We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Would recommend this hotel to anyone, have just spend a wonderful weekend there.
Its got something for everyone and is ideal for young and old.
The staff are very friendly and the rooms are a good size.
Throughout the whole hotel everywhere is exeptionally clean with a touch of old world charm and elegance. Cannot understand the negative reviews were they at the same hotel, there is one hotel with a very similar name!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for The Redcliffe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed at the Redcliffe for a week with our young children. Our family room was excellent, one very large room divided into two so the kids had their own room but were still right next to us. The bathroom was enormous, with lovely long bath and a seperate shower cubicle. Each room had its own TV. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, comfy beds and everything was spotlessly clean. We stayed for b&b, but also had a few meals in the bar, which were excellent value - huge portions! The breakfast was delicious with several options to choose from and the staff always helpful, especially with the children's likes and dislikes.

We used the superb indoor pool and jacuzzi every day, also very clean with helpful staff. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, and talking to other guests it seemed that families return here year after year for the excellent service and facilities. I hope we do too!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherryChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Stayed for one night before leaving - dirty room, bad staff and bad attitude. Not happy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pukkabosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

A very British hotel of character and interest. An earlier owner of the building was Paris Singer, of sewing machine fame. The building resembles an Indian Fort, having been built by a retiring Indian Army officer in the 19th Century.
We were not surprised to learn that the hotel is family-owned and run, with long-serving staff members and even the youngest highly trained. At no time did we feel not at home. The attention paid to us by staff at all times was courteous and heartfelt. Excellent accommodation; every effort is made to please in making sure that guests are aware of all the amenities and facilities available, both at the hotel and the charming area of Torbay. We were particularly impressed by the food and restaurant service. Evening dinners were highlights of our stay, with absolutely no disappointments from the kitchen and such a joy to experience correct silver service from our waiters. The restaurant manager has to be congratulated on running an efficient and yet relaxed crew, whose sole concern seemed to be pleasing the guests at all times. Wine recommendations were right on the mark. Food presentation was truly artistic and menu balance the work of a master chef.
Our congratulations to the owners and managers. This was our third visit to the Redcliffe Hotel and will certainly not be our last.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank USimport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanorasnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank swd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JALGAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
518 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#6 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: $112 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing