We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B & B”
Review of One West Road

One West Road
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
One West Road
Ranked #5 of 8 Haddington B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and what a wonderful B & B. This is no ordinary B & B, it is a very elegant, large detached Georgian property superbly renovated with modern fixtures and fittings whilst retaining the period features. David and Rachel were excellent hosts and I would definitely recommend this luxury B & B especially if you are visiting Lennoxlove House and Edinburgh.

We arrived mid afternoon and greeted by David who carried our case from the car. He showed us into the guest lounge which was so cozy - lovely large lounge with a real log fire which was lit late afternoon and evening - wonderful. Fresh coffee and biscuits were brought in on a tray to welcome us.

Our room (Luftness) was fabulous - very clean, large, luxurious with a flat screen TV, tea/coffee/biscuits, huge bed which was the comfiest bed I have slept in, and the bathroom which had a large walk in shower and underfloor heating. Luxury toiletries were also provided together with large white fluffy towels and bathrobes.

Breakfast was another delight - fresh fruit/cereals/porridge/full scottish breakfast all cooked superbly by David, I believe.

The B & B is situated in Haddington and is an easy walk into the centre where there are a number of restaurants to choose from. It is also only about a 10 minute car journey to Lennoxlove House so very convenient if you are there for a wedding/birthday celebration.

In summary, don't look anywhere else - this is a wonderful place to stay (and I am very choosy!!)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneCheshire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 66 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed two nights in Sept for a wedding at Lennoxlove House. It was booked for us by the bride - we were not disappointed. The house is old but refurbished. Rooms large and grand - bedroom are generous and with modern bathrooms. The hosts were lovely and breakfast was delicious. The highest standards were maintained at all times - even when Rachael was taken into hospital in the night to have her baby! The mothers stepped in, sorted the breakfasts and kept us all sweet. Short walk to the town, 10mins to Lennoxlove by cab.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcgibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Me and my fiancee stayed here for one night in August. One west road is extremely good value for money, very clean, luxurious bedrooms, amazing food and overall very well presented!
Our rooom was a double room, very spacious and luxurious! Beautifully decorated, modern but in keeping with originally features.

One West Road has a lovely spacious relaxing lounge to spend extra time in, and a very warm welcome.
Breakfast was amazing, beautifully cooked scottish breakfast with all the compliments you could want for breakfast to set yu up for the day ahead.

I have spent alot of time in Haddington and stayed in many places, One West Road is by far the best!

Thank you for making our stay extra special!

Anthony & Alex McGrant

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ants280886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

As soon as we arrived the service was brilliant - we were really made to feel at home. The grand entrance hall and beautiful stairway are a taste of the beautifully renovated rooms. The finish and style felt more like you were staying in a country retreat hotel rather than a B and B, and the breakfast was lovely! We will definately return and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I first visited in May 2008 with friends on a golf trip, returned with the same group a year later and fully intend to stay in 2010, as I simply couldn't imagine staying anyway else whilst visting the area. The accommodation is fantastic, the rooms are extremely comfortable and beautifully furnished, the owners (David and Rachael) are quite possibly the nicest couple I've ever met, and the breakfasts provide the absolute best way to start the day! One West Road is set on the edge of Haddington village, in a rural position with fantastic views across open countryside. The place is basically a perfect place to enjoy the quiet surrounds and Lothian countryside, with the added benefit of being so close to Edinburgh that you get the best of both worlds. We have had a fantastic time visiting in the past and fully intend to enjoy future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

No one will be disapointed with " one west road " at Haddington where house and furnishings
are beautiful in a quiet and a very nice town . Friendly , and young hostess but very
professional with careful attention to details in every room . We spent 5 nights ( 11 to 15 of june ) and 2 more nights in july ( 22/23 ) with the same pleasure . Breakfast is outstanding with the best croissants we found in a four weeks trip around Scotland . David is perfect to
reserve the good restaurants in this area and for booking golf tee times .
We highly recommend this place and for golfers it's the best spot to stay .
we hope to come back again , everything was perfect !
Dr Le Goff Yves ( PARIS )

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Excellent hospitality from the hosts Rachael and David,we and our family stayed here for two nights taking up all four rooms. Our son was getting married 25th July 2009 at Seton colliage church, therefore coming through from Glasgow we needed somewhere special to stay ,and this great find did not dissapoint us. The food was of such a high standard and the service was second to none,The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms were excellent,better than many of your top hotels.Rachael could not do enough for us making the wedding less stressful, tea and coffee at anytime of the day with a lovely lounge, which was great for relaxing and catching up with all our friends and family,it was like home from home.Would highly recommend One West Road for whatever the occassion you are staying for!! Haste ye back,

From : ELSPET AND JOHN MARSHALL GLASGOW

1  Thank ScotlandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haddington hotels
0.6 mi away
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Maitlandfield House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haddington
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Avenue Restaurant at the Victoria Inn
0.9 mi away
Letham House
Letham House
#2 of 8 in Haddington
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haddington
7 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garleton Lodge
Garleton Lodge
#1 of 8 in Haddington
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Golf Tavern
The Golf Tavern
#6 of 8 in Haddington
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One West Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One West Road

Address: 1 West Road, Haddington EH41 3RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haddington
Price Range: $69 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — One West Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast accommodation located on the outskirts of Edinburgh in the heart of East Lothian, offering 5 super-king double/twin rooms all with luxury en-suite. With Edinburgh only a 15 minute drive away, and 20 golf courses within 12 miles, One West Road is the ideal base to explore the East of Scotland and Scottish Borders’ countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your One West Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One West Road Haddington, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing