We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garleton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Haddington B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have just spent two nights at Garleton Lodge as part of an annual golf tournament organised by Gavin. The accommodation and welcome are second to none and even catered for a very tardy start by the winner on Sunday morning. Nothing is too much trouble. I will always remember sitting out by the hot tub watching the sunset over Fife as the full moon rose from behind. It is a fantastic location run by wonderful hosts. I cannot recommend it more highly.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank JohnMacMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 114 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were invited to a Birthday lunch at the Lodge on a Saturday afternoon - sorry can't rate the hotel side of things, but I believe it is wonderful. The countryside and views around this place are glorious. It is only 10 mins from our house (by car) and we didn't know that it existed. The canapes and champagne were excellent and the 3 course meal that followed was very good and enjoyed by all 20 guests and 3 children. There is a Jacuzzi and BBQ shack on site which I'm sure will be made good use of when weather permits. The Garleton Lodge would be an ideal Wedding Venue.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Winnie46Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from spending a couple of days at Garleton Lodge and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Our hosts Jackie and Gavin were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The location is stunning and taken full advantage of with large windows offering panoramic views for miles.
The rooms lovely and bright and the food fantastic.
We cannot wait to return, many thanks for a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent two days at Garleton Lodge for a family wedding. Our whole family stayed at the hotel and the service was outstanding. Gavin and Jackie are great hosts and very welcoming. They are happy to answer all of your questions and make you feel at ease. The wedding day was also my birthday, so Gavin made a birthday breakfast for me. Very nice! The Scottish breakfast was delicious and there are many options like juices, cereals, fruit and yoghurts. The environment was very beautiful and peaceful. You can make nice long walks and relax. We recommend this hotel for family gatherings, relax holidays and for golf enthusiasts because there are 18 golf courses in the area! Thanks for the hospitality and the great time! Bo & Chantal

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Havelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Why stay at a Hilton or Marriott Hotel if you can stay at Garleton Lodge? The lodge offers you the the same standard of accommodation, a lot cheaper and the hosts make the difference! We stayed at the lodge with our family for a wedding. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived until we left two days later. It felt like entering a warm bath (they also have a hot tub!) which added a special dimension to our event. The view from the lodge is incredible and makes you not want to leave your hotel room. But if you do there is so much to do and see in the area. If you like playing golf for instance there are 18 golf courses in the area and Edinburgh is within a comfortable driving distance from the lodge. If have stayed at many 5 star hotels but I would recommend only two to friends, the Spendid Royale in Lugano and the Garleton Lodge in Huddinton. Wish we had a lodge like that in Holland. But on the other hand a very good reason to return to Scotland. And if we do, the lodge will be the place we'll stay at.
Terence havelaar Nijmegen the Netherlands.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence_H_13188569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I love this place! More hospitality isn't possible!!! Cozy, clean, beautifull view! The hosts are wonderfull, kind, have lots of humour, they give you more than you ask for! For example: My uncle forgot his razerblade, and the owner served Gilette shaving foam and a razer on a plate at breakfast!! Room number 7 has got a beautifull conservatory with the best view ever. We'll go back for sure! "Hospitality" is there middename! Oh, and this Dutch girl is going to miss the Scottisch breakfast! Lovely! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickyh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent two nights here as part of a wedding. The rooms are large especially the two upstairs ones, with fully equipped bathrooms, TV with all channels and comfortable beds. The breakfasts were excellent with fresh juices, cereals as well as the Scottish Breakfast. Both Gavin and Jackie were very welcoming and Gavin provided most of the wedding festivity's music well in to the night. We thoroughly recommend this hotel for wedding receptions, family gatherings and for golf enthusiasts as Gavin and Jackie are members at the local course. Access to hotel can be a little tricky and it is best attempted in daylight with a sat nav! This is one of the best hotels that we have stayed at in the UK

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonitaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haddington
4.9 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
2.1 mi away
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Maitlandfield House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haddington
249 reviews
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Letham House
Letham House
#2 of 8 in Haddington
131 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Golf Tavern
The Golf Tavern
#6 of 8 in Haddington
20 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garleton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garleton Lodge

Address: West Garleton | Haddington, Haddington EH41 3SL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haddington
Price Range: $165 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garleton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Garleton Lodge – The Perfect Choice for Your Stay in East Lothian We welcome you to Garleton Lodge, our luxury B&B and home in the Heart of East Lothian. From our hilltop position offering spectacular panoramic views across unspoilt countryside, the Forth and Edinburgh, we offer our guests a choice of six rooms (all en suite) and a three bedroom cottage. All rooms are provided with full facilities as well as a residents’ lounge with fully stocked whisky and gin bar, restaurant, BBQ hut, hot tub and golf facilities including practice bunker and putting green, golf club storage and drying room. Situated only 30 minutes from Edinburgh City Centre, Garleton Lodge offers a great location for your weekend getaway or longer stay. We provide an ideal base for golf parties playing the numerous courses on Scotland’s Golf Coast as well as a unique venue for your private party or special celebration. Fully refurbished, refurnished and relaunched in 2017 under new ownership we look forward to welcoming you to Garleton Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Garleton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garleton Lodge Haddington, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing