We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culloden Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in The Culloden Estate last Saturday the 5th of Jan. We stayed in the French suite and it was beautiful. The view from the bed of the Lough was very enjoyable, especially as you could watch all the boats coming and going, even at nighttime there was plenty to look at with all the lights shining in the distance. The very friendly male receptionist (who's name I'm unsure of) accompanied us to our room and then phoned us afterwards to see if all was ok and if we needed anything else. We enjoyed an afternoon in the health club were there's a lovely pool and steam room. Also very cool to see that the changing rooms had hair straighteners aswell!

My only problem...... I wish I had stayed longer!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheleentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Sheleentje

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    228
    154
    90
    58
See reviews for
340
710
39
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I have been to the Culloden every year for the last twelve years, the last time was for our 15th wedding anniversary and we are booked in for an over night romantic Valentine stay which I am so looking forward to as I've never stayed in a state suite before. The moment you walk through the doors the service is second to none and the food in the Mitre restaurant is out of this world. I would recommend the Culloden to everyone as you truly are treated like royalty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trudi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mrskirk7

I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to learn that you are planning on returning to the Culloden Estate and Spa. It is encouraging to receive such positive comments as we are continually striving to make sure every guest has a very special experience with us.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel and thank you for your recommendations.

Yours sincerely




Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Culloden for three nights over New year. It was fabulous! We really cannot praise it highly enough. On our arrival the welcome we received was so warm and friendly. A wonderful Gingerbread house was in the reception as we made our way to one of the lounges to sit by the log fire. There were four of us and when we arrived our rooms were not ready, but the receptionist advised us that she would come a find us when our room was ready, and true to her word she did. To our delight we had been upgraded to two suites - wow!!! The room was enourmous and the bed was huge (comfortable too!!). The staff were all so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is wonderful (The Mitre) especially the Guiness Bread... and the Cultra Inn was also very good, Breakfast was amazing. We also had an ESPA treatment at the hotel. I can honestly say it was the best Spa experience I have had. New Years Eve was lovely. It started with a Champagne reception and a piper followed by a fantastic meal. There was a swing singer during the meal and then dancing until the early hours. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Culloden and cannot reccommend this hotel and it's staff highly enough........ A Thank you to everyone at the Culloden for making our New Years break such a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Lesley Y

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you had classed your experience to be “fabulous”.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited the spa, followed by high tea in the hotel. Beautiful surroundings, great quality food, accompanied by very attentive service. I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and the atmosphere was relaxed

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Maire T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Culloden in that in between time after Christmas & before New years Eve. Once again it was delightful. The rooms are large & comfortable. The beds terrific. Breakfast is a treat & the staff are so welcoming & professional. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Terrified

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I recently held my work Christmas Dinner in the Culloden Hotel for the 3rd year in a row and again it didn't disappoint. The Hotel looked beautiful as always with stunning Christmas decorations and a beautiful tree lighting up the reception area. We enjoyed a drinks reception in the conservatory with views overlooking the grounds and Belfast Lough. Right on time we were called into the Mitre Restaurant for a beautiful 4 course meal. As per usual the food was superb and the service attentive without being intrusive. The restaurant and hotel were buzzing with people enjoying the Christmas festivities but nothing was too much trouble for the staff... All 15 of us had a truly memorable night out and we cant wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko5_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Jacko_13

I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind words regarding the Culloden Hotel. I was delighted to learn you had classed your return visit to be a “night to remember”.

Your comments have been passed through to all our departments and has given our staff a very nice boost to morale, something which is always important to ensure the continuation of our five star service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We attended a wedding at the hotel over Christmas. It was lovely, really nice venue. Our room was quite large with a large bathroom and heated floor. It was very comfortable. The bathroom had a good shower and a large bath. We didn't try spa or breakfast but had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is a short drive to Belfast. My partner would have liked black out curtains to enhance sleep quality. He also suggested GPS directions could be better. Otherwise agreed a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on third floor .. 700s which seem to have been more modern than some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPDubIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear RPDublre

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Culloden Estate and Spa with potential travellers, following your recent attendance at one of our Christmas weddings.

I was delighted to learn that you had classed our hotel to be a “really nice venue”.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rayanne House
#2 of 3 in Holywood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Property: Culloden Estate & Spa
Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing