We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding in May 2013.

The food was lovely, service was great, rooms were well equipped, clean and the bed was huge!

We paid 135 for the night.

The drinks, as expected, were quite expensive.

Due to having another wedding the next day we were unable to make use of the leisure facilities but i hear they are good!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandamc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Amandamc31

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at the Culloden this week on business, it's a fabulous place, stunning scenery and outstanding service. The grounds are impressive, even in the rain, and if you get the right room you'll have wonderful views accross the water. The only thing I can criticise is the price for in room wifi and then the very weak signal and slow speed, for that price an in room booster should be standard and more bandwidth.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Andrew L

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you found hotel to be “a fabulous place”.

Our wireless internet is provided by BT Openzone, which we believe offers our guests an unrivalled level of service and security. This comes at a small charge, and whereas some hotels hide this in their room rate, we believe in offering our guests transparency when it comes to costs. We also offer our guest basic internet within the public areas of the hotel complimentary.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We recently enjoyed a stay at The Culloden, to celebrate my husbands birthday. Our stay was faultless. This was a gift from a good friend, we were treated to Afternoon Tea, and then evening meal followed by an overnight stay in the Carnoustie Suite. From the moment we entered reception we were treated superbly, the waiting staff were courteous and polite.....and what can I say about the food.....delicious!!! The choice at breakfast was outstanding, and was impressed that the food was locally sourced with a little booklet on the dining table with information regarding the food. We will be back at The Culloden next year for our daughters wedding, and we know our guests won't be disappointed. Our stay was PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Sandra M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here in jan 2013. Had been wanting to try out this hotel for quite some time and eventually got round to it. Surrondings of hotel really beautiful as was reception area but thats were it stopped. Our room was so basic, so cold and the views were into a back car park. Pool and facilites were worse than disappointing. Again pool temp was so cold that we had to take out our 1 yr old after a few mins. Seating area around pool was dreadful in particular the soggy dirty carpet that you stepped out on to as you made your way from the pool to the hard uncomfortable relaxation chairs. Breakfast was average but no where near what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Didnt eat in hotel other than the breakfast. More 3 star IMO!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuala67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I recently visited Culloden Estate & Spa with my wife as part of a tour group and stayed two nights. The facility itself is stunning and well maintained. The grounds are spectacular. The food we had both down the hill at the pub and at the Mitre was outstanding. And the service we received was fantastic. We had a problem hooking up our iPhone to their internet WiFi connection and the desk help came right up to our room in just a few minutes and fixed the issue. The front desk staff is friendly, courteous, and competent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Wbarkey

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you found hotel to be “fantastic”.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had vouchers for a two night stay in this truly wonderful hotel. From our arrival we were treated like royalty by all the staff who were efficient, friendly and helpful. The food in the Mitre restaurant was delicious and our waitresses were so attentive - nothing was too much trouble. We had sandwiches and coffee in the Crozier lounge for lunch and once again were 'looked after' by a very friendly and helpful young waiter. This was our second visit to the Culloden but I hope it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently attended a family wedding at the Culloden and would say that it was excellent. We had a lovely meal and the Stuart Suite was very good and the view from the dinning room was spectacular. The staff were very attentive and our glasses were never empty

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 551730Cameron18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear 551730Cameron18

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
223 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,097 reviews
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range: $280 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing