We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottages and lovely hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016) Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016)
Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Entrance to cottages with view over reservoir (Jan 2016)
Ballydavey Cottage - Large double bedroom with picture window - views of Belfast Lough
Ballydavey Cottage - Living area, comfortable, fully equipped with Large TV, Free WIFI
Ballydavey Cottage - Bright, open plan dining area with view of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - Dining area and access to balcony
Ballycultra Cotage - Open plan, modern, fully equipped kitchen
Ballydavey Cottage - Double bedroom, great space and personal touches for a comfortable stay
Ballycultra Cottage - Large Double Bedroom with original artwork
Ballydavey Cottage - Large modern bathroom, with hot water via the solar heating system
Holywood Hill Country Cottages - A homely, welcome entrance
Ballydavey Cottage - Large Twin Bedroom with built in wardrobe and wall mounted TV
View from Ballycultra Cottage Balcony - Uninterrupted Views of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - View from bedroom - as far as the eye can see
Ballycultra Cottage - Modern bathroom, design panels, towel rail and illuminated mirror
Ballycultra Cottage - Single bedroom lots of storage space for those little extras
Ballycultra Cottage - Lots of Built in storage to maximise space for your comfort
High Chair - available free of charge for our little visitors
Children very welcome to Holywood Hill Country Cottages
Pine cot with bed linen available free of charge for our tiny guests
Original watercolour painting a present to us from one of our guests - view from Ballycultra Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holywood, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
superbrai...
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent cottages and lovely hosts”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I stayed in the Ballycultra cottage with my wife and 3 yr old for 3 nights. The cottage was immaculate and tastefully decorated. Everything was nicely taken care of. The hosts Wendy and David were extremely helpful and friendly too.

Even before we reached there, Wendy made considerable effort to provide me with all the information I could need. She was considerate and inquired about our needs like cots, high chairs etc.

When we arrived, the cottage was in perfect order. Wendy took the time to explain everything to use. We also got a welcome pack which was a really nice touch and something that I have not seen often in self catering accommodation. Wendy and David also provided fresh free range eggs laid by their chickens.

There were plenty of toys and games for children of all ages, books and movies for children and grown ups, and a Wii console with loads of games in the laundry room for the guests.

The location of the cottages is quite good if you are looking for a place away from the city. It is less than 15 minuted from Belfast so you get the best of both world.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and it is a place we would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the cottages. Your comments are a great insight into the personal service we provide at the cottages. Best wishes. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stulawn
Dromahair, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic Accommodation in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed just before Easter with our 2 children aged 6 and 11 months and these apartments are totally new and spotless. The owners, Wendy and David, made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make sure that everything was OK for the baby including getting a proper cot and high chair for us to use. The place was warm and cosy and my son loved the chickens and dogs running around in the large garden out front. They were a constant source of entertainment.

The area isn't as well known as some parts of Belfast and NI but one place you have to visit if you come here is the Ulster Folk Park. It is 5 mins from the apartments and transports you back in time to how we used to live 100+ years ago. We thought we would only be visiting it for an hour but ended up staying at 3-4 hours exploring the wonderful houses, farms and shops that create a turn of the century village complete with in character guides who demonstrate crafts and skills from old rural Ireland.

We were enjoying ourselves so much we extended our trip by an extra day and Wendy and David managed to squeeze us in even though they had another visitor booked to arrive the next morning. I wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone looking for a break in NI or Belfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2014
Thanks a million for taking the time to give such a detailed review of your holiday at our cottages. Really glad the kids had such fun in the open countryside. Thanks again for the kind words. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Tech201...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, beautiful views, great hosts”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Wendy and David are the perfect hosts - friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. The cottages are clean, well equipped with quality fixtures and fittings. Lovely views, peaceful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to be our very first reviewer of our new cottages and for such lovely comments. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Holywood Hill. Best Wishes. Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Thanks a million for our first review in German. I have have asked 'google to translate' and would like to say thanks for your great review and travel time information for guests. It was really lovely to meet you and we are chuffed that you enjoyed your stay at Holywood Hill.

Google Translate ......
'Brand new accommodation - enchanting
Left on Jun 7, 2017 for a stay in Jun 2017
The holiday home is located in the heart of Holywood, overlooking the Belfast Bay. The apartment is equipped with everything super and to a very high standard. To Belfast it is about 20 minutes by car. To Bangor approx. 15 min. Everything was perfect for us. You definitely need a car or something like that.'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing