We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and A step back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Although the location is great and the views are stunning this hotel is very old fashioned, with its nineteen twenties deco and layout.

The staff are keen and friendly and at all times very helpful but this does not hide the fact that you are taking a step back in time.

Only a personnel preference but I do prefer the more modern hotels, saying that I could not really find fault , the food ok but a limited choice, the pool area is a good size with sauna and hot tub and the gym was quite well fitted out.

My room was no 36 with views down the coast with a great size bath and shower, the blankets on the bed were quite old and scratchy but once again it did the job.

As stated if you stay here you will bump into lots of elderly guest as they have been staying here for years and have become part of the charm. (If that floats your boat).

WIFI does not work in the rooms you have to be in reception or close to it

And the furniture in the rooms with free standing wardrobes and old style dressers is a reminder of the age of this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkey170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for The Redcliffe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 399 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were ready for this hotel, a pool and a work out room! Our rooms faced the water and had a patio, a real treat for us. The rooms were good sized and very clean. The front desk staff and Bell Hop were very helpful in giving us directions. The Wifi was iffy unless you were in the lobby. Breakfast was in a very pretty room overlooking the ocean and the food was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 5 day break at this hotel, we travelled with a large group. We had a room in the tower which wasn't very big but was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, we had clean towels daily and all the usual facilities, we were in room 61 and the view was stunning, over looking the beach/ sea, the food was fantastic With an excellent menu, the service was perfect and complimented the food, the staff had good knowledge of what they were serving and we're so efficient, the fish dishes were great in the mornings and a great change from the full English, although I did try that too and very much approved, Trevor being my favourite waiter, I was sad I didn't get chance to say thank you and goodbye to him, we used the ballroom every night as it was a privately organised dancing break and again this was perfect, I loved the holiday and would go back, even as a mini break for family, I cannot give it enough praise, thank you to ALL the staff at the redcliffe for a memorable time

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank track64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend in a large group. Have stayed here 4 times. This hotel has great location just on the beach rd. beautiful pool and sauna. Great staff could not be more helpful. Standard of food exceptional considering there was over 100 of us! No waiting for service it was just so well organised.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Mp partner and i and a couple of friends went to this hotel today for Sunday lunch.We chose here because we were being treated to lunch by our friends and knew that the standard would be excellent.Everything was perfect,The setting(We had a window table) the service,And the food was piping hot served on hot plates,And good value as well.If your looking for somewhere for lunch on a Sunday then this is the place to go....EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Try and get a Window table in the restaurant,The views are "Breathtaking"
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The perfect location for our daughters June wedding, right on the coast in Torbay, the service and attention from the management team and the staff was second to none, right from the first booking to the wedding day itself, top class, hired the ballroom for the wedding breakfast and evening reception, even with an hours delay the staff worked efficiently to ensure the food and drink was exceptional, most of the family stayed until the following day and had breakfast with the happy couple! well done Redcliffe - you made our daughters day a special day to remember

Room Tip: Higher floors and a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We keep returning to this hotel every year and find the standards have been maintained year on year for the last 10 years ..... particularly the food which is exceptionally high.The views are excellent from the front and closeness to the sea.

Room Tip: Sea views are awesome and well worth having
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
518 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#6 Family Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: $111 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing