We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Coast

Coast
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Coast is a family run restaurant in the beautiful town of Holywood. Open daily for lunch and evening meals, our combined expertise brings you the high standards you deserve.
Bangor Co. Down
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Visited this restaurant for first time last week under it's new ownership. Has been run as a restaurant in it's present location for past 30/40 years. Would consider it more as a Brasserie than a "restaurant" and as such is an excellent well run good value for money eaterie. Family run and obvious from very friendly warm welcome extended. Surprisingly good menu, well cooked and presented food, with a not overpriced wine list.There are specials of the day on offer, and a remarkable "special" £5 lunch menu! which appeared to be a popular choice amongst the very busy and obviously regular clientele. Staff bright cheery and helpful, which all adds to the enjoyment of the experience of visiting Coast. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    116
    41
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Best Coffee Royale I have had in a long time!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I went for dinner with our friend, this is the first time I had been here. The restaurant has a lovely ambience and the staff are very friendly. The food was lovely, and they even put a candle in my friends pavlova when they heard her birthday was coming up. The best bit for me was the Coffee Royale, seems to be difficult to get a proper or decent liqueur coffee anywhere these days, but this one was perfect.
The only little detail on the negative side is that they don't open the wine at the table which is something that would normally be done when ordering a bottle of wine. But as I said, this is only a teeny negative comment. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alibaba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy, friendly, comfortable”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Enjoyed a great time at the Coast in Holywood, staff very pleasant and friendly. Beer Garden at the rear is a great wee treasure and sun trap. Sit back there and let the wonderful meal settle.

I have funny dietary requirements, nothing was a bother, they made a starter into a great main meal for me which could not be beaten.
Cheesy mushrooms.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic place to eat”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

my sister and i eat there every saturday,the staff make you feel very welcome,family friendly and very good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went recently with my mum and sister for mid week get together. Food was super as all ways.Service was great and the guy serving us was brilliant craic. Would recommend this place to anyone. Luckily as local its just on the door step. Left full of great food and giggling!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast also viewed

Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 
Holywood, County Down
Holywood, County Down
 

Been to Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing