We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just home from a week in the Redcliffe Hotel. A hotel steeped in history and well worth a visit. It would not be for everyone at this time of year as the older clientele are catered for with visiting dance parties, with the exception of the fabulous line dance weekends. The decor is very traditional and with outstanding customer service from all members of staff. The menus are varied and extremely satisfying. You can walk off the few extra pounds by walking along the promenade which is a stone's throw away and very flat making easy walking to the town or maybe just a stroll to Paignton Pier. Highly recommended. I would say that this hotel is not suitable for children

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redclfe, Owner at The Redcliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

We are grateful, as always, for the reviewer's comments but would like to reply in respect of the hotel being suitable for children. The Redcliffe has good family accommodation and more facilities for children than the average hotel, with an outdoor play area, indoor leisure complex, putting green, pool table and table tennis. We offer a childrens' menu, highchairs and booster seats in our Restaurant and a baby listening service is provided. With it's location right on the beach and the pier, cinema, crazy golf and amusements only 5 minutes walk away, the Redcliffe is actually the ideal place for family holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 414 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just enjoyed a weekend break at the Redcliffe. It is a privately-owned hotel, a little "disney-like" on the exterior, having been built by a gentleman who had been stationed in India, but inside, the building is warm, comfortable, and nicely furnished and decorated. The staff are very helpful, and there are plenty of them on duty at anytime. The restaurant is very nice, with a great view across Torbay; food and service also good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriselyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We first found the Redcliffe as a hotel that was easy to get to by train, had indoor facilities and was not a chain. We've been back more than 10 times since that first visit.
It is not for everyone. The core clientele out of high season is older, with dance parties using the ballroom frequent visitors.
However, if you like a slightly old-fashioned feel, the Redcliffe will be fine. We also like that it is family-owned and not part of a faceless chain. But then if you are going to Paignton, you are not looking for a teenage-style break anyway! Staff are attentive when you want them to be and leave you alone when you prefer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here with my sister for 3 nights during August and we enjoyed every minute. The hotel has a unique position, right on the beach and beside Paignton Green. We walked to the shops, restaurants and also the railway station from here: it’s about a 15 minute walk with a trolley case, if you avoid the crowds on Torbay Road and take one of the side roads.

Breakfast is served in a large dining room, facing directly out on to the sea. The view is unbeatable. A hot breakfast is served at your table and was, unfortunately, too nicely cooked to be resisted every morning. There’s also a buffet table with cereals, juice, yoghurt, fruit, etc. Extra toast, tea, and so on, can be requested from the very polite waiters and appear promptly and without hassle.

For us, the biggest attraction was the small but perfectly adequate outdoor pool, open throughout the summer, but it closes, apparently, in September. There is an indoor pool and sauna, etc, which we didn’t use, but it’s all available to guests.

My sister and I had single rooms, without a view, for which we paid around £65 per night. This included breakfast and, given the hotel’s location and quality, not to mention the fact that it’s still high season, seemed very reasonable.

It’s not the most modern of hotels but it’s immaculately clean. It has some interesting history as well as attractive features, both internally and externally and is full of charm. We loved the tunnel and stairway down to the beach. Our bedrooms were quite small but there was plenty of storage and the beds were doubles. Great lighting around the mirror for blow-drying hair.

We’ve been visiting Torbay for years and the recent regeneration of Paignton is starting to show: lots of small businesses seem to be thriving, with interesting cafes and shops, rather than the usual tourist tat, opening up. The heritage of the area is clearly valued and everywhere is bustling. Walking around the shops in Paignton during the early evening, everything was still open and busy. During a brief visit to Torquay, we noticed that everything was shut by 5.30 pm, including the souvenir shops, on a rather grey afternoon when the beaches were empty and people were wandering around, window shopping, for something to do. I hope they’re busy during the winter months, because they don’t seem to be making the most of the tourists and their wallets in the school summer holidays.

Finally, back to the Redcliffe, I’m not certain, but this seems to be an independent – that is, non-chain/branded – hotel and there’s a noticeable sense of pride, amongst the staff, in the quality of the experience they provide. For a start, the service can’t be faulted, the staff are keen to serve their guests and will go out of their way to accommodate them. There’s a pleasant atmosphere and everybody is friendly and polite. Well done, Redcliffe, not sure why you don’t hand out the usual customer satisfaction surveys upon departure, but I’m happy to let you know you’re getting it right.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had another wonderful stay. In a lovely hotel, that is family run, but still to a professional level. We have been staying twice a year for the past 12 years, but have never tired of the whole experience.
There is always excellent, friendly service, with good quality food. The rooms were very clean in a hotel that I would describe as having a lot of character. The hotel is situated in an excellent position, with sea views that were a joy to behold. There are easy transport links to neighbouring towns, such as Brixham, Torquay, Totnes etc.
Well done to all, keep up the good work and we shall continue to use your facilities for years to come.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STERONJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A wonderful stay in a hotel that is professionally run. Excellent service with tasty, good quality food. The rooms were very clean in a hotel that I would describe as having character. The sea views were an added bonus to the excellent location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a disastrous stay at a nearby hotel, we were shattered and stopped by for dinner,rather late and could not eat that night,but staff must have sensed we had not had a very pleasant experience. We ask if they had in rooms available,the night manager, Derrick and Janice were so very wonderful to sort us a room for 4 nights. We booked dinner the next night, and Carl( an absolute darling) greeted us like old friends, took us to a wonderful sea view table and even had a rainbow on the water, yes, it was amazing!! Dinner was a delight. the chefs got to know us and catered to our lil whims! We stayed in the tower room,lovely view, no bath in the room but a huge bath right across the hall. Kate, Derrick,Carl, David,,so many I can not name made us feel so welcomed. the place has so much history if you take time to look around. Would we stay there again? Absolutely!! Brilliant staff,brilliant hotel and food was outstanding!!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms with a balcony can not be beat!! The tower is quite unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#10 of 17 in Paignton
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paignton
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#5 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range: $116 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 69 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital LCD TV, Radio, Free 5G Wi Fi, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing