We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night to Remember”
Review of Rayanne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rayanne House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Night to Remember”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Some time ago my husband and I were given one of the best gifts we'ver ever had: an overnight stay at Rayanne House where we enjoyed the Titanic dinner and breakfast. The entire experience was absolutely fabulous, from the warm welcome to the fond farewell the following morning. There are not enough superlatives in my vocabulary to describe dinner - it was simply to die for. Each course was perfectly cooked (full credit to Conor - a fantastic chef and a great bloke) and the service was second to none. We just oohed and aahed the whole way through this wonderful meal. My husband and I agree that it was the best food we have had - ever! As for breakfast, well, as another reviewer said, it would be well worth a visit to Rayanne House for the breakfast alone! The accommodation is superb and the ambience of this lovely house is just delightful, filled with history and charm and beautifully appointed. My advice to anyone considering a stay at Rayanne House is to just go - you will be very glad you did.
This review is overdue. However, the thing that has triggered me to finally do it was my recent experience with Rayanne House when I emailed to buy a gift certificate for my brother's 60th birthday. Bernie got straight back to me with the unparalleled Rayanne hospitality and mailed the certificate the same day. Unfortunately, the mail let us down and the gift did not arrive as planned. When I let Bernie know, she pulled out all the stops to sort it out, contacting the Post Office and re-sending the certificate by registered mail. It turned out that the mail had been tampered with but, long story short, all ended very well and my brother was over the moon as Rayanne House had been on his wishlist. I was so impressed by the way Bernie dealt with this situation - she was genuinely concerned and did everything possible to avoid disappointment. She was fantastic and, while everything was sorted out in a most professional and speedy manner, what came across most of all was the warm, friendly and thoughtful way in which she dealt with it, keeping in touch with me at all hours, given that I was in Sydney and there was an 11 hour time difference.
So, people, and especially any Sydney-siders or other good folk from this great 'land down under', if you want great 'craic', great food, great accommodation and the best of service and hospitality that Northern Ireland (or anywhere else for that matter!) has to offer, book your stay for the Titanic Dinner at Raynne House asap. Depend on it, you will truly have a 'night to remember'!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLilley_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
82
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had two very pleasant nights at Rayanne House. Holywood. N Ireland

1. Location
This period home has been maintained to a high standard and exudes character. It is located only 5 minutes by taxi from George Best City airport and 35 minutes from Belfast International airport. It is located in the quiet, leafy suburbs of Holywood, County Down, a safe location, close to the Holywood Golf Course were Rory McIlroy honed his skills. Good location with secure, safe parking.

2. Rooms
Clean, comfortable, warm and quiet. Beds are comfortable and shower, bathroom facilities are clean, with all necessary amenities.

3. The Owners
Bernie McClelland and her master-chef husband Conor, invest much effort to ensure guests "feel" welcomed and cared for, during their stay. Any questions on: transport, local interest, Titanic history, touring, or business needs, are addressed in an efficient, professional way,

As a family, we could relax and enjoyed returning to Rayanne House after a busy day touring the Glens of Antrim, or visiting the Titanic Centre. Staff also reflect the same customer focused attention to guest satisfaction, as demonstrated by Bernie and Conor. Guests will experience genuine Irish hospitality and that is what motivated us to return to Rayanne House.

4. The Food
Considering the size of this boutique hotel, the choice, quality and selection of food options for breakfast is what sets award-winning Rayanne House apart from other similar standard boutique accommodation. Creamy porridge topped with raspberry, prune soufflé, wheaten bread, soda bread, potato bread, eggs sausages, mushroom and tomatoes, cooked to perfection. Fresh berries and yoghurt will excite your palate.

If you are a person who places high importance on a hearty breakfast, then breakfast created by Conor will delight you and start your day with great food.

A seven course dinner as served on the Titanic is another unique option which has made Rayanne house famous.

5. Transportation
When requested, a taxi always arrived in less than five minutes. We have decided that taxi transport is more cost effective than hiring a car from the car rental companies located at George Best airport.

Conclusion
Rayanne house is not suitable for Guinness swilling "party-animals."

It is perfect for:
The business traveler, who wants to relax and unwind after a busy day.
Security conscious government or business executives
Couples out for an anniversary or special occasion
Tourist or expats visiting family in Northern Ireland
Small group reunions, weddings. or business dinners.
Private family special occasions
Retired couples who need the reassurance of safe, comfortable accommodation and excellent food.
Visitors who need to be close to the City airport, Stormont Castle and Belfast City Centre
Serious golfers who want to see Rory McIlroy's trophies and the golf course where Rory played from childhood.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Belfast Lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnMcCoolAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
187 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am checking out today after staying for 3 nights ... it is my first time to stay in a guest house, the place is really nice and lovely, being over a small hill give a great view to the sea, room was so big and nice, bed was so comfortable, bathroom also so big nice and clean.
The breakfast was a piece of art ... people were very nice and helpful ..... 100% recommended :)

Room Tip: I was in room #6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A colleague suggested I stay the night before departing for a business trip to Londonderry. How lucky I was to find myself in such an elegant and comfortable place. My room had a splendid view towards the lough and the view at 6.00 am was magnificent...amazing clarity. The hotel was warm and the room welcoming with a selection of teas and biscuits. It is very close to Belfast city airport.Many reviewers extol the breakfast and that is no surprise. You fill in your choices the night before and leave them on the door. You are truly spoiled for choice. The following morning the meal does not disappoint and you have this beautiful view from the dining room as you enjoy what you have chosen.

Room Tip: Facing the lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my second stay at Rayanne House and I stayed for 8 nights being in Belfast for work purposes. I cannot fault a thing. Firstly the location is perfect for travel into Belfast, approximately 5 miles away and only 5 minutes from Belfast City Airport. All the rooms are great with their own individual style, they are spotless and extremely comfortable.The dining room and lounges are lovely and perfect for relaxing in after a hectic day working or sightseeing. Bernie, Conor and their team could not do enough for you and provide levels of service that many major hotels could learn lessons from. They are thoughtful and extremely helpful as well as resourceful in many of the added values they have added for their guests i.e., reduced green fees at Holywood Golf Club which is just next door, the home of Rory McIlroy. Next, the food!! Breakfasts and dinners are amazing, Conor is a fantastic chef. My partner and I had the Titanic Menu and were blown away. The level of service and quality of the menu were superb. I cannot rate it highly enough. Being at Rayanne House for so many nights I felt like it was home from home and was sorry to leave. If I am over in Belfast again, I would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at Rayanne twice. Once during the snow, where i was taken in and looked after. The second time for work; I stayed for 10 days. The staff were wonderful, friendly and thoughtful. The rooms were delightful and comfy and well finished. The breakfast....don't get me started - again, extremely good, amazing variety. I never needed lunch! If I return to Belfast, which I hope I do, I will be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was treated by my daughter to 2 nights at Rayanne House. We, like Linda S, arrived to knee deep snow and freezing cold March weather but once inside all was bliss. the house is just so comfortable, our room was spacious with a great view towards Strangford Lough, the public rooms were elegant and tastefully decorated, everywhere there were signs that great care and attention had been given to all the details. We started the day with the most wonderful breakfast. The owners Conner and Bernie were so kind and attentive, this simply is the place to stay if you are in the East Belfast/Holywood area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
1.7 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
6.0 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
4.4 mi away
Merchant Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayanne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayanne House

Property: Rayanne House
Address: 60 Demesne Road, Holywood BT18 9EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayanne House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayanne House offers a boutique experience where period meets present, charm & comfort, luxury & location, elegance & excellent service. Multi award winning Rayanne House is a unique period property with private grounds, parking and spectacular views over Belfast Lough. A genuine friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Rayanne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayanne House Hotel Holywood
Rayanne Hotel Holywood
Rayanne House Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing