region, rather late at night. I had no hotel pre-booked, so had to look for something at hand within a fairly tight budget. Nothing to be had near the seaside, so I turned for Haddington and happened onto the Maitlandfield House Hotel.
Even though I arrived very late and they had a function going - a regular Dinner Dance, with many people staying overnight - they were still able to squeeze me into a small room with ensuite. Cosy, everything functional, a well-stocked and lovingly prepared tea-tray. As I was travelling with little luggage, the size of the room did not really matter.
Despite the lateness of the evening, reception staff managed to get me a nice dinner and a seat at the Dinner Dance - truly a memorable evening.
The night, however, was cold. The room only had single glazing and an old-fashioned sash window that would not fully close, and it snowed during the night (end of March!!). The duvet was warm and cosy though, and I managed to survive until breakfast.
Breakfast was a dream. Every possible wish catered for, superbly cooked and served, in a nicely old-world lounge with a wonderful fireplace.
And my next surprise came at check-out: When I informed reception staff about the open window in my room, they refunded the full room rate and would not even take a penny for the breakfast, saying they would rather have me here again than have me pay now and never come a second time.
I admire that sort of customer service, and will certainly come again.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room in the main building... the rooms over the restaurant tend to be smallish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barliman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate anyone taking the time to comment. Thank you both for your kind and constructive comments. We take all suggestions seriously. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel whilst on a short business break in East Lothian and found this hotel to be just great. The rooms are perfectly adequate with en suite, tv, tea / coffee making facitities. Free Wi Fi is available in the lounge. The restaurant is very well appointed and serves superb food for both breafast and evening meals. Like any old country hotel there are minor niggles, such as squeeky floor boards etc but this should not detract from your stay. I cannot finish this review without mentioning the staff, who are extremely friendly and attentive without being over powering, and it is them who make the hotel such a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that we are getting it right. Our wonderful team are often mentioned and this makes all our hard work really worth while. I do hope that we see you again in the future be it business again or perhaps pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here after traveling from Stirling going south. We have stayed here before. The hotel is in a very romantic location of this historic town. We stayed in a classic room with a shower room. The room was very clean, the furnisher was new with clean lines and the linen was crisp and clean. The Brasserie food was excellent and I loved the Beef Espetada skewer, Portuguese dish. Breakfast was a buffet and was hot and fresh. Staff were amazing. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. What excellent news that you had such a lovely stay with us. We always strive to meet all of our guests needs and it is fantastic that we seem to be doing just that. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a hen weekend here this weekend and it could not have been better!! The staff were lovely, rooms spacious and the chocolate making workshop and murder mystery dinner extremely entertaining. The food was lovely and for the price you are getting a bargin. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenCraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are all so pleased that you chose this hotel for such a special occasion and that we didn't let you down. I very much hope that we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Staff very friendly and hard working. The hotel is old fashioned and badly needing a total refurb. The house keeping is very bad lots of cobwebs.
Nice and warm in rooms though. Nice touches in bedroom with shortbread and hot chocolate sachets . The food is good but need to offer more in way of specials and more choices. Though it was very cold in restuarant as to open . Not very cosy for romantic meal.

Parking is great nice and private. The fire was a nice feature when lit but the furnishings are very dirty and dated would have been better if more modern .

Overall opinion fantastic Staff could not do enough for guests and are the making of the hotel. It would do better if refurbished it would be more special.

Don't know if I or my husband would visit again in it's present state.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments on the staff are very kind and I agree we have a lovely team. I have taken on bored your comments about a refurb. We need to be very careful as this is an historic building and we would hate to lose it's character. I will however make no excuse for the cobwebs. Please accept my apologies. I do hope that we do see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was a lovely hotel in a good location. Our room was spacious and bathroom lovely, and the people who worked there couldn't have been nicer. Reception, bar and restaurant - everyone we came into contact with was lovely and made sure we had a great stay. Ate in the restaurant one night and the food was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. What lovely comments you made. We are a very happy team of staff and I am pleased that this shows to our customers. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us including the food in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
10.6 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Property: Maitlandfield House Hotel
Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing