We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culloden Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Place to Stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a fabulous location. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was first class as was the service. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
All round a great experience and one I will repeat as soon as possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 147John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    226
    154
    90
    58
See reviews for
339
709
39
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a one night stay at the Culloden and it was a really fantastic stay there. Room was great, beds were ohhhhhhhhh so comfortable, food was great and the grounds were picturesque. Spent a few hours at the Cultra Inn and it was just a lovely afternoon. Breakfast was also really good and we will be going back at Christmas time.

Go on treat your wife/girlfriend/partner to a stay at the Culloden, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustmeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Culloden Estate and it was a marvelous stay. The grounds overlooking Belfast Lough are picture perfect! The dining experience at both the Cultra Inn attached to Estate and the main dining room was superb. The staff are beyond helpful and the legendary Irish charm is evident. It was truly one of the highlights of our Irish tour. I cannot comment on children's activities or the Spa as we did not partake however the pool was lovely. I would suggest more of a couples get away than family stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigavon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just back after spending two nights in this beautiful hotel. A real touch of luxury excellent spa and more than friendly staff, good sense of humor, nothing too much trouble. First night we ate in the Cultra Inn. There were four of us, food OK, but my husband was very disappointed with the belly of pork .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I were really looking forward to our one night stay at Culloden for our best friend's wedding. It was also our first night away from our 6 month old baby so I thought nothing could spoil it!! How wrong was I???

When we checked into our room I was disappointed to see damp on the bathroom ceiling, the paint peeling away and brown water ring marks. Also the wooden panelling surrounding the toilet was decoloured black also from a damp problem it seems. Not what i expected from a 5* hotel but my husband convinced me to forget it because we had the wedding to attend and would not be spending much time in the room.

As we walked to the function room I noticed a smell in the corridor not unlike cat litter, very strange but ignored it as we couldn't wait to get to the wedding room. Later as we moved to residents bar after the wedding I asked others about the smell and they said it smelt more like damp.

During the main meal I left with my friend to return to the room to freshen up and I took my wine with me. We were gone for 15 minutes while I phoned home to check on the baby and freshened up, not getting time to drink my wine. My friend whom is pregnant also wanted a lie down.

When we returned to the function room we were in time for dessert and greeted by maitre d'. As I sat down and started my dessert the manager of the bar approached me in front of all the guests at our table and 'give off' to me for bringing my own wine from my room into the venue.
Needless to say I was extremely angry and spoke to him in private at the bar. He said that the maitre d' informed him. I was extremely upset and emotional and started to cry. Throughout the rest of our meal the maitre d' constantly circled our table and give us, which can only be described as, dirty looks. Only that I was so upset I would have said to him but he seemed so unapproachable and frequently shouted at the staff also.

My husband again convinced me to forget about it but as our friends started to arrive for evening party, once again the grumpy maitre d' approached. He told them that because they were not wedding guests that they had to retreat to bar and not bother the wedding guests. I found this extremely rude seeing as the meal was over and our friends just wanted a chat.

On checking out I was prepared to complain to reception however the bride and groom were beside us and we didn't want them to know and spoil their experience.

Good Points: Doorman and reception staff extremely nice. Breakfast the next day delicious and no problem when we asked to sit at a table of 6 with our friends. Bed very comfortable and white egyptian cotton sheets my favourite!

However due to our experience we will not be returning as we will always remember how we were treated when it was supposed to be a special night for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week in this hotel in June.
A beautiful old world charm combines with a modern spa.
The staff appeared to genuinely want to go that extra mile to make you feel welcome.
We used the Cultra Inn a couple of times and found the staff their, led by Karen, to be equally accommodating.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AndyBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewsbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stopped at this hotel in Belfast in april,the food was excellent,as was the spa,but the hotels great assett must be the staff,they are all local and ever so friendly they all take time to have craic with you ,be it the cleaners waitresses ,barstaff or managers they all take time to speak to you.....a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DewsburyGordonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Property: Culloden Estate & Spa
Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing