We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night porter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maitlandfield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,213 reviews
284 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
“Great night porter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lat minute booking with midnight arrival on cold winters night. Night porter was expecting me and was very courteous and efficient in checking me into my room.

The room itself was freezing cold as the radiator was switched off and this should have been avoided by the hotel so that the room was a good temperature. Room was ok, bed was comfortable and, despite the cold slept well. Left at 6.45am next morning and night porter was good enough to make sure I had a continental breakfast before I left (otherwise continental starts at 7am or full at 7.30.

Sorry I did not get his name but the night porter was so pleasant and helpful and a credit to the hotel. I did not stay long enough to comment on anything else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great experience with us. Your comments about the heating in your room are correct and this was a total oversight on our behalf. The fact you booked last minute is no excuse and we will ensure to be aware in future. We all hope that we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    43
    33
    19
See reviews for
37
86
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

very enjoyable as the staff make you feel most welcome.

Old hotel which has loads of character, and kept very clean.

Food was very good in the brasserie.

Overall great experience, would have been a five star rating except for the mould in the bathroom (shame)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymcculloch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. I am disappointed that we missed out on full marks. This is not our usual standard and we will look into the problem. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Maitland House is well located just outside the centre of Haddington with easy motorway access to Edinburgh. The hotel is well organized with clean, moderately basic rooms. Excellent free WIFI. The staff are helpful. Breakfast is suitably unhealthy and provides enough fuel for the day. If you are looking for a reliable hotel in this area, Maitland House Hotel is a safe bet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OVichski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Customer feedback is very important to us and our future. We are delighted that you had suck a nice stay and we are lucky enough to have great staff who make our guests welcome. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Booked the Maitlandfield at short notice as part of a break to Edinburgh and the region.

Stayed for one night during August 2012.

We had a room in the main house; the room itself was clean, comfortble and even came with a four poster bed and a good size bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful (we had only one towel in the room but one quick visit to the reception and this was soon sorted). The hot buffet breakfast was good.

The hotel is a great place to stay on route to the highlands and see a small and very pretty town. The hotel isn't cheap but the service is good and the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WoolyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenock
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here 16th August 2012 for one night only and it was so pleasant. Nice room, good breakfast, very helpful reception staff. Quite pricy (otherwise would have given it 5 stars) but good hotel in a lovely area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My partner and I were here very recently for a friend's wedding and had an excellent time.

Nothing was too much trouble for the efficient and friendly staff. Despite us throwing a few last minute wedding changes at them they took everything in their stride.

The room was clean and comfortable, if a little on the quirky side with a low door through to the bathroom. The only downside was that our room was located at the top of a flight of stairs so the "traffic" through the night did disturb us a little.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandommanfromPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. How lovely that you had such a wonderful time at the wedding. Our hotel is an historic building so there is an element of quirkyness about the place which endears itself to most. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maitlandfield in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

we stayed in this hotel as part of a wedding party this weekend and can only say good things. the room was great with plenty of space and every thing we needed, clean tidy and not too fussy. the staff were brilliant, receptionist to bar men. they all worked so hard to make everyone feel special and well looked after (even though i heard them say 2 members of staff were off, we would never have known, they all worked so hard) we all had a brilliant evening. the staff are a real credit to this hotel. Great hotel and grounds too. would recommend it to my friends. thank you to everyone at the maitlandfield house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We very much appreciate all reviews and views but especially when all our hard work is appreciated. I thank you for your kind comments and am delighted that you had such a wonderful time at the wedding. We are a very special team and work very well together. It is lovely to hear that our hard work does not go unnoticed. We hope to welcome you again at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
6.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
5.1 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
10.6 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Property: Maitlandfield House Hotel
Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing