We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury, will definitely be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Booked into spa originally for myself and mother, then decided to treat ourselves with a nights stay. The spa is out of this world, would gladly have stayed there all day which you are more than welcome to do. Their facilities have reignited my love for swimming while the changing rooms are fully equipped with ESPA products to use in showers and hair dryers and straightners.

The hotel itself is beautiful. Have been before for afternoon tea there so was familiar with the restaurant.

The bedroom we stayed in had a bed big enough to lie horizontally! The bathroom was all marble and the tv was huge! Had nice views over looking the gardens.

For dinner we went to the cultra inn situated on the grounds of the hotel, it was reasonably priced and the presentation of the food was superb. Especially loved the mini chip pan basket for our causeway chips. We had steak which was very tender and juicey.

Would certainly recommend this hotel, and we are already planning our next visit.

Absolute heaven

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieStitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for Culloden Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,297 - 1,303 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We would definitely recommend this hotel after our recent one night stay. The setting is wonderful, with pristine grounds and lovely views out to sea. The breakfast buffet is among the best we’ve had; the porridge and the potato farls were particularly delicious. The staff are utterly professional too (notably Nichola on reception). On the way to our room after checking in, the porter found out that the room was still occupied. While they sorted out an alternative room, they gave us complementary tea, biscuits and flapjacks. After a short wait we got upgraded to one of their best suites. We had only been mildly inconvenienced, so we were not expecting that! We dined in the Cultra Inn in the grounds, where the food was very good, although the service was a bit slow.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warmheart9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Booked through travelzoo but the service we received was certainly 5 star. Had a slight problem with our room on the 1st night which was speedily rectified, with apologies always a sign of good service. Meals were first class and can't wait to go back again. Concierge very helpful as our first visit to Belfast and he sorted us out with all the information we needed.

Room Tip: If a wedding on ask not to be among wedding guest rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have just returned from my hen weekend which we spent at the culloden. We stay in the hotel several times each year as it is our fav place to be! I wanted a relaxing chilled out weekend and that is exactly what I got. The staff at the hotel could not be more polite and helpful. We had dinner in the cultra in which was delicious. On Sunday we spent the whole day in the spa which was amazing! Breakfast on both mornings was delicious and was a buffet so we could eat to our hearts were content! We stayed in the amethyst suite, it is a split level suite and was so cool, my sister and I squealed with excitement when we saw it! The beds are amazing in all the rooms and the pillows are so soft! I slept like a kitten! Again thank u so much to all the staff!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and all fab!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked The Culloden Hotel for 1 night break with my husband. Warm welcome and quick checkin. Upgraded us to the Lewis Suite, which hosted great views and very comfortable accommodation. Dinner in the Mitre Restaurant was very good and plentiful, again the staff were very attentive and helpful. We ordered room service for breakfast - prompt, hot and again a lovely meal. The gardens and surrounding views were lovely. I look forward to returning with my family!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doherty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

25th wedding anniversary. My wife and I returned to stay after 25 years. We have returned every year for meals but the first time we stayed over. Our experience was first class. Staff, service, food were all outstanding.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Crozier Suite which was excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have attended two weddings in last seven months at the Stuart Suite, and stayed overnight on both occasions. The quality of the food at both receptions was excellent and it can be difficult to serve high quality hot food to over a hundred people, but the friendly and attentive staff of the Culloden managed to do so on both occasions. Well done to the chef for the lovely meals and to the servers who worked hard to keep everything running smoothly.
Now I am looking forward to another post Christmas wedding at the sister hotel in Newcastle, SLIEVE DONARD and am sure I won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ailbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holywood
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
217 reviews
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 44 in Belfast
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: 142 Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 0EX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range: $217 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing