We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place”
other travelers have booked this property
Blagdon House Country Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blagdon House Country Cottages
Oak Cottage - evening light
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Blagdon House Country Cottages
Oak Cottage - evening light
Peaceful countryside setting
Large sun-trap terrace
10.5m heated pool
Play steps for children - pool area safely contained
We are South Devon Silver award winners.
Open-plan ground floor
Kingsize bed
Main bedroom
View from main bedroom
Twin room
Contemporary bathroom with powerful shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Paignton, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate F
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

We have stayed at Oak Cottage a few times and we absolutely love it. It's a great base for us to visit family and has many places to go and things to do within a short drive.
The cottage is clean, well equipped and comfortable and there are others on site equally well maintained. And there's a pool!
The owners are friendly and helpful.
Will be staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Thank you for your review Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick...
1 review
“Excellent holiday retreat”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our second stay in Oak Cottage and just as enjoyable as the first. We are pleased to see that the standard of accommodation has continued.
Our hosts Helen and Piers were professional and were there if needed but were not overbearing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Hello Frederick, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a family holiday”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just spent a lovely week in Oak cottage. A beautiful and peaceful location but within a few minutes drive of all the main attractions of Paignton and Torquay

The cottage was clean, modern and well equipped with everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable. My son enjoyed swimming in the pool everyday even though it was a little chilly.

Piers and Helen were very welcoming with advice for days out and a delicious afternoon tea waiting for us when we arrived.

We loved spending time on Goodrington beach, crabbing at Stoke Gabriel and enjoyed the Round Robin train and boat trip. There's so much to do in the area. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Hello Kate. Thank you for your review. We aim to run the pool at 25 minimum to 29 maximum deg C. This is dependant on how much sun we get however we don't let it drop below 25. Good to hear you enjoyed the crabbing, so popular with the children. We keep spare crab lines for guests to borrow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason6565
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great holiday from the day we arrived.

The cottage was fanatastic, well equiped and located, we could not have asked for a better place to stay.

Met Piers on arrival which was a pleasure, he gave us plenty of pointers as did Julia later in the week.

Would definately recommend and will visit again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Glad you had a good time & enjoyed Oak Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyclegirl...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully finished cottage in great location”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in May. The standard of the interior of the cottage is extremely high, a beautifully finished home from home with everything you need. Fabulous location less than 10 mins from Paignton, although you feel as though you're out in the countryside.

Would thoroughly recommend and will definitely be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X2ROW
Banstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thank you Helen and Piers we have really enjoyed staying in Oak Cottage. It is a very comfortable and well equipped clean and modern barn conversion. Ideal location for Paignton Torquay and Lovely Totnes. The pool is an added bonus, heated, so ideal for families, its also fenced so very safe for toddlers, We would recommend it to friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautiful accommodation in a great location. Only a few minutes drive from Paignton and local amenities but feel like it's in the middle of countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing