We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seaside hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Redcliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great seaside hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Found this hotel by accident after driving down from London on the way to Cornwall. What a gem, it was an amazing place to stay. We stayed in the newly refurbished room 54 and it was a delight ... with an amazing view of Tor Bay and Paignton Pier! The spa bath was a bonus and a great way to relax after a long day. Staff were excellent - all extremely friendly. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyAndMark_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    80
    32
    12
    9
See reviews for
90
111
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed in room 59 in the tower. Fantastic room with amazing views over the sea. Room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. If you are looking for a traditional hotel with friendly and attentive staff then you can't go wrong here. Great value for money too.

Will definitely be back next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Redcliffe offers a very enjoyable hotel experience. Great ambience and traditional decor combined with modern conveniences. Thanks to a very helpful receptionist we were absolutely delighted with our room; spacious, spotless and well positioned to make the most of the sea views from the balcony.

Food was nice - ate far too much. Staff were, in the main, brilliant and they did exceed in helping to make a special request happen which added to the enjoyment of our stay.

From the moment we checked in we started to relax and that's how we stayed until departure.

Spent a couple of hours in Brixham and found an excellent shop in the town centre (Fore Street) selling retro/Hell Bunny/Tropical/RocknRoll dresses at very reasonable prices. Well worth a visit if you are into that style, could have spent the day in there - well, one of us could!!
Will definitely return to the shop whilst staying, of course, at The Redcliffe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormdancer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Fantastic hotel - the staff were brilliant, food delicious and the rooms spacious and comfortable. We stayed with our four-year-old son and the staff were extremely accommodating to our needs. The restaurant was particularly impressive - as a coeliac, I required gluten-free food, and was presented with a tasty gluten-free roll immediately and then, unlike in many restaurants where people with food intolerances and allergies are presented with few choices, there were very few things here I could not eat. The chef also prepared special things for me and for the children's menu for my son on their recommendation, without me even needing to suggest this myself. Really high quality food and a smart restaurant made me question why this hotel only has a three-star rating. Other reasons this would be a great family choice is the lovely warm swimming pool and children's play area to make no mention of the fascinating building this hotel is housed in right next to the beach. A brilliant experience and one I'd highly recommend. The location was excellent for trips along the English Riviera with tons to do for children and adults alike.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesca l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at the Redcliffe on a 4 night break We found the food to be excellent. The staff were second to none friendly and helpful and very efficient. We had a very pleasant room with balcony overlooking the promenade and pier. When we arrived home I realised I had left a t shirt behind I phoned the hotel and they packaged it up and sent it on to me. Thank to all the staff at the Redcliffe hope to see you all again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of a celebration of my parents' 60th wedding anniversary. This hotel has two significant distinctions (i) the service and friendliness of the staff which, in my extensive experience of staying in domestic hotels, is exceptional, and (ii) the unique and exceptional location and views over the bay especially from the restaurant (which also means the hotel provides good walks on the beach outside the front door). Looking through these very clear virtues, it is relatively expensive (for two sharing a room on a B&B basis) for what is in places a typically in places tired three star seaside hotel. Our room was functional, clean and comfortable but unexceptional. The bed was small in a relatively small room. The balcony view and ventilation was impaired from time to time by being above the smoking shelter which meant that we often had far from fresh sea air ventilating the room. The restaurant food did not seek any distinction or pretention so was a matter of very traditional taste, especially at dinner. I can see how this might appeal to an older demographic with traditional taste in food and as part of a well negotiated dance package. But as a one off individual booking the total experience was very mixed with, on balance, the service and views marginally outweighing the over priced room and average ambience and food. As a package it clearly works as the hotel seemed pretty full in terms of occupancy so can afford aiming off costly internet yield management.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 overlooking smoking shelter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob504148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

A first class hotel with excellent food and accommodation. All staff made us welcome and we enjoyed our stay. We were on a Dance Break from Cheltenham and all facilities were used and enjoyed. One light hearted comment is worth a mention and this revolved around one evening meal where Pork was on the menu. It was necessary to have a word with the Restaurant Manager regarding the pork being very tough. Within seconds he produced a steak knife to help cutting the pork but this did not help the meat to be any tender. It was necessary to leave the pork with no alternative suggestion from the Manager. I approached the manager later in the evening and he said he was sorry and would have a word with the Chef. No further mention.

Room Tip: Only to make sure you get a sea and beach view. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 18 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Property: The Redcliffe Hotel
Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#6 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing