We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic new year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic new year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic new year break . Loved the hotel, the new year dinner was fantastic, the local roast beef was so soft it just melted on the mouth. The band and the piper were excellent. Will recommend anyone to book for next year. I will be booking to returned next year.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pechoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our Hogmanay Ball so much. We are very lucky to have such a wealth of excellent local produce and fantastic chefs to make the most of them.
We all very much hope to see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    43
    34
    19
See reviews for
37
87
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. This hotel is huge and very grand. Our room was lovely and very clean. the staff were very nice. The little town of Haddington is beautiful and the people are very friendly and welcoming. Would return here again

Room Tip: Take a walk around the little town and browse the gift shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
How lovely you took the time to write a review about our hotel. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our historical town. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maitlandfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a small hotel set in an old house which make it quirky and adds to the atmosphere, I arrived on a cold winters night, there was a real fire in the lounge and my room was equally warm, which was a good start to my stay.

This extended to the staff who were all very pleasant and attentive.

I was in room18 and whilst clean and well presented, it was compact as a double but you only sleep in the room.

One nice feature, whilst I booked via a booking web site they reduced my bill as they price match their own site. This was a double bonus as I thought the original price was good value

Room Tip: Book via their own web site direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirusview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff so much. Your tip on getting the best rate from our own web site is a great one and this will always be the case with the hotel. I hope you come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I visited the brasserie for the first time a couple of days ago and had a lovely time. Every member of staff that we met was efficient and friendly without being obtrusive. A comfortable atmosphere in the brassierie even though we had visited on a very quiet early week evening. The menu is not extensive but focusses on local ingredients and has a number of choices that could suit everyone (including the steak lovers and vegetarians). The dark chocolate tart was amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winemaker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
How lovely you took the time to review our brasserie. I am delighted that you appreciated both our attentive and friendly staff as well as our support for local suppliers and producers. I do hope that you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,240 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lat minute booking with midnight arrival on cold winters night. Night porter was expecting me and was very courteous and efficient in checking me into my room.

The room itself was freezing cold as the radiator was switched off and this should have been avoided by the hotel so that the room was a good temperature. Room was ok, bed was comfortable and, despite the cold slept well. Left at 6.45am next morning and night porter was good enough to make sure I had a continental breakfast before I left (otherwise continental starts at 7am or full at 7.30.

Sorry I did not get his name but the night porter was so pleasant and helpful and a credit to the hotel. I did not stay long enough to comment on anything else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great experience with us. Your comments about the heating in your room are correct and this was a total oversight on our behalf. The fact you booked last minute is no excuse and we will ensure to be aware in future. We all hope that we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

very enjoyable as the staff make you feel most welcome.

Old hotel which has loads of character, and kept very clean.

Food was very good in the brasserie.

Overall great experience, would have been a five star rating except for the mould in the bathroom (shame)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymcculloch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. I am disappointed that we missed out on full marks. This is not our usual standard and we will look into the problem. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Maitland House is well located just outside the centre of Haddington with easy motorway access to Edinburgh. The hotel is well organized with clean, moderately basic rooms. Excellent free WIFI. The staff are helpful. Breakfast is suitably unhealthy and provides enough fuel for the day. If you are looking for a reliable hotel in this area, Maitland House Hotel is a safe bet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OVichski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Customer feedback is very important to us and our future. We are delighted that you had suck a nice stay and we are lucky enough to have great staff who make our guests welcome. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Letham House
Letham House
#1 of 9 in Haddington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Property: Maitlandfield House Hotel
Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing