We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family holiday home”
other travelers have booked this property
Hill Crest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hill Crest.
The Lounge - Double doors to the secret garden The lounge looking towards the front of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Hill Crest.
The Lounge - Double doors to the secret garden
The lounge looking towards the front of the house
Downstairs bedroom 4 Kingsize bedroom - front of house
Downstairs king
Downsairs Bedroom 4
Painted vintage furniture
Large kitchen Diner
back door to the Garden
Dining Table seats 6 with 2 extra leaves - seats 10
cosy kitchen Aga
The Aga - Brilliant throughout the year
Summer - seperate Hob & combination microwave
Kitchen - To the garden
KItchen
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
Downstairs Toilet , shower and utility
Upstairs to 3 bedrooms and bathroom
The Landing
the Landing
Upstairs Bathroom
Bath, shower, toilet
Upstairs Bathroom
Upstairs Bedroom 1
Double bed
Upstairs Bedroom 1
Double bed - with views across to Torquay
Upstairs Bedroom 1
Upstairs Bedroom 2 sleeps 4
2 Single beds & Bed settee - sleeps 2. 
 Views across to Torquay
Upstairs Bedroom 2 
Bed settee - sleeps 2
Upstairs Bedrrom 2
Upstairs Bedroom 3
Double bed
Back of the house
Upstairs Bedroom 3
Upstairs Bedroom 3
With T.V
Upstairs Bedroom 3
Upstairs Bedroom 3
The Hall - Lounge to the left - Bedroom 4 - to the right
Large fully secured enclosed lawned garden
Catches the sun form late morning to early evening
The secret garden - back of the lounge - sun trap in the mornings
The secret garden
Goodrington Beach
Just a short 15 minute walk or drive with plenty of parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Paignton, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vitocono
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday home”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Amanda welcomed us warmly and showed us the beautiful house. We couldn't have asked for more, lovely decorations, very practical with downstairs WC, close to local pub and well designed back garden. Our little one loved the bird feeding station and outdoor space. Recommend any time and love to come back again. Thanks Amanda & family! Knut

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thanks or the great review Knut. Hope to see you and your family again some time.
Kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMD050
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful home in a handy location.”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

What a surprise when we arrived after a long journey from Australia. The house was immaculate and beautifully presented. The facilities were excellent. Everything to live as a family during our stay was provided and we enjoyed a fantastic Christmas, able to entertain our family and friends. Amanda was wonderful and extremely helpful. She had even decorated the house throughout, including a Christmas tree. The house was also close to Paignton town centre and beach with only a ten minute walk to the station and shorter to bus services if you are without a car. We will certainly stay again if we are back this way. Thank you again, Amanda!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Thank you Cheryl and family for a great review. I'm really happy you all enjoyed a wonderful Christmas together at Hill Crest. I hope you will come and stay again sometime, if you're ever on this side of the world again!
Warmest wishes to you all
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenM855
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Cosy Stay in a Beautifully Presented House”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The previous reviews are all spot on- this is a great place to stay on the English Riviera. The house is very well equipped and has everything you might need for a relaxing stay. The bedding linen was crisp and immaculately clean. We found it a really good location to visit Totnes, Brixham, Dartmouth and the Riviera itself. The house is slightly set back from the road which is nice, but it is a quiet area anyway. Amanda the owner was really helpful during the booking process, accommodating our questions and requests. And equally welcoming on arrival, wishing us a good stay. We enjoyed visiting the nearby Paignton Zoo which was a great day out. We would happily stay again and I can't think of anything that was a negative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy clean well presented feel
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2016
Thank you for such a complementary review Owen. I am happy to know you all thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back some time in the future. Kind regards. Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnAir6660...
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage & exceptional value for money!”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited Paignton as a group of 8 friends aged between 20 and 35, and stayed for 3 nights. The cottage is located a short walk from the sea and the main shopping streets. Most of us arrived by train and it was easy to find our way by foot from the station.

Whilst we enjoyed exploring the coast and the town, we spent much of the time in the cottage itself, which provided a lovely homely environment for us all to hang out in. "Characterful" is certainly the right word! It felt like a very well-loved house, with pictures, plants and ornaments in every room.

The kitchen was spacious with a large dining table that seated us all comfortably. Garden was gorgeous, well-groomed and felt very private as well - we had two BBQs so ended up spending a lot of time outside. Living room was cosy with leather armchairs & sofa. The sofa was large enough to sleep on - one guest took it for a bed and had no complaints. And we all loved the spacious shower unit! Everything was in great condition.

I would say that although it is possible to sleep 8, we were probably pushing what the house can comfortably accommodate, as it was quite hectic in the mornings in the kitchen and having one shower limited how fast we could all get ourselves ready. However we knew all this when booking, and it just required us to be a bit more organised.

We did not meet Amanda face to face but she was always friendly in communication and quick to respond to messages.

Thank you Amanda for providing us with a lovely stay in Paignton!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decoration; value for money
Liked least: One shower
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Thank you for your great review Tabatha
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginatenqu...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“home from home”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a truly beautiful house, roomy, warm,homely, and a lovely place to stay. There were lots of personal touches, linen really helps, the garden is beautiful, with BBQ, and the internal decor is quality and original. The location is great for the town and beach, only a little walk, and the street is a peaceful and pleasant situation.Amanda was really open and communicative, and there is so much to see around the Torbay area, We strongly recommend this home, it is a delightful, comfortable really lovely place, and a perfect centre for many interesting visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: homeliness
Liked least: not long enough!!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithTS
IOW
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely spacious house with views over the bay to Torquay from master bedroom. A beautiful garden to relax in. A very peaceful location perched on the top on a hill but walkable to town , seafront etc for the fit. Everything we needed was available. Didn't use the Aga as was summertime, but hob and combi microwave instead A great family holiday had ,with so much to do in the area we would definately return and stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Hi sue
Thank you for writing such a great review and so soon.
I am always happy to know everyone has a really great time when staying at the house.
I think You guys were particularly lucky with the weather too, which is always a bonus!
Enjoy what's left of the summer!
Hope to see you again sometime
Kind regards to all
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Hi Rebecca
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm really glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hill Creat and hope to see you again some time.
Kind regards
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing