We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over night stay”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Husband and I treated ourselves to a night away from the kids. Had a fantastic night, everything was perfect! The staff could not have been friendlier, and our waitress Samantha was super! Wonderful food,wine and cocktails. Lovely wee treat!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear LisaL

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Helen Caters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    238
    157
    91
    57
See reviews for
361
730
42
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A friend and I had a 1 night stay and I would def recommend it we had 5 star treatment from the minute we went through the door until we left, the hotel was spotless and good was very good. The staff were fantastic nothing was to much bother ,My only downside was the amount of stairs as im unable to use stairs but that was my only fault ,I discovered we could get to the spa another way .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Alison D

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa and particularly about our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Helen Caters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

1st visit to culloden and was really pleased, staff are very friendly, food in the cultural inn was excellent and breakfast buffet also excellent, having recently visited lough eske castle, the bathroom in culloden was slightly dated, but perfectly functional. For us the big big plus for this hotel was the gym, without doubt the best hotel gym we have ever been in, for this alone we will def return, pool was small and not for swimming and the jacuzzi was out of operation due to them having put chemicals in at lunch time, not ideal shoud have been done 1st thing, minor gripe but worthy of mentioning, staff make up for any other minor issues, and we were upgraded to an executive room :-)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shazza401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Shazza401

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa and particularly about our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Helen Caters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is our second stay at a Hastings Group Hotel, and again, we weren't disappointed. The accommodation was of a standard matching the five star rating, given by the Northern Ireland Tourism Board. The only thing that some people may find a little unusual was there was no mini bar in our room. A fridge is handy to keep water cold etc. We had the cheapest double room, being a superior room. The best hotel beds that I have ever slept on, anywhere around the world. The Hastings Group have these bed throughout their group of hotels.

The bathroom facilities were great, a large deep bath, separate overhead shower, with lovely toiletries and towels.

Service throughout the hotel was always on hand, yet not intrusive. We attended two functions at the Culloden, which included a four course meal, which was of high standard for over 300 people.

I would love to stay again and have the time to use the Spa facilities. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Look on their website and other independent websites for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Janice R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Helen Caters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Have stayed here and tried the different dining options on various occasions. There appears to be an emphasis on service with lots of attentive staff around everywhere.I like the spacious rooms and large beds, feeling very relaxed when in them. The public areas are very nice but I don't like seeing lots of uniformed people around all the time, which reminds me of being at work, surrounded by people in suits at the office. The staff are lovely but I prefer to forget they're there and let my mind wander if possible.

The nearby folk and transport museums are high quality and add a lot to the location. This hotel, while being on a great road for moving around, is quite stuck out on a limb. I imagine this makes it a nice place for spa/health breaks or just a fun getaway but it looks like having a car or using taxis would be a major advantage if you intend to pop in and out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxReviewerxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear xxReviewerxx

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Helen Caters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I have just returned home to less than sunny Coleraine after another terrific weekend at the Culloden.

It was nothing short of excellent, no more no less.

Every last member of staff has a phenomenal "can do" professional friendly attitude that made the weekend that bit extra special.

Huge thanks to everyone on the team

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GP14_sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had the most amazing time and experience at the Culloden Estate. I visited to attend the Van Morrison convert and from the time I arrived until the time I left was amazing. The spa and gym were beautiful as well.
Staff were all very polite, helpful and overall presentation of the hotel was great.
Location is easy from Belfast City airport, grounds and gardens amazing with a beautiful view of the water.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrichards76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
979 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Merchant Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,440 reviews
4.3 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 44 in Belfast
1,003 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Property: Culloden Estate & Spa
Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing