We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the provinces jewels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed a few times now and never been disappointed.
Excellent from the minute you walk in through the door with superb accommodation and a relaxed atmosphere.Breakfast is to die for as are the views over the Lough,

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Ken E

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for Culloden Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Culloden a number of times, and even though we actually only live in Bangor, about 7 miles away we can't help coming back time and time again as with all the space around the estate you can't help be feel you could be anywhere. It also means we can leave our young daughter with family and can still be close if we need to rush home for any thing.

We arrived up on Saturday morning and left our bags with the concierge as our room wasn't quite ready, and then decided to get the train (train station is at the edge of the estate about a 2 minute walk from reception) to Belfast for some shopping. On our return we were given our keys to the Pregaer Suite and when we got to the room our bags where already there.

The room itself was large and spacious, with a panoramic view across the gardens and towards Belfast Lough and beyond. Extremely comfortable and clean.

We spent the evening reading, drinking and relaxing in the hotel lobby, and ordered delicious food from the bar menu. We were aware there was a Halloween ball on in the hotel, and the thought had crossed our mind that there may have been some disruption and carryon, and a bit of a footfall through the lobby but, you would not have even known that the ball was going on (not really sure if this was a good thing or not as we quite enjoy people watching!).

On the Sunday morning we went down to get breakfast which we had both been looking forward too, and it never disappoints, and then checked out and sat and had a couple of drink in the lobby bar again infront or a warm open fire before heading home later in the afternoon. We had brought swimming outfits with us, and had even intended to make use of the spa but were so comfortable and relaxed in the hotel bar we felt we didn't need to bother, and will maybe take advantage next time.

We are staying again at the Culloden on the 28th December for a friends wedding, and had such a lovely weekend here last weekend, we are thinking of maybe staying another night to give ourselves more time to make use of the hotels other facilities.

As I mentioned before we live close to the hotel, and in fact I drive past it every day on the way to work, but once you arrive you could nearly be anywhere in the world. Fantastic hotel, and I could not recommend it enough!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Graham I

In response to your TripAdvisor review, I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for others.

I was delighted to learn that you had found the Culloden Estate and Spa to be a “fantastic hotel”. Within the Hastings Hotels Group one of our vision and values is “Passionate commitment to excellent service” this is about making sure every guest has a very special experience, something which my team and I are committed to. We do not want to meet your expectations we want to exceed them every time.

I would like to thank you once again for your comments; We look forward to welcoming you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa on the 28th December 2012.

Yours sincerely




Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were scheduled to stay with a friend during our visit but after a remodeling mishap, she booked us here. The staff was very, very friendly and helpful, and our stay was delightful. Breakfast the next morning included many good options. Since we were visiting a friend, we didn't enjoy many of the other amenities, but the hotel and the grounds were indeed beautiful. Frankly, I don't normally stay at such an upscale hotel, but this one is nice and comfortable and the staff made me feel very comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Elizabeth23

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Hotel and particularly about our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We decided on the culloden for a weekend retreat with a relaxed atmosphere and this is exactly what we got!
We arrived fairly early at the hotel to make the most of the day but were delighted to find the Troon suite in which we were staying was ready early. Check in was pleasant and we were shown to a wonderful suite on the first floor.
The suite is one of the largest I've stayed in. It had a dining room table for six, separate dressing room, seating area and the gas fire was lit got our arrival.
We retreated to the bar and made the most of a lazy afternoon in front of the fire being serenaded by a grand piano. Food and atmosphere was amazing! Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highheeledlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Highheeledlady

Following your review of 31 October 2012, I am writing to express my thanks at your very kind comments; it is such a joy to receive a review of extreme praise.

I was delighted that you had rated your stay with us to be “wonderful”. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at the Culloden and it was the nicest place I have stayed in so far. The pool, steam room and hot tub were beautiful and clean. My room was very comfortable with a beautiful view. The staff was so friendly and accomidating. The bartender was so nice, remembered the drinks that everyone in my party was ordering. The art and sculptures around the premises were interesting and beautiful. And the restaurant was great, the best meal I had during my stay in Northern Ireland. The seafood chowder is TO DIE FOR.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alethea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear AletheaHill

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Culloden Estate and Spa with potential travellers. I would also like to express my thanks at your very kind comments towards the Culloden Hotel and particularly towards our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Recently stayed in the Culloden and was delighted with the stay. It is located a little outside the city centre, but very close to Belfast City Airport. Right from the beginning, the staff were friendly and helpful. There was an open fire in both the bar and seating areas which made the hotel very warm and homely. The hotel itself is old but decorated nicely in keeping with the old building. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and contain lovely art sculptures dotted around the ground. We started our stay with Afternoon Tea at a table overlooking Belfast Lough. The Afternoon Tea was delicious and we were informed at the start that if we didn't finish it they would box it up for us to take with us.
We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was beautiful - it had views of the Lough and was very spacious. The bathroom was large containing a bath and separate walk in shower. It had air conditioning but did not have a mini-bar.
That evening we ate in the Cultra Inn which is located on the grounds of the hotel. It has a good choice of food, and the meal itself was delicious. Again the Inn contained an open fire which added to its warmth. If you prefer, there is also an excellent restaurant in the hotel itself.
Breakfast was a mixture of a self service cold buffet and table service cooked breakfast. There was a good selection of fruit, cereals and pastries.
Throughout the stay the service was excellent. Although it is a little expensive, it is definitely worth treating yourself to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSMDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear LSMDublin

With regards to your review of your experience at the Culloden Estate and Spa, I would like to thank you for your recommendations.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind words regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa. I was delighted to learn you have found “throughout the stay the service was excellent”.

Your comments have been passed through to all our departments and has given our staff a very nice boost to morale, something which is always important to ensure the continuation of our five star service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed three nights at the elegant Culloden and couldn't have been happier. Not only is the hotel beautiful, but the grounds are magical. Art sculptures enhance a view of the Lough and offset beautiful gardens at the base of the hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and the service is excellent. The concierge was informative and helpful. We dinned at the hotel twice, and one should "dress" for dinner as this is fine dining at its best. We dined once at the Cultra, located on the grounds for a more informal atmosphere and the food there was also excellent. We did not take advantage of the spa amenities as we were sightseeing, but from what we heard and saw, the spa is a great place to unwind. We highly recommend the Culloden.

Room Tip: Dress well for dinner, this is a quality accommodation.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osullyofnewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Osullyofnewry

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate & Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
217 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 44 in Belfast
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range: $217 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing