We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully modernised large house with plenty of...”
other travelers have booked this property
Blagdon House Country Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blagdon House Country Cottages
Cherry Cottage & garden Blagdon House Country Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Blagdon House Country Cottages
Cherry Cottage & garden
Blagdon House Country Cottages
10 seat table with open countryside views
10.5m heated pool with large, sunny terrace
We are South Devon Silver award winners.
Open-plan ground floor with patio doors to terrace.
Leather sofa's, woodburner...
...& surround sound media system.
Level-access wet room
Level-access double bedroom 5.  Can also be made up as a twin room.
Double bedroom 1 with south-facing views
Twin bedroom 2
Shower room & toilet for bedrooms 1 & 2.
Double bedroom 3 with south-facing views.
Twin bedroom 4. Vaulted ceiling & exposed beams.
Shower room & toilet for bedrooms 3 & 4.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Paignton, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davidjJ23...
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautifully modernised large house with plenty of space in the country just outside Paignton”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Cheery Cottage is a large five bedroom, three bathroom house located outside Paignton in Devon. It is suitable for up to 10 and is both suitable for groups, families and as one bedroom and a wet room are on the ground floor it is suitable for wheelchair access or those unable to climb stairs. Although only a short distance from Paignton it is very quiet and secluded though access by car is down a very narrow steep lane so be prepared to get the car brushed on both sides by the hedgerows. There is parking for up to three cars for the cottage.
The location is great for exploring this part of Devon, we enjoyed particularly Compton Castle, the steam train from Paignton to Kingswear, Saltram House, Woodlands leisure park, Castle Drogo and Paignton Zoo.
The lounge, kitchen and dining area is all open plan and there is ample space. The TV, amplifier, DVD, surround sound and overhead projector were excellent, it is unusual to get such good facilities in a holiday home.
The kitchen was well equipped with a large fridge / freezer and dishwasher.
On arrival we Piers and Helen had provided scones, strawberries and clotted cream for us which was lovely.
The enclosed front garden was perfect for football with our grandson and he also enjoyed the shared outdoor pool.
We highly recommend this house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. Yes, we are tucked away about 200m down a country lane. The steep approach is best avoided & we try to ensure guests are aware of the easier approach. We always send out detailed arrival notes highlighting this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
2 reviews
“Betteridge family holiday.”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Having stayed at one of the smaller cottages in May 2016 which impressed us we knew that the quality of the accommodation would be superb when we booked the larger house.
It worked very well for us as a large family group (8 adults, & 2 children).
One couple and child in a full sized cot used the large double room on the ground floor, whilst the upstairs rooms are split into two wings with a double, a twin, shower room & toilet for each wing.
Two of the couples were in the left wing, whilst we had the double and our daughter used the twin in the right wing.
Very good links to Torquay, Paignton, Brixham etc, and the Zoo being only a 20 minute walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Blissful Week in a secluded valley”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Brilliant location, only a few minutes from loads of things to do. Paignton Zoo, several beaches and the river dart are all mere minutes away. It's a lovely cottage with plenty of space for 6 adults and 4 children (6 weeks to 6 years!). The owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming, even providing extra support to the private chef we hired one evening for a birthday meal.
Great facilities and everything was clean, tidy and any little snags sorted immediately. Lovely holiday, would love to stay again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjwilts
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cherry cottage. The owners were able to provide so much to make our stay more comfortable. Our party consisted of 6xadults, 1xtoddler and 2xbabies and they were able to supply 2xtravel cots, 2xhigh chairs and a stair gate which saved us the hassle of taking it all with us. Our package said it included a luxury welcome pack, we didn't know what to expect with that but they gave us so much (prosecco, scones with cream/jam, bread, milk and more!). The house is beautifully presented and the grounds are well kept. There are several supermarkets nearby and there is a lot to do just a short drive from the house, the Zoo and steam train were particularly good fun, but with good weather we could have easily stayed at the house/pool. I definitely would (and have been) recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Thank you for your great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed in cherry cottage as a party of 10. We were greeted with cream tea and very friendly hosts, any questions we had the hosts were more than happy to answer. We had a fabulous stay and we are all excited to book our next visit :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smiths941
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable and relaxing holiday cottage for up to ten people.”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a lovely family holiday at Cherry Cottage, very comfortable and well equipped for up to ten people. Nice outside area for eating and relaxing with safe garden for children. The owner Piers was very welcoming and helpful, and the downstairs bedroom and wet room make it ideal for a family member with mobility problems. Good outside pool if weather permits, we would definitely look forward to staying again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing