We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation- had everything we needed”
other travelers have booked this property
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016) Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016)
Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Entrance to cottages with view over reservoir (Jan 2016)
Ballydavey Cottage - Large double bedroom with picture window - views of Belfast Lough
Ballydavey Cottage - Living area, comfortable, fully equipped with Large TV, Free WIFI
Ballydavey Cottage - Bright, open plan dining area with view of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - Dining area and access to balcony
Ballycultra Cotage - Open plan, modern, fully equipped kitchen
Ballydavey Cottage - Double bedroom, great space and personal touches for a comfortable stay
Ballycultra Cottage - Large Double Bedroom with original artwork
Ballydavey Cottage - Large modern bathroom, with hot water via the solar heating system
Holywood Hill Country Cottages - A homely, welcome entrance
Ballydavey Cottage - Large Twin Bedroom with built in wardrobe and wall mounted TV
View from Ballycultra Cottage Balcony - Uninterrupted Views of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - View from bedroom - as far as the eye can see
Ballycultra Cottage - Modern bathroom, design panels, towel rail and illuminated mirror
Ballycultra Cottage - Single bedroom lots of storage space for those little extras
Ballycultra Cottage - Lots of Built in storage to maximise space for your comfort
High Chair - available free of charge for our little visitors
Children very welcome to Holywood Hill Country Cottages
Pine cot with bed linen available free of charge for our tiny guests
Original watercolour painting a present to us from one of our guests - view from Ballycultra Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holywood, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
rnickels
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation- had everything we needed”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a fantastic stay at Holywood Hills. The cottage had everything we needed and we really appreciated all the little extras (lovely welcome basket when we arrived, childrens bed linen on the childrens beds, bedguards for the children). We were fortunate to stay during the longest day and enjoyed the wonderful view on the long sunny evenings. Our children loved seeing the chickens and the fresh eggs were delicious.

We would definitely recommend Holywood hills to our friends and hope to come back sometime soon.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It's great when the kids are happy with their bedroom too. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan343
1 review
“Holywood Heaven”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Holywood hills is certainly a little bit of Heaven. Wendy and David are terrific people. The are really welcoming and really like a laugh. It's the second time we have stayed there and hopefully the only place we will stay when we visit Belfast again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Yes, we had lots of laughs during your recent stay! It's lovely when our returning guests become our friends...... Till next time! David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happytrav...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfect - wish we'd had longer”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed for two nights, wish it was 2 weeks. Great location handy for Bangor, Holywood, Belfast.

Owners are delightfully helpful and friendly, set up on a hill with good views and wildlife.

Well designed and fitted out, nil complaints or critical feedback. Very well thought out and cared for. We then stayed in a place in Co Antrim which showed the potential for neglecting the basics of holiday lets!

Thank you

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thanks a bunch for your helpful review. Delighted you were pleased with everything. We will definitely continue to look after our cottages to keep our guests happy. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne A
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Should've stayed longer!”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What an incredible location- the views were stunning and were complimented beautifully by the excellent accommodation and care from the owners. We would definitely recommend this and will use it again when we visit Belfast.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thanks for your great comments and for recommending our cottages. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't find better if you tried.”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Perfectly situated with stunning views over Belfast Loch. Isolated and secluded but within easy reach of all destinations. Beautifully appointed cottages with everything you could every need to enjoy your stay, and more that you have never even thought of. The owners are charming, welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Mom especially loved the fresh eggs in the morning. Would I recommend it? Without hesitation, everything was perfect.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness inside.
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
What a lovely, thoughtful review.... it was great to see you all so happy and enjoying your break away. Glad 'Mum' enjoyed the peace and quiet....and the fresh eggs!!! Thank you so much for staying with us at Holywood Hill. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsJLTurn...
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great base for a young family”
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had been searching for somewhere to stay in Belfast while visiting for a family wedding with two young children and we were thrilled when we came across Holywood Hill Cottages.
It proved to be a great find and it was not only a great location but a fantastic base for us to relax between events.
Immaculate on arrival with a wonderful welcome basket and thoughtful extras for the girls, we couldn't have felt more welcome and at home.
My two year old loved exploring the grounds, feeding the chickens and playing with the pram and toys Wendy had put out. She made good use of the DVD collection and colouring books.
The cottage itself was spacious and pristine with absolutely everything we needed. We had a 2 year old and 5 month old with us and they were also well catered for. Wendy had thought of everything from plastic plates/bows/cups to a comfortable cot with bedding all provided.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Holywood and just wish it had been for longer. If we are ever back we will definitely be staying here again. Can't imagine there is anything else nearby that is anywhere near on a par.

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Awh what a lovely review! Having travelled with young children myself it makes life much easier when there are a few extras to keep the kids entertained, happy and make them feel at home. Thanks for taking the time to let our guests know a little more about our Cottages. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosieandr...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Completely exceeded expectations...perfect.”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Holywood Cottages as a party of 7 who were attending a wedding at the Culloden estate down the road. The whole experience of staying at Holywood Cottages was excellent; Wendy gave us advice and information before we even stayed and was extremely welcoming as soon as we arrived. She's absolutely charming and nothing is too much. The cottages were spotless, spacious and had everything you needed alongside an absolutely exquisite view. Wendy provided each cottage with a welcome hamper which not only looked fantastic but tasted it too (especially the eggs from her chickens and home made cakes!) we were just sorry that we didn't get a chance to fully explore the area as its stunning. We will certainly be back and this is definitely a place not to be missed, as reflected in its outstanding reviews. Thank you Wendy.

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2016
Hi Rosie. Thanks for such a lovely review of our cottages. It was great that your group of friends and family could all stay together for the Wedding. Really lovely to meet you all and we're looking forward to meeting your wee ones on your next visit. Take care till then. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing