We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“innsurance institute dinner-10/01/14”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

arrived late at hotel and was met with smiles from sarah and rachael at reception.dealt with promptly and with professionalisim.great atmosphere at hotel and food(both dinner and breakfast excellent)greeted at reception next morning again by sarah and rachael(were they there all night ?)whose great approach/attitude reflected the way this hotel is managed
will most certainly be back!!

Room Tip: ask for a room no 4 something-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cordner r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I had invited our family for lunch at Culloden hotel for the new year. I can't thank the staff enough for the care and attention given to us, from Rachel at reception to Matthew who attended our table and took great care to make sure we had everything we required. As requested we were shown to the drawing room where a circular table had been set up for us. There could be no better way to spend a Sunday afternoon, or any afternoon! with family in such beautiful surroundings. The food, attention to detail and service was first class. I would highly reccomend this gorgeous hotel for any occasion, you will not be disappointed. We have had overnight stays here as well, never to be disappointed. Thank you once again and we look forward to another visit very soon :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank sun13shine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for New Year celebration and had an amazing time. The hotel is brilliant and the whole ambiance makes you feel special. The staff are helpful, friendly and professional. The New Year's Eve function was special with a super meal and great entertainment. The rooms are lovely with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. Breakfast next morning was also a treat. We had a great evening and a wonderful end to one year and start to the next.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Comfy room. Huge bed. £90/night rate.
Gone before breakfast could be served.
Did not use WiFi. Spa treatments seem expensive. Did not eat in restaurant as goof deals in town and more atmosphere.
Friendly staff. Would stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank dwebb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I preface this review by saying we were staying in the run up to NYE so staff may have been tired after the Christmas period.

This is a beautiful hotel ideal for a season stay as it has character and old world style with beautiful decorations.

We were upgraded to a suite which we were very happy about.

The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had absoluteness delicious with lots of explanation where the produce came from etc.

On a negative the service was well below standard and no where near 5 star. Reception staff were very dour. I think reception are the directors of first impressions, so a friendly welcome after travel is welcome. In a 5 star it is a must!

However sadly the issues with reception were not only cosmetic. Basic requests were not followed through. For example our safe was locked for the entirety of our stay. Not major stuff but annoying.

The issue with Belfast staff is simply they are extremely friendly which is great however this simply is not the same as good service.

Hopefully this was a seasonal glitch. I would still recommend the hotel for ambience and location.

Room Tip: Would recommend a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swordfishontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Swordfishontour

With regards to your review , I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion on tripadvisor.

I am genuinely disappointed that your experience of the Culloden was not as it should have been and for this I wholeheartedly apologise. We take great pride in providing professional, courteous and efficient customer service so to hear that we have fallen short is a cause for considerable concern.

I would like the opportunity to carrying out a comprehensive internal investigation into this incident but would require the dates and room number you stayed in.

The circumstances leading to your unsatisfactory visit to the Culloden Estate and Spa have not been, and will not be, tolerated. The standard of service provided to guests at Hastings Hotels, and in particular to those at the Culloden Estate and Spa, will always carry the expectation of excellence. Your account of events during your visit is not in line with those expectations and it certainly fails to meet our usual five star standards.

Please could I ask you to make contact with Geoff Kemps, Deputy General Manager on 028 9042 1066 or via email dgm@cull.hastingshotels.com so we can take the necessary steps to resolve your poor experience and to ensure that these issues do not reoccur.

Yours sincerely




Helen Caters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The new Crozier Lounge in this 5 star hotel is well designed and welcoming, for greeting people and having a light meal.
Staff very attentive - especially Cathryn and Padraigue; but one of the managers walking around should send his ill-fitting suit to War on Want. He looked like a re-incarnation of Norman Wisdom.
Not 'fitting' for an otherwise very good hotel.
Good selection of cocktails. Sandwiches nicely prepared - almost on a par with those wonderful equivalents at the Merchant Hotel. Cappuccino coffee good, but overpriced at £5 for a small cup.

Room Tip: A good up-market hotel for meeting friends or business contacts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken77708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I have just had a lovely Christmas in The Culloden Hotel, as usual we arrived for Christmas dinner in the Stuart suit and we were greeted with a glass of delicious mulled wine and Anthony in a very friendly manner should us to our table. The room felt warm and friendly, Mr Drennan couldn't have made us feel more welcome. The food on display was outstanding giving us so much choice and allowing us to take our time and have as many courses as we could manage to eat. A special treat and just the nicest treat ever was that my parents, my brothers family and my family got to stay Christmas Day night which was the icing on the Christmas cake and without a doubt something we would reccmmend for 2014

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous but we love the suites :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Sarah B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Helen Caters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
223 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 47 in Belfast
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range: $264 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing